We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Top pick for this family” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brookings Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brookings Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top pick for this family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We come regularly to Brookings as a family with three young kids. We always stay here. The pool and hot tub are always clean and super fun for spending a couple hours in when bad weather drives you away from the beach. The free breakfast is hot, delicious, and better than any buffet style you get at other motels. We have had a few negative experiences over years of stays: dirty carpets, housekeeping smokes right outside our room sometimes (though they are always apologetic and friendly when you point it out!). Overall, unless you want to pay way too much to stay right on the beach at the only hotel in town that even offers that, this is the next best thing.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for a room close to the pool. Also, the upstairs rooms overlooking the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    46
    37
    31
    40
See reviews for
61
58
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

First of all, there doesn't seem to be a lot of options in Brookings. Most of the lodges and motels look pretty worn out and the Brookings Inn is definitely among them. The positives are that the staff is very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Our room was large, but sparsely furnished with uncomfortable chairs. The motel, although right on Hwy 101, was surprisingly quiet. The best feature was the full complimentary breakfast offered at the diner next door. Actual real food! Mini omelets, fresh eggs, breakfast meats, hash browns, biscuits, toast, pancakes, coffee and juice.

Unfortunately all is not good at the Brookings Inn. The bed was absolute torture - like sleeping on a concrete slab. I was literally awake all night tossing and turning. We woke up after a restless night with sore necks and backs. The wireless Internet was soo slow that we gave up even trying to get online. There is no air conditioning, not even a fan. Luckily it was cool when we visited, but if you are there during the hotter part of the summer it might be pretty miserable. There is an indoor pool and spa which we didn't use, but it looked fine.

Overall, the Brookings Inn was just OK. Given the choice and having been there, I don't think we would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandybeach818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The good: Bed was clean, comfy. Room was clean. Service was friendly. Fridge in room. Complimentary breakfast was above par. They give you a free breakfast at the restaurant next door which was far better than lame buffet st most places. It was pretty good in fact.

The "not as good":
There was no a/c in the room. Not sure if that is the case with all the rooms, but if it is hot outside or if the sun is shining through your window and you like cool air, you may be wishing for that. The water pressure was a tad low for the shower.

Otherwise, for an Inn with minimal amenities under $100 it was not too bad. I stayed for business so I didn't need much more than a clean bed for a night. The big plus for me was the free breakfast... That was pretty good. ...And the bed was clean and comfy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Carpet had stains(probably from pets), I wouldn't let my kids walk on the carpet w/o shoes. Hard beds. Room took hours to warm up, fridge was unplugged. The free breakfast was great at the restaurant next door. Paid $93 for the room, only worth $50.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brookings hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The first room we had smelled so bad we asked for airfreshner and the front desk told us to find housekeeping...really. couldn't find housekeeping on my own so I asked to be moved. Second room smelled better but beddind was dirty. Carpets look like they haven't been cleaned in years. Very run down.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randileah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is awesome the staff is always nice and helpful we hav stayed here many times and loved it there hot tub room is very spacious the tub is perfect the only thing os that they need is a micro.

Room Tip: The bottom floor in front of the pool its really private u can be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Initally booked a room for 3 nights, arrived back at the hotel for our 2nd night at around 9pm and the hotel had transformed into "Animal House" Upon getting out of our car we could smell beer. It was difficult getting to our room for all the people who were partying outside their rooms. Several room windows were piled high with empty beer cans, people were yelling, and hanging off the 2nd story walk way. We called the front desk and were told they could come out after 11pm and "ask" everyone to be quite, but they could not "make" them because they do not have quite time rules at the hotel. We saw a vacancy across the street and quickly checked out and packed up as more cases of beer were arriving at 10pm. We had a very peaceful stay with them. The restaurant breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
1.8 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
25.0 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
21.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 19 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookings Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookings Inn

Property: Brookings Inn
Address: 1143 Chetco Ave, PO Box 1139, Brookings, OR 97415-2515
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Brookings Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Welcome to our Family and pet friendly motel. We are a 2 mile drive to Harris beach were you will find outdoor activities such as deep sea fishing, whale watching or just a nice walk on the beach. We have been open for about two months now, under new management, please stop by or call for a reservation. We here at Brookings Inn look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Brookings Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookings Hotel Brookings
Brookings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing