We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A treasure on the coast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Brookings B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A treasure on the coast”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Staying at this b&b was like staying with old friends. Michael and Cheryl made us feel so welcome. They offered us a glass of wine and gave us permission to go into their "snack closet" any time we wished. Our conversations were also very uplifting. The whole place is beautifully furnished with interesting reading selections available on their coffee table. Our room, which opened onto a private patio with a pond/fountain and a private entrance, felt like we had our own secret garden. The house is surrounded by the most beautiful garden, and the front porch looks inviting, too. Excellent dinner recommendations, which they had reserved for us ahead of time. We left feeling blessed to have been there for two nights!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
63
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canon City, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I had a fantastic stay at the South Coast B&B. Michael and Chery were such gracious hosts. They made a dinner reservation for us, shared some good coast hikes and scenic drives, provided drinks and snacks and made a delicious breakfast! We felt very welcomed in their home. The room was very comfortable. We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Beautiful home, wonderful bed and terrific breakfasts! Hosts were so friendly and helpful and really made us feel welcome. Excellent location from which to explore redwoods and beaches. Recommended restaurants were both outstanding. Highly recommend whethere traveling through or as a destination. One of the best places we have ever stayed...thoroughly enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Michael is a gracious and accommodating host. This is an excellent choice for your travels along the Oregon coast. Don't miss it!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is a beautiful home, with lovely furniture. We really appreciated being able to have access to the kitchen, and store our leftovers in their fridge! Our rooms were comfortable (2 couples in our group), and even though our bathroom wasn't attached, it was our private bath. There were 2 other couples with us for breakfast, and we really enjoyed meeting them and had a great conversation over our yummy food. We will definitely stay here again if we are in Brookings!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

A charming Craftsman style home that is very nicely furnished and decorated and set amongst idyllic gardens that fill the grounds of the property. The location is in downtown Brookings which is very convenient for walking to the restaurants and the Azalea Gardens park. We stayed in the large Maybeck room which has a King size bed, gas fireplace, full private bath and its own patio with a small private pond, fountain and garden. The innkeepers clearly take great pride in their B&B and want their guests to have a wonderful experience. They were delightful to chat with and kindly made a late dinner reservation for us at the Art Alley Grille which has an exceptional menu and wine list. (2 blocks away.) Breakfast was wonderful…grilled peaches, scones and jam, frittata, fresh fruit, orange juice and coffee was a great way to start our day before our short but spectacular hike through the redwoods at the nearby Alfred Loeb State Park/Siskiyou National Forest. I highly recommend this B&B and we will stay there again when we re-visit the beautiful South Oregon Coast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Easily accessible on our trip up the coast with directions from Michael....met Grace and had a lovely chat....unfortunately it had been foggy and misty the entire trip up from Mendocino, so didn't get to see too much of the coast...the Maybeck room is very comfortable with a lovely garden sitting area that we couldn't enjoy because of the weather....would go back and stay more than one night to see more of the area....breakfast was very well done and it was enjoyable talking with others who had stayed the night....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brookings hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Beachfront Inn
1.1 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#7 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
#3 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mt. Emily Ranch
Mt. Emily Ranch
#1 of 4 in Brookings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 516 Redwood St, Brookings, OR 97415-9672
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our in house rooms offer full breakfast at 8:30 am, included in the price of the room. You are welcome to have tea, coffee, wine and use of the refrigerator and microwave. The Garden Cottage does not include breakfast as there is an efficiency kitchen in that accommodation which has a refrigerator, microwave, toaster over and hotplate. If we can accommodate you for breakfast and you would like to join us, please ask. There is a small fee of $10.00 per couple. The Sea View apartment is a full apartment with a great kitchen. We do not include breakfast with the apartment but if you would like, and if we can accommodate your party, we are happy to do so. Please ask on check in. There is an extra charge of $10.00 per couple. We would love to be able to include breakfast for all our rooms, but if the main house is full we simply cannot seat and serve everyone to our standard. We will absolutely do the best possible for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing