We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brookings Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brookings Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Cheap and very dirty hotel, never stay here, even for low budgets I would never recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winterneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    49
    41
    34
    41
See reviews for
63
67
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

After reading the reviews for motels in Crescent City, I decided to stop in Brookings overnight instead. I was a bit skeptical about this place after reading the reviews, but my apprehension was unfounded. I picked a room with a king bed, and found the room clean, spacious, and well-appointed. Our friends traveling with us found their room to be the same. From what I've experienced, you will get a good room at a fair price.
Panchos Mexican across the street was very good, and Mattie's south of town was great for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfsierra47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Never been in the area before and needed an overnight place en route. Studied various online possibilities and the AAA listings. Had a few in mind but decided to drive the 'strip' through Brookings and pick the one that looked most appealing without spending a kazillion dollars just to sleep somewhere. Picked this one and wasn't disappointed. Clean, comfortable, basic amenities. Nothing fancy but felt safe and had a quiet night's sleep. The comp breakfast at the restaurant next door was just right (for two girls; bigger appetites would likely be unsatisfied). Conveniently right on the 101 but set back enough that you don't hear the traffic. Certainly a good place to stop over for a night on your way through.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room. You can hear the shower run in other rooms so I think the lower floors wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was a one-night stop over and it did the job for that purpose. The room was clean and confortable enough (although not super comfortable). The pool was nicely heated, but in need of some cosmetic repairs. The free breakfast was at the restaurant next door and it was a small version of a real breakfast. It was okay, but not very good all-in-all. The place had some rough patrons, but again, it was fine for a quick one night stop--and most of the folks there seemed to be doing the same. It seemed to be the nicest offering on the highway in this area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utripmeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
367 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

I booked this hotel winning a bid on Priceline for $72, a little better than the rack rate of $95. I wasn't expecting much based on the reviews. They should really drop the "resort" tag from the name. This is nothing more than a motel. It served its purpose for one night. The staff was helpful checking in and recommended the Vista Pub for dinner. Great choice and it was within walking distance.

We were given a king room on the second floor. The room and bathroom were both clean which is a plus. There is plenty of room for luggage. It seems like they are trying. However, some things are outdated and should be replaced like the carpet and bedspread. The linens were not very soft. The room had a strange smell like some type of deodorizer was used. The refrigerator was nice and looked brand new. The internet was a little slow but got the job done.

The hotel was quiet at night but there is no air conditioning. The room got stuffy in the middle of the night. The complimentary breakfast at the restaurant next store is a good perk. Although it was a fine meal, the restaurant was understaffed with one waitress working the entire room. We felt bad for her. I'm glad we weren't in a hurry.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

The room was a fair size and the bed was comfy. The free breakfast in the restaurant on the property was good. It was nice to be able to have options to choose from. Front desk staff was very helpful. Didn't get a chance to use the pool but it looked very nice.
Will stay again if we are ever back that way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leann604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Just needed a stop over on the way to San Fran. Traveling with a party of nine, six children. This place was a surprise, the rooms were clean and comfortable, a pool and simple yet adequate breakfast were welcomed. If you are not spending too much time in town, this is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ignatiousliberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
1.8 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
21.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
#3 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookings Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookings Inn

Property: Brookings Inn
Address: 1143 Chetco Ave, PO Box 1139, Brookings, OR 97415-2515
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Brookings Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Welcome to our Family and pet friendly motel. We are a 2 mile drive to Harris beach were you will find outdoor activities such as deep sea fishing, whale watching or just a nice walk on the beach. We have been open for about two months now, under new management, please stop by or call for a reservation. We here at Brookings Inn look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Brookings Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookings Hotel Brookings
Brookings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing