We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant for such a small town”
Review of Meat Hook Steakhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Meat Hook Steakhouse
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Tualatin
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant for such a small town”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Might as well admit that the Meat Hook wouldn't survive in a big city -- it's pretty plain food for the price. Dinners include soup and salad, entree, potato, vegetables, and desert. The soup (homemade) was a chili-vegetable that was surprisingly good. The salad consisted of fresh lettuce and grated carrots which was fine for what it was but very basic. Steaks (we both ordered the New York) were cooked perfectly (mine medium rare and my wife's medium) which seems to be hard to get these days. But I was disappointed that the steaks are not grilled -- I'm used to that grilled taste. Mixed vegetables were steamed and cooked just right as were the baked potatoes. Dessert was a small chocolate sundae -- perfect to top off the meal.

The Meat Hook is closed Tuesdays and Wednesdays.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank almyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    7
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Better than expected.”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

First time under the new owner and I thought it was fine. I had the New York steak medium rare and it was cooked perfectly. I substituted more vegies for potato and they accomodated me. Whole wheat bread and a crispy salad. What more could you ask for on an Easter Sunday when nearly everyone else in town (except fast food) was closed. I would go here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmcrlsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best Hamburger in town”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Best hand thrown hambuger in town, cheap. Have a nice menu full of more expensive steaks and such, but I simply like the basic burger, juicy, fresh, with small stack of potato wedges, nice.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank made_of_food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milemarker 31
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but a little spendy”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The rib eye was good tasting a bit under cooked for me but still fine. Could have been a little bigger for the price but then it comes with potato, nice salad, bread, and desert so it was fair. I just was really hoping for a big piece of meat. Service was very good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahukaawenui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent burgers”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The owners have changed in the last 2 years. If you're looking for a high end steakhouse, this isn't it. If you ate looking for good food made by very nice people it's a great place. Excellent burgers, laid back atmosphere and good drinks! A must when I am in town on business and looking for a place to relax and slow down after a long day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sinzara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat Hook Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing