We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Brookings B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed for two nights at south coast inn before beginning a long cycling trip. We found the warmth and hospitality of this place perfect for what we needed. They really treated us like valued guests, and were accommodating to our requests. At one point she said "our house is your house!" The breakfast were prepared artfully and thoughtfully, with some delicious flavour combinations. Our room was clean and very comfortable. We would recommend south coast inn to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    19
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
64
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

It was a quaint cute room with private access from the garden. Only thing is you can't take a bath and shower at the same time because the water will be cold for one. It was very nice though. I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I began our 10 day Oregon/Washington trip at the South Coast Inn. We were the only people in the inn and due to the upstairs being so hot, Cheryl put us in the downstairs bedroom (The Maybeck Room). This was certainly appreciated as we were exhausted from a long day of travel. The room was tremendous with a private courtyard and bathroom. Michael was not there due to recovery from illness, but the lady who cooked breakfast did a wonderful job and made sure we were taken care of.

We went to the Art Alley Grille for dinner at Cheryl's recommendation and were not disappointed. All in all this was a great experience and we would recommend it to everyone. Thanks Cheryl!

Room Tip: The Maybeck room was great - private entrance through a courtyard and private bath that was very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamablakesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We travel the coast of Oregon yearly and always end our Oregon stay at South Coast.
As always Michael is always there to meet and greet all...weather new or returning.
It is always delightful and breakfast, cooked by Michael is always delicious. Most talk
about the beautiful beaches, but if you are a golfer there is a wonderful golf course
in Brookings...Michael will tell you the way.
We have stayed many times and will continue to do so.
We love it all!!!

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs there is one large room with bath downstairs with its own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bunny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Not knowing much about the town of Bookings in general, my wife and I were very fortunate to have found the South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast with the help of Trip Advisor before making our journey down the Oregon and California coasts late last summer. On our arrival, we were greeted at the front door by the innkeeper, who showed us the premises, escorted us to our room, and generally set the scene for what was a wonderful stay at the quaint and rather beautiful old Craftsman style property.

The house interior is warm and comfortable and tastefully decorated in period furniture and fixtures. Our room was clean, cozy and included a private bath just across the hall. The exterior gardens are green, cool and inviting for a short stroll or lounging around for awhile. The Inn is conveniently located in a quiet area just off Highway 101, and there are a number of good restaurants and small shops within easy walking distance. We passed through Brookings on a Tuesday evening when some of the more closely good restaurants were closed, and on the inn keeper’s recommendation chose to dine at O’Holleran’s Steak House about eight or ten blocks away. We were rewarded with an excellent diner and very pleasant casual surroundings. The next morning we enjoyed a delicious gourmet breakfast of fabulous oven baked French toast was served personally by our innkeeper.

If I sounds like we were exceptionally impressed with our B & B experience at this Inn, well we were. If you plan on staying a night or two in Brookings, you will be very hard pressed to find anything as enjoyable as the South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast. The Redwoods National Park and a variety of Oregon beach parks are within very easy drives south or north. We highly recommend this Inn and its friendly and gracious proprietor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engadine, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Michael greeted us at the front door as we pulled up in the car and set the tone for a delightful night's stay at his lovely B&B.
We were the only ones staying that night and basically had the run of the beautiful house and garden.
Michael made sure we were settled, pointed us towards the stunning Art Alley Grille for dinner and then left us alone for the evening.
Next morning we awoke to a delicious gourmet breakfast, Michael's oven baked french toast was fabulous.
If you're in Brookings and Michael has space available you really would be daft to stay anywhere else!!
Thanks Michael!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and felt welcome and comfortable. the exterior of the house, filled with plants and flowers is lovely. There is a real sense of history here and the owner really cares about the house and its care. Our only slight complaint was the breakfasts were less than expected.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Maybeck room and it is most comfortable and nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
1.1 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
203 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
5.0 mi away
Mt. Emily Ranch
Mt. Emily Ranch
#1 of 4 in Brookings
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 516 Redwood St, Brookings, OR 97415-9672
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our in house rooms offer full breakfast at 8:30 am, included in the price of the room. You are welcome to have tea, coffee, wine and use of the refrigerator and microwave. The Garden Cottage does not include breakfast as there is an efficiency kitchen in that accommodation which has a refrigerator, microwave, toaster over and hotplate. If we can accommodate you for breakfast and you would like to join us, please ask. There is a small fee of $10.00 per couple. The Sea View apartment is a full apartment with a great kitchen. We do not include breakfast with the apartment but if you would like, and if we can accommodate your party, we are happy to do so. Please ask on check in. There is an extra charge of $10.00 per couple. We would love to be able to include breakfast for all our rooms, but if the main house is full we simply cannot seat and serve everyone to our standard. We will absolutely do the best possible for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing