We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
77
67
45
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
67
45
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waste bags clean and quiet room pet friendly property clean place to stay oregon coast road trip wood floors microwave and coffee maker bathroom fan the main drag stay there again small fridge ice machine walking distance nice amenities enjoyed our stay a great stay stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 205 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2011

For the life of me, I can't figure out why this hotel has such high ratings. It's an old motel that's gotten new carpeting and flooring in the bathroom, but our room reeked of cigarette smoke. The room was tiny, there was one luggage rack, but no dresser - just a round table and chairs by the window. We had to put one suitcase open on the floor. The one outlet in the room had 5 things plugged into it - coffeemaker, fridge, MW, lamp, and TV. The TV was the smallest flat screen TV I've ever seen in a hotel. The mattresses were old, the shower was tiny. When you turn off the switch at the door, it powers off the alarm clock. Wi fi worked, but we had to unplug something to plug in the laptop. The hotel itself has lots of trash and junk piled up around the place. Cats are roaming around and there were always smokers hanging around outside our door. Parking was tight. On the plus side, the room was clean and they provided nice toiletries, but we would not stay here again. Consider the Best Western instead.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snapngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

In Brookings on a combination business research and personal (mini family reunion and memorial service) trip, we choose this motel based on Trip Advisor reviews. It is clean and well appointed, centrally located and near a great Sushi Experience (at Kitanishi on Hemlock) and our room (117) even had a peek a boo view to the ocean. All for $69 for a Friday night. Even on Memorial Weekend we were not required to book a two night stay. But the real Magic happened when we were on our way out of town on Saturday at 5:45pm, 10 hours after we checked out. My husband wears small medical appliance - a spring loaded finger-extender - worn to help keep things stretched out following surgery several years ago for a growth on the tendons. He wears it several times a week - and almost always when we are on long drives. In the mid afternoon I realized he didn't have it on and asked where it was. He didn't recall. A search of the car, and all pockets in all pants and jackets revealed nothing. Jim searched his memory over the next couple hours and realized he must have left it at the Motel. So, we did a U-turn as we were headed North out of town. Ken, the owner, who had checked us both in and out, took Jim to the room. Nothing. He called the cleaning lady, who remembered a funny little thingey with plastic and wires that looked like trash. THAT'S IT!! Jim exclaimed with glee. Ken went to the dumpster where all the days trash bags had been placed inside larger bags. He got the bags out and patiently went through them for us, until the device was found. AMAZING. We will never stay anywhere else in Brookings.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmeliaAnne1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

On the night of May 16, 2011 my husband, Phil Pohl, and I stayed in Unit 122 of the Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, 437 Chetco Ave, Brookings OR. Phil always takes off his gold wedding band before he showers & the morning of 5/17 was no exception. He carefully placed it on a night stand by the bed but forgot to put it back on before we left for the day. We returned to the motel around 5 pm & Phil went into the room immediately because he had remembered during the day that he had left his ring. The ring was gone. We moved furniture, looked everywhere with a flashlight but the ring was not where Phil left it. We reported this to the owner, Ken Bryan. We also filed a report with Brookings patrol officer, Marvin Parker. The case # is L1105029.
I think it is important to note that the only persons with access to the room while we were gone were the owners & the staff. Given this fact it is very difficult to account for the disappearance of my husband’s ring. It was on the table when we left & not there on our return.
At the recommendation of Officer Parker we appealed to the “good nature” of the owner. Mr. Bryan’s only offer of compensation was one night’s complimentary lodging. We stayed two nights & at checkout, we paid for both -- $70 in no way could make up for the disappearance of Phil’s ring. Also, Mr. Bryan said he believed my husband but, in the same breath, said that he could not offer anything else because that would be an admission of guilt. He also intimated that the ring would turn up in our “things” but this has not been the case.
We are filing this statement with both the Brookings Chamber of Commerce & the Better Business Bureau. We want these facts to be part of the public record. The ring is gone, no fair offer of compensation was made, & Mr. Bryan’s apparent lack of concern was disappointing.

Date of stay: May 2011
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank DRuga52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

You take your chances sometimes with "motorlodge" in the name. But the Wild Rivers is like walking back to a time when they ate shiny and new. The staff was lovely, the rooms Neat clean, and the value is out of this world.

Date of stay: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llessat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

This place is super shiny clean. King size bed, large room, wifi included, super clean bathroom with nice tub. The soaps were lovely, a cut above.
Our little dog was welcome.
Congratulations to the owners, for doing a terrific job. Very helpful & friendly
Great location..
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muchmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews