We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top pick for this family”
Review of Brookings Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brookings Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We come regularly to Brookings as a family with three young kids. We always stay here. The pool and hot tub are always clean and super fun for spending a couple hours in when bad weather drives you away from the beach. The free breakfast is hot, delicious, and better than any buffet style you get at other motels. We have had a few negative experiences over years of stays: dirty carpets, housekeeping smokes right outside our room sometimes (though they are always apologetic and friendly when you point it out!). Overall, unless you want to pay way too much to stay right on the beach at the only hotel in town that even offers that, this is the next best thing.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for a room close to the pool. Also, the upstairs rooms overlooking the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 207 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

First of all, there doesn't seem to be a lot of options in Brookings. Most of the lodges and motels look pretty worn out and the Brookings Inn is definitely among them. The positives are that the staff is very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Our room was large, but sparsely furnished with uncomfortable chairs. The motel, although right on Hwy 101, was surprisingly quiet. The best feature was the full complimentary breakfast offered at the diner next door. Actual real food! Mini omelets, fresh eggs, breakfast meats, hash browns, biscuits, toast, pancakes, coffee and juice.

Unfortunately all is not good at the Brookings Inn. The bed was absolute torture - like sleeping on a concrete slab. I was literally awake all night tossing and turning. We woke up after a restless night with sore necks and backs. The wireless Internet was soo slow that we gave up even trying to get online. There is no air conditioning, not even a fan. Luckily it was cool when we visited, but if you are there during the hotter part of the summer it might be pretty miserable. There is an indoor pool and spa which we didn't use, but it looked fine.

Overall, the Brookings Inn was just OK. Given the choice and having been there, I don't think we would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandybeach818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The good: Bed was clean, comfy. Room was clean. Service was friendly. Fridge in room. Complimentary breakfast was above par. They give you a free breakfast at the restaurant next door which was far better than lame buffet st most places. It was pretty good in fact.

The "not as good":
There was no a/c in the room. Not sure if that is the case with all the rooms, but if it is hot outside or if the sun is shining through your window and you like cool air, you may be wishing for that. The water pressure was a tad low for the shower.

Otherwise, for an Inn with minimal amenities under $100 it was not too bad. I stayed for business so I didn't need much more than a clean bed for a night. The big plus for me was the free breakfast... That was pretty good. ...And the bed was clean and comfy.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Carpet had stains(probably from pets), I wouldn't let my kids walk on the carpet w/o shoes. Hard beds. Room took hours to warm up, fridge was unplugged. The free breakfast was great at the restaurant next door. Paid $93 for the room, only worth $50.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The first room we had smelled so bad we asked for airfreshner and the front desk told us to find housekeeping...really. couldn't find housekeeping on my own so I asked to be moved. Second room smelled better but beddind was dirty. Carpets look like they haven't been cleaned in years. Very run down.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank randileah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is awesome the staff is always nice and helpful we hav stayed here many times and loved it there hot tub room is very spacious the tub is perfect the only thing os that they need is a micro.

Room Tip: The bottom floor in front of the pool its really private u can be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Initally booked a room for 3 nights, arrived back at the hotel for our 2nd night at around 9pm and the hotel had transformed into "Animal House" Upon getting out of our car we could smell beer. It was difficult getting to our room for all the people who were partying outside their rooms. Several room windows were piled high with empty beer cans, people were yelling, and hanging off the 2nd story walk way. We called the front desk and were told they could come out after 11pm and "ask" everyone to be quite, but they could not "make" them because they do not have quite time rules at the hotel. We saw a vacancy across the street and quickly checked out and packed up as more cases of beer were arriving at 10pm. We had a very peaceful stay with them. The restaurant breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
0.1 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#4 of 8 in Brookings
77 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
477 reviews
21.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 19 in Crescent City
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Coast Inn & Suites
Blue Coast Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Brookings
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookings Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookings Inn

Address: 1143 Chetco Ave, PO Box 1139, Brookings, OR 97415-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range: $58 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brookings Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Welcome to our Family and pet friendly motel. We are a 2 mile drive to Harris beach were you will find outdoor activities such as deep sea fishing, whale watching or just a nice walk on the beach. We have been open for about two months now, under new management, please stop by or call for a reservation. We here at Brookings Inn look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Brookings Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookings Hotel Brookings
Brookings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing