We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. View was to die for. Fantastic beach. Hotel was very clean, staff very friendly and breakfast was excellent. I will definitely stay here again and would recommend to everyone, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lorelei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    320
    92
    25
    11
See reviews for
347
572
47
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The positives are the room was super clean and the staff was helpful. We had reservations for two nights but left after one night. This should be a wonderful place to stay but the things that attracted us initially, ended up being the reasons that we left early. I'm referring to the beach, the outdoor spa & the pleasure of listening to the ocean waves.

We expect kids to be having a good time in the swim pool, but it seems reasonable to us to put an age limit on kids using the spa. We had only been in the spa for a few minutes when the kids from the pool joined us in the spa. They were around age 6 and their grandparents weren't in the spa, just the kids. Sorry to be so blunt, but one of the boys was peeing in the spa. So we couldn't use the spa or the pool which was something we had looked forward to.

So we decided to go to the beach instead,and what happened next was sickening. There were a LOT of dogs, and I like dogs and have one back home, but many were unleashed and some owners were cleaning up after their dogs and some were not! One dog right by us took a dump and the couple who owned the dog didn't have a bag to pick up after the dog, so the lady buried the feces. Then she changed her mind, and I kid you not, she scooped the poo up, onto two sticks, and threw it out into the ocean.

This beach is not attractive because of the piles of poop, cigarette butts and also it is covered with logs that people have gathered for burning in the evening. So we decided to just go to the room. Since there isn't any air conditioning, we wanted to keep the slider open and the sounds of the waves were very nice but the smoke from the beach fire was too strong so we shut the door.

I realize that Best Western can't be responsible for bad behavior on the part of their guests, but if any of this is unacceptable to you then I recommend that you go to another hotel. I really regretted spending nearly $170 for a very short stay and couldn't swim, spa, enjoy the beach or keep the slider open to stay cool. I may ask Best Western Corporation to credit me a portion of the price towards a future stay.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsnaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Daer Sandi S,

Thank-you for staying with us. I am sorry your experience was not the best. If you would have let the front desk know about the situation in the pool and spa we would have taken care of that promptly.

When a guest checks in to our motel we do let them know to clean up after their dog on the beach, we even have dog stations with bags around our property. We also let our guests know that we do have a leash law in our county so all pets must be on a leash. Unfortunately so many of the other beach users are from adjacent motels and RV parks and they do not instruct their guests as well.

Being a public beach people are allowed small fires on the beach but they should be put out when they they leave. If we are alerted to unattended fires we will put them out.

If you e-mail me your name and address I will be happy to send you a gift certificate that can be used towards a future stay.

SIncerely, Dave Snazuk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
282 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

we wanted to stay closer to town and our relatives' house. when we checked in, the temp was in the high 80's, very hot for OR. the front desk lady said that the rooms were not air conditioned, and no other hotel was. (Think PortSide Suites - only a few blocks away.).
they provided a fan, but the room faced west and was very, very warm. it wasn't until after 4am that I was able to sleep.
the breakfast was not very good. the cereal was ok, but the eggs and sausage was not edible.
we only stayed 2 days and will never stay there again. the only reason we didn't leave after the 1st night is nothing was available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Recently while traveling to our new home in California, we made a stop in Brookings OR, and found this gem of a beachfront hotel! The customer service was warm and friendly. When she found out we were active duty military, she upgraded our room, giving us a great view of an awesome Pacific Ocean sunset. The room was lovely and well appointed with parking available for our truck and the vehicle we were transporting.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back building are quiet and get a nice evening breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel was very nice and close to beach. We have many a great mornings walking the beach, with our dog ( really liked pets could stay) and evening watching the sunsets. The addition of morning breakfast was a great thing and the people that served that area were wonderful...Would be nice if you had Hot Chocolate packets in the breakfast area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I took a road trip in June down to California and by luck the late day of driving got us to stop for the evening in Brookings, Oregon. We got to this Best Western about 5pm and requested an ocean view and by luck we had a ground floor, well the King size bed and the sliding doors that opened to a private balcony overlooking the sandy beach and ocean was absolutely breathtaking, I have mentioned this particular place to everyone that I talk to,

Room Tip: Ocean View a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank modesto54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is a nice standard hotel. When we pulled up it seemed like they were remodeling some if the rooms. it looked like some sort of shanty town with furniture spread out on the lawn and some sketchy people working on the rooms and hanging out/ smokeing around the guest' cars. it was a little uncomfotable. Our room was updated and very nice. We had a great view. We hung out on the beach for a couple hours when we got there. I hate to complain about a beach but this one is filled with wood, logs, sticks and rocks. We had just left cannon beach and headed to this place so maybe I was spoiled with the beautiful sandy beach there, I don't know. They have breakfast in the morning which is nice. They allow dogs!! We stayed here because we were doing a road trip from seattle to Monterey Cali. It was a good place to stop in between.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erikamarie624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
0.1 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
20.6 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#12 of 19 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
6.7 mi away
Howonquet Lodge at Lucky 7 Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
20.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 19 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
Address: 16008 Boat Basin Road, Brookings, OR 97415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Best Western + Iniative, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beachfront Hotel Brookings
Best Western Beachfront Hotel
Best Western Brookings
Brookings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing