We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Best BAR NONE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 4 Brookings B&B and Inns
Westchester, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best BAR NONE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This being our first B And B we were a little skeptical at the concept. But the communication via e-mail had put our mind at ease. Michael greeted us in the kitchen with a glass of wine and friendly smile that made us feel like we were visiting family.The room was clean cozy and private. The bathroom had all the amentities that you would expect in a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was intimate and friendly as there was only one other couple in the house at the time.......So we were able to share our expieriences at a liesurely pace. All in all a great place that I cannot recommend enough.

Room Tip: The Maybeck room is the only room on the first floor with a private entrance and courtyard......High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
58
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice quiet location, clean room with really neat old furniture, We stayed in the Rose Room.However we didn't like having to go across the hall to get to our bathroom. Shower curtain around clawfoot tub made shower controls hard to get to. (Maybe other rooms have different arrangements. Pleasant host- checked on restaurant for us to eat at when we got there. Breakfast was French toast and fruit-expected a bit more for the price. My husband, perhaps a big eater, got the same amount as us women, and wasn't offered more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenskitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brush prairie WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our way to visit the Redwoods. We were met by Michael who gave us a quick tour and got us settled into our room. The house is a beautifully restored craftsman with lovely antique furniture. Not a speck of dust anywhere. After our drive, we were tired so we seated ourselves on the sunny patio and admired the lovely grounds. Many variety of coastal plants, many in bloom even in September. Michael brought us the beverage of our choice which for me was a carafe of red wine. Michael recommended the Art Alley Grill for dinner and we were not disappointed. Our room though small was comfortable and met our needs in every way. Breakfast included an egg dish, bread, fruit, coffee....all very satisfying. The Northern California parks are an easy drive from the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in the Angel room, and it was perfect for a quick night in Brookings on the way to see the Redwoods. Small - but absolutely comfortable, clean, and relaxing. We ate at the Vista Pub and enjoyed the good beer and burgers - and lunch at Art Alley Grill was awesome. Breakfast at the b&b was intimate and fun, and our hosts were very kind people. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mef1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a wonderful, warm and totally delightful place to stay! My husband and I spent last Wed. night there on a road trip up the Oregon coast. Loved our room downstairs and the beautiful yard and gardens. Michael was so welcoming when we arrived and offered us a nice,relaxing glass of wine.
His restaurant suggestion was just great also! And breakfast which included a delicious frittata was definitely the icing on the top for us.
Michael's wife, Cheryl and his mother, Grace were so sweet
and helpful to me. (I was suffering from painful and swollen feet)
Cheryl - an NP- gave me great medical suggestions which were greatly appreciated!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnwill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Perfecto! In every way. Clean, friendly, comfortable, reasonable, convenient. All rolled into one. We will be back. Michael & co. were amazingly friendly and accommodating. Great local knowledge & tips. We had the room with the fountain right outside the door and it was very peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jharleyhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

On the first night of a 12 day, 2300 motorcycle vacation, my husband and I stayed here instead of Crescent City because of the tripadvisor recommendations and we were NOT disappointed. When we arrived, the inn keeper Michael met us with a glass of wine, a much needed treat after 300 miles of coast line on a motorcycle! Michael then gave us a tour of our room and the common areas of the home, and asked if we had eaten. When we said "no" he immediately asked our food preferences, and secured a reservation at a local spot at our convenience. Dinner was lovely and walking distance from the B&B. Our room was beautifully appointed, with a comfy bed and well stocked bathroom as well as a private patio with a soothing fountain. Breakfast the next morning was professionally presented in courses with each tasting better than the last! We will return and highly recommend this cute little town and especially this B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Maybeck Room, the only guest room on the lower level. It has a private entrance an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
1.1 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
5.0 mi away
Mt. Emily Ranch
Mt. Emily Ranch
#1 of 4 in Brookings
5.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 516 Redwood St, Brookings, OR 97415-9672
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing