We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 night Stay April 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whaleshead Beach Resort
Weaverville, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 night Stay April 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I am actually a LOCAL of Brookings. I grew up in Brookings and visit often to see family and friends. I usually stay with family or friends but after a long semester at school my hubby treated us to a weekend at Whaleshead. We reserved OV-10, great ocean view cabin with a hot tub. Each cabin is owned indivudally but Whaleshead has staff that goes into clean each cabin. This cabin was pet friendly as well, which was a must for us. We have a lab/pit mix and he goes everywhere with us. The deck is totally enclosed so we could let our dog lay out there with no worries. This cabin was overall clean and tidy. We had such a great stay, we decided to extend our stay. However this cabin was already booked so we decided to just swtich to another cabin. We switched to OV-6, with hot tub and pet friendly. More expensive and NOT WORTH IT! We were SO disappointed in this cabin, not only was it FILTHY but it literally had ducktape everywhere! On the screen door, the couch in the living room, appliances, etc. It allowed pets but was very close to HIghway 101 and we had to keep an eye on our dog at all times because it is NOT enclosed. Nice oceanview. It had a loft and could sleep more people but it was SO dirty! Basic upkeep and day to day cleaning was clearly NOT done. We went to the restraunt for dinner and I asked the waitress is she knew much about the cabins. That conversation made it possible for us to switch cabins, THANK GOD! We moved to Cabin T-6 as soon as we got back from dinner. THIS CABIN WAS FABULOUS! You could tell the minute you walked in the people who owned this cabin kept up on it and it was a pleasant surprise to change to such a GREAT, homey, clean, accomadating, lovely cabin after our disappointment with OV-6. We LOVED this cabin. SO many accomadations were available. The deck was large and enclosed for our dog. The only drawback was the hot tub did not have oceanview, but it was a great view to look at the stars at night. We extended our stay yet again, because we fell in love with T-6!!! We will ONLY stay in this cabin in the future!! We had a few of my high school friends over for a BBQ and it was a great time. It smelled clean, looked clean and it was worth every penny we paid!!!! There are guest books in most of the cabins, in this cabin they dated back a few years and it was actually a good time reading through each of the enteries! The owners even wrote enteries and updates along the years. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND T-6!! If you can not get into T-6 then I would go for OV-10 from my experience. It was a bit of a rollercoaster ride BUT we discovered T-6 so it was all worth it! The office staff (who have been there for awhile, like Danielle) will tell which cabins they perfer if you ask! PLEASE ASK! There was a new office lady working when we checked out to go home and I overheard her renting out OV-6. I politely asked her if she had been in that cabin and she said no. I explained my disappointments to her and she said she would call back and change that reservation to another cabin. I hope she did because boy was that heartbreaking to go into OV-6. The staff did accomdate and offer to switch us to another cabin when we brought the issues with OV-6 to their attention. So that is well appricated and due to that we will likely return.

Also my hubby has a back problem and the bed in OV-10 was very good for him. Also T-6 bed was comfy as well!

Cabin T-6 all the way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: ASK the office staff when booking! I recommend from my experience T-6 and if not that cabin then Ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TiffanyW1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    26
    22
    13
    25
See reviews for
54
63
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I have experienced nature's true beauty in this serene little piece of paradise many times. Life has taken many turns the last few years and Whaleshead has turned into our own, private retreat - especially over the Christmas Holidays. Not far from the beautiul Pacific Ocean and overlooking a wooded canyon, life gets renewed here!

Room Tip: You have a choice on either Ocean View or Creekside. Some cabins are bigger than others. To check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candy99z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed 3 nights in OV-11.. not sure if i will be returning. Not sure why this place is called a resort? I'll start with the best part which is the BEACH! Beautiful and scenic, LOVED the beach here! Tunnel was not what we expected.. this thing is long, i mean really long. and DARK!! you cannot see your feet in front of you, wouldnt go in without a flashlight. We were dissapointed to get to the end of the tunnel to find a pond in front of us, at least a few feet deep, that starts IN the tunnel so it was hard getting out, had to hand my husband our 3 and 7 year old so he could swing them around the outside of the tunnel to get out. DO NOT go in the tunnel if you dont like getting wet! Much easier to get in the car and drive across the road to the public beach access area and takes MUCH less time. never tried the restaraunt, it was closed the whole time we were there and we usually grocery shop to save $ anyways. The cabin... hmmm.. of course i knew that choosing the cheapest cabin with a hot tub might have its draw backs. It was big enough, had all the necessities, the veiw was pretty good, but dang who is in charge of cleaning that thing!?! first thing i noticed when i walked in: the smell. gross. was really stuffy smelled of old soap and just gross, hard to explain. so the first thing we did was open ALL the windows to try to air it out. wished I wouldlve brought some candles. luckily there was some wild rosemary growing outside so we brought some in and that helped a lot. The bed in the bedroom is advertised as a queen, well its a double. We didnt sleep in the bed though, i checked the sheets when i got there, they did not smell fresh or clean and found a couple of hairs. Instead rolled out the sleepingbags we brought from home and had a slumber party in the living room with the kids. there was hair stuck on the kitchen table, looked like it hadnt been dusted in months, the rugs on the floor had pet hair and had obviously not been vacuumed for a while. This place has real potential and would have been a great vacation if it had only been CLEAN. Thats my biggest pet peeve. made the best of our stay and thank god the weather was beautiful the whole time and we visited some great beaches and had a good time there. Went to Arch Rock a few miles up the road which was gorgeous!! there's a national park sign to let you know where it is. Also went to Harris Beach which we loved. There's an unbeleivable lookout point just a couple miles south of whaleshead, i forget what it was named but its named after a man, it had incredible veiws of the entire coastline we stopped there and ate our sandwiches. Im sure that if you can afford to pay a little extra for one of the nicer cabins, you might feel better about the place than i did. But then again i guess that would depend on if the same housekeeper cleans all the cabins? I would consider coming back to a different cabin but would definately check on the housekeeper situation first. If you're going to pay well over $100 a night to stay somewhere, you should at least feel comfortable and not like everything you touch is gross.

Room Tip: although we loved our ocean veiw we decided if we ever returned we would choose a creek side cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank rookiegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poncha Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for two nights, as part of a 17 day, 6000 miles journey around the country. This was the highlight of our stay. We stayed in a two bedroom unit. The condo itself was very nice, clean, with a huge deck, grill, hot tub, dining table, and a view of the ocean. It had a dishwasher and well equipped kitchen. We considered it a great deal with the ocean proximity, amenities, size, and quality of the units. Although near the top of the resort, we could still hear the waves crashing. Whaleshead Beach itself is awesome, with lots of sea stack formations near and far, as well as some nice boulders and rock formations on the beach, some suitable for bouldering. The beach was deserted most of the time, with only a handful of people on it at a time. There is a nice walking path with a 700 foot "tunnel" (one of three large drainage pipes underneath the highway) - a flashlight would be quite helpful but not absolutely necessary. The location is hard to beat, and we had a good experience with the facilities - we tried to stay longer, but they were booked up.

Room Tip: Just ask if you want an ocean view, as some units don't - but are located in a lush forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnofark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlamathFalls, OR
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is a group of single wide mobile home type of dwellings. The zoning laws didn't allow condos or a motel, so the enterprising owner just put a bunch of mobile home type of dwellings on this property. Most have ocean views.
Ours was DIRTY! Most of the time we do without shoes in the house, but the carpet in this place (T-13) was so dirty we had to wear shoes to protect our feed. It's really gross to drop something on the floor and find dried egg, hair and raisins. SURPRISE!
These places are so small it wouldn't take much at all to shampoo the carpet once a decade! However, they are privately owned and it's all about keeping the expenses down.
For the price the value is DEFINITELY not there. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Ask the reservations clerk about the cleanliness of the carpet and unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jsdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brookings hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Redding, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

On a family trip to Brookings, Oregon....we happened across this great beach by accident. We were exploring the gorgeous Oregon Coast and decided to try going down the steep access road to take a peek. The road down to the beach left something to be desired. We fell in love with the beach and ended up staying for several hours....exploring and relaxing. When we were leaving we went to the resort across the highway and really explored what it had to offer. We plan on going back and staying in one of the cabins. I can't wait to jump in one of the hot tubs!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Barbe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed there before on "date weekends" and it was nice. But when we tried to get a cabin with our kids we were told that there were only 2 cabins left and we would have to reserve both and that would be too inconvenient for them. And they will have no problem reserving them to 2 couples.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hismineours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
18.2 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
8.5 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
18.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
7.0 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#7 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whaleshead Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whaleshead Beach Resort

Property: Whaleshead Beach Resort
Address: 19921 Whaleshead Rd, Brookings, OR 97415-8188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whaleshead Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful and majestic Southern Oregon Coast, Whaleshead Beach Resort is the perfect venue for a romantic getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Whaleshead Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whaleshead Beach Hotel Brookings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing