We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm not impressed....get a cancellation number!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We were on a trip up and down the Oregon Coast and had booked a room at this motel....based on tripadvisor ratings.

The motel has a 24 hour cancellation policy. Several days (4 or 5) before our scheduled stay we were forced to return home due to a family emergency.

My wife canceled the booking by phone and was told "not to worry" by a female employee at the motel. After returning home, I found a charge for the motel room on my credit card statement. In other words, a "no show" charge...!!!

My wife called the motel and was told that the owner would get back with her. Nothing happened...!!! A second or third phone conversation with a male employee produced the information that this employee had seen a "piece of paper" with the cancellation request, and....that the money would be refunded.

The money was eventually refunded....after a couple of additional calls. This is poor. Evidently the "owner" is a busy man. May be he should get less busy...!!!

LESSON: Always get a confirmation and/or cancellation number when you book a room. Don't accept a "don't worry" from a no-name person....!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 190 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2011

For the life of me, I can't figure out why this hotel has such high ratings. It's an old motel that's gotten new carpeting and flooring in the bathroom, but our room reeked of cigarette smoke. The room was tiny, there was one luggage rack, but no dresser - just a round table and chairs by the window. We had to put one suitcase open on the floor. The one outlet in the room had 5 things plugged into it - coffeemaker, fridge, MW, lamp, and TV. The TV was the smallest flat screen TV I've ever seen in a hotel. The mattresses were old, the shower was tiny. When you turn off the switch at the door, it powers off the alarm clock. Wi fi worked, but we had to unplug something to plug in the laptop. The hotel itself has lots of trash and junk piled up around the place. Cats are roaming around and there were always smokers hanging around outside our door. Parking was tight. On the plus side, the room was clean and they provided nice toiletries, but we would not stay here again. Consider the Best Western instead.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snapngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

In Brookings on a combination business research and personal (mini family reunion and memorial service) trip, we choose this motel based on Trip Advisor reviews. It is clean and well appointed, centrally located and near a great Sushi Experience (at Kitanishi on Hemlock) and our room (117) even had a peek a boo view to the ocean. All for $69 for a Friday night. Even on Memorial Weekend we were not required to book a two night stay. But the real Magic happened when we were on our way out of town on Saturday at 5:45pm, 10 hours after we checked out. My husband wears small medical appliance - a spring loaded finger-extender - worn to help keep things stretched out following surgery several years ago for a growth on the tendons. He wears it several times a week - and almost always when we are on long drives. In the mid afternoon I realized he didn't have it on and asked where it was. He didn't recall. A search of the car, and all pockets in all pants and jackets revealed nothing. Jim searched his memory over the next couple hours and realized he must have left it at the Motel. So, we did a U-turn as we were headed North out of town. Ken, the owner, who had checked us both in and out, took Jim to the room. Nothing. He called the cleaning lady, who remembered a funny little thingey with plastic and wires that looked like trash. THAT'S IT!! Jim exclaimed with glee. Ken went to the dumpster where all the days trash bags had been placed inside larger bags. He got the bags out and patiently went through them for us, until the device was found. AMAZING. We will never stay anywhere else in Brookings.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmeliaAnne1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

On the night of May 16, 2011 my husband, Phil Pohl, and I stayed in Unit 122 of the Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, 437 Chetco Ave, Brookings OR. Phil always takes off his gold wedding band before he showers & the morning of 5/17 was no exception. He carefully placed it on a night stand by the bed but forgot to put it back on before we left for the day. We returned to the motel around 5 pm & Phil went into the room immediately because he had remembered during the day that he had left his ring. The ring was gone. We moved furniture, looked everywhere with a flashlight but the ring was not where Phil left it. We reported this to the owner, Ken Bryan. We also filed a report with Brookings patrol officer, Marvin Parker. The case # is L1105029.
I think it is important to note that the only persons with access to the room while we were gone were the owners & the staff. Given this fact it is very difficult to account for the disappearance of my husband’s ring. It was on the table when we left & not there on our return.
At the recommendation of Officer Parker we appealed to the “good nature” of the owner. Mr. Bryan’s only offer of compensation was one night’s complimentary lodging. We stayed two nights & at checkout, we paid for both -- $70 in no way could make up for the disappearance of Phil’s ring. Also, Mr. Bryan said he believed my husband but, in the same breath, said that he could not offer anything else because that would be an admission of guilt. He also intimated that the ring would turn up in our “things” but this has not been the case.
We are filing this statement with both the Brookings Chamber of Commerce & the Better Business Bureau. We want these facts to be part of the public record. The ring is gone, no fair offer of compensation was made, & Mr. Bryan’s apparent lack of concern was disappointing.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank DRuga52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

You take your chances sometimes with "motorlodge" in the name. But the Wild Rivers is like walking back to a time when they ate shiny and new. The staff was lovely, the rooms Neat clean, and the value is out of this world.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llessat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

This place is super shiny clean. King size bed, large room, wifi included, super clean bathroom with nice tub. The soaps were lovely, a cut above.
Our little dog was welcome.
Congratulations to the owners, for doing a terrific job. Very helpful & friendly
Great location..
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muchmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

I'm normally a Marriott customer (40-50 nights a year) - this motel is every bit as clean and comfortable as any chain facility. Rooms are large and comfortable, mattress was perfect, and the owner/operators were extremely friendly and helpful. This facility might be the best bargain on the West Coast - I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatFoodFlambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
0.8 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#4 of 8 in Brookings
79 reviews
1 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
209 reviews
7.7 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Rivers Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Rivers Motor Lodge

Address: 437 Chetco Ave, Brookings, OR 97415-8009
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range: $81 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Wild Rivers Motor Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Wild Rivers Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Rivers Motor Hotel Brookings
Wild Rivers Hotel
Wild Rivers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing