We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced, dog friendly hotel”
Review of Westward Inn

Westward Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westward Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, dog friendly hotel”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We needed to find a reasonably priced, dog friendly, clean hotel. The Westward Inn was a solution. The manager was courteous and he accommodated our request for a quiet room. Though the room was not high-end fancy, it definitely addressed our travel needs – safe, centrally located, and easy access to get back on the road. Everyone was quite helpful and after looking at the other accomodations in Brookings, it was a good choice for the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
25
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed at the Westward for one night to explore the surrounding area. The fellow at the desk was friendly and helpful. Our room on the second floor was clean and the beds comfortable. This is a totally non-smoking hotel. It does rent to some of the construction crews working in the area but they were no problem at all. We would have stayed another night but the weather turned cold and rainy so we moved South to Napa. Compared to the motel we checked out a few doors down, this was the Ritz! We would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We had originally planned on staying at the Pacific Sunset Inn (up the street from the Westward Inn) based on better TripAdvisor reviews. As soon as we looked at the Pacific Sunset room (yuk) we knew we needed to stay elsewhere. Not many choices since we have two dogs. We stopped at the Westward Inn on a fluke. The exterior of the hotel was very nice. The price for 2 adults, 2 dogs, and tax was $85/night.

The hotel was very quiet. Not too much street noise reaches to the back rooms despite the hotel being on Hwy 101. The windows are new and double-paned and block out all of the noise. The dog-friendly room we had been recently updated. It had Pergo flooring, the bed was one of the most comfortable we've slept on, TV, fridge, and a microwave. In the mornings there was coffee, bananas, and Little Debbie muffins in the office.

Great location at the north end of the business district.

We planned on staying one night, but ended up staying three. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daddydg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I made a mistake of not booking a hotel in advance so when we arrived in Brookings around 9pm none of the hotels were available for the price we wanted to pay which was under 100$. By the time we arrived at Westward Inn it was already after 10pm and they had room available for 85$. There was a teenager that came to reception area (which reeked of curry), he was nice and polite and gave us a room on 2nd floor. As soon as we opened the door there was a terrible moldy and musty smell in the room. Room is very outdated, sheets seemed clean but there was a stain on it, obviously it couldn't be washed but I brought my own sheets just for situations like this one. Blanket was disgusting, cheap military style. I couldn't sleep at all, smell in the room was unbearable. Hotel was quiet as there was only handful of guests staying. If we only knew that next city was only 30 minutes further. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skeletoncrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2011

At first glance everything was clean and we thought it would be a good stay. We started in one room and the toilet would not flush. The mattresses were of good quality but old and lumpy. In the second room the mattresses were new but the worst quality I have seen in a motel. The beds were even visibly a foot shorter because of the low quality. In addition to this you could feel that there was a hole in the floor beneath the carpet. A little worrisome on the second floor. Then when it was time to place the deadbolt on for the night, we realized not only did the deadbolt not work, but that our door was not secure. All you had to do was push the closed door from the outside and it popped open. Once again we headed to another room, by now it was near 10pm. The staff was cordial but did nothing to compensate for our troubles which I feel they should have. Will not stay here again and would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotelGuest_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

This a great little motel to spend a night or two when you are traveling through the area! The hotel front office staff was very friendly and provided a couple of good restaurant tips. The room was large and very clean with two comfortable queen sized beds! It had a refrigerator, microwave, complimentary coffee, large modern TV with cable, free wi-fi, plenty of towels, extra pillows. It was basically pretty quiet as the room was set back from busy Hwy. 101! I would definitely recommend this place if you are just passing through or in town for a day or two to go fishing! Also free continental breakfast (coffee, muffins, & bananas) in the lobby in the morning! Ice machine on property!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeMamaKnowsBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

another in a string of motels along highway 101 in brookings. walkable to ray's supermarket and o'hollerans restaurant, which were very good. a good stay, but nothing remarkable in the motel. a cleaning staff barged in on us while we were in the room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seamountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brookings hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Beachfront Inn
1.7 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#7 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
#3 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Motor Inn
Spindrift Motor Inn
#4 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Coast Inn & Suites
Blue Coast Inn & Suites
#8 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westward Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westward Inn

Property: Westward Inn
Address: 1026 Chetco Ave, PO Box 1079, Brookings, OR 97415-7152
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Westward Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westward offers affordable lodging with convenience of several restaurants nearby and easy access to Highway 101. Whether on a business or pleasure trip, alone or with a family you’ll find that Westward Inn has a variety of rooms designed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our staff is available 24 hours to make sure your stay is comfortable and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Westward Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing