We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home when visiting friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Suites
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home when visiting friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

we were visiting friends who lived in a motor home two minutes walk from the motel. my friend and i stayed four nights. though the location is actually in the harbour, one could see the mouth of the chetco river and a bit out to sea if you were staying on the second floor. we chose to stay on the ground floor as we planned to make most of our own meals and didn't want to lug everything we brought, upstairs. having a view wasn't important. there was a short walk to the harbour. upon entering our room we found the space horseshoe shaped. the living/diningroom and bedroom had a wall separating them and the full kitchen was at the top of the horseshoe. everything about the place was attractive, clean, well-stocked. there were windows on the north and south sides.
since the motel was butted up into a hillside, the internet was weak at times.
if we wanted to eat out there was a pleasant restaurant three minutes down the road further into the harbor. we spent saturday morning at the weekend farmer's market; food and more.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cypressgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    70
    14
    0
    4
See reviews for
98
157
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

My buddy and I had just finished a 100 mile bike ride and headed to the Best Westie about 1/4 mile down the road. They didn't have a room with two beds and were overpriced anyway at $199 per. Exhausted, we jumped back on our bikes and checked out the Ocean Suites. Rooms were clean and big, with complete kitchen, for half the price. Managers were great...free DVDs and a couple of laundry rooms were just what the doctor ordered. Also try the great pizza place down on the dock. It's run by a bunch of high school kids and they have an amazing selection of micro-brews. Great experience all the way around.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyslots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

The picture on their website somehow made me imagine a beach front location with a resort feel, so a little disappointed to find it right in a working port zone, not exactly by the water. That said, the apartment style suite was clean and comfortable and the front desk gentleman was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WATrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay in a clean and nice room. The service is very friendly and the motel is located closely to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

We found this through the AAA. Dave, the manager was very helpful. The units were fully equipped with a kitchenette. The room was comfortable and clean, really really clean. We only stayed one night, but it would be a great place to stay for several days.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

Ocean Suites was recommended highly by a local resident. My intended stay of eight days was extended to fourteen. This was mainly due to the pleasant surroundings and ease of working from this location. The non-business hours were enjoyable because of the walks one could take. The beach and several in the harbor area provided variety because they all changed every day. On week-ends there is an open air market with various items offered.
Local restaurants provided a variety of sea food, pasta and full dinners.
There is a fishing pier as part of the jetty that even has handicap access.
One restaurant has a welcoming lounge - very friendly - and LIVE music enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irnorkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, CA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

I had read about this place on Trip Advisor, so decided to give it a try once I knew we were going to be in Brookings for the night as we made our way down the OR coast. The room we were given for around $70 was like a small one-bedrm apt!!! What a deal! And we were upstairs in a new bldg. It was very quiet and clean and the women who checked us in and checked us out were very cheery and helpful. High-speed internet is included, but no other "frills". A coffee maker and coffee is provided, but no breakfast. We travel with our own organic cereal and berries, so that was our breakfast. The tv's have dvd players, too! Lucky for me that I had Netflix with us, eh? I would come back here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoddessofArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
1.7 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#12 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
1.0 mi away
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
#3 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Suites

Property: Ocean Suites
Address: 16045 Lower Harbor Rd, Brookings, OR 97415-8310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Suites Motel is a modern facility located on the Southern Oregon coast. Our suites are fully furnished one-bedroom apartments. With a private bedroom, fully equipped kitchen, living room, sofa sleeper, and much more. We are located adjacent to the harbor in Brookings, Oregon and within easy walking distance to the beach, restaurants, shops, and port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Brookings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing