We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhojo's

Rhojo's
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Burns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Lunch is served Monday thru Friday 11am to 2pm, Dinner Friday and Saturday 6pm to 9pm, Gyros and Specials Sunday 11:30am to 2pm. Vegetarian dishes available if called in ahead. If four or more people call ahead and we will open any night for dinner.
Idaho
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our server (who was also the hostess, cashier, salad maker, bartender) was very pleasant. However, she was so busy, we rarely saw her. The chef and server (owner?) seemed to have a dispute going on as he yelled at her at one point (we could hear what he was saying to her, swear words and all). There were 2 choices on the menu -- ahi or steak. We both ordered the steak. We saw the chef go out to cook it on the grill. But we didn't receive it for another 20 or so minutes after he came back in. I suspect it was kept warm in the oven as the plate was scorching hot when it finally arrived at our table. As for the food, the soup had excellent flavor. The salad was okay with an excellent salad dressing. The steak was overcooked. There was a strange tasting squash in a small bowl. We were not offered dessert. Since other reviewers have had such good service and meals there, we will try it again next time we are in Burns just to give it another chance. Otherwise, we would not return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M-Birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    21
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a gem... if you are searching for "slow" food, and more than meat and potatoes, this is such a great find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

A trained chef from Portland providing a menu that is interesting and a welcome relief from the fast food that is mostly available in this part of the state.
Making this restaurant a success must be a challenge as the food is not what many locals would choose to eat... this means that tourists who are lucky enough to find Rhojos are the main clientel.....Only serving dinner Fridays and Saturdays which is a shame, but probably financially wise. Lunch is available more days of the week. I really hope that Rhojos survives as it was a welcome change from the other options in Burns. BTW, the home made cookies were a great ending to a great lunch.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolcharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington KY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A rare gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stopped in Burns enroute to Eugene and booked a table based on earlier reviews, so we had positive but guarded expectations. We were shocked. Chef Michael Johnson served up the best lamb that I've ever eaten (I've eaten plenty) alongside an exquisite cabbage soup and superb sides. Good wines at low prices contributed to the experience. If you get the chance (and you may not since Burns is fairly isolated) don't pass it by. This young chef is likely headed to bigger pastures so book a table soon.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silverstreak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pettybear, Owner at Rhojo's, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thanks so much for the review. We appreciate you taking time out to do that for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Plan your trip around getting to eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were skeptical about the rave reviews on Trip Advisor for a restaurant in the middle of rural. Oregon... but we are now believers... Fantastic food...best lamb we've ever had...very nice people, excellent wine at a great price.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dfollingstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pettybear, Owner at Rhojo's, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thanks for taking the time out of you trip to write us a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic farm fresh ingredients!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Very good food and excellent prices. We saw them making our dishes once we ordered them! Salads, pasta, and sandwiches were very yummy! A definite must!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aubskies23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rhojo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing