We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is How Traditions Begin....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whaleshead Beach Resort
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I have experienced nature's true beauty in this serene little piece of paradise many times. Life has taken many turns the last few years and Whaleshead has turned into our own, private retreat - especially over the Christmas Holidays. Not far from the beautiul Pacific Ocean and overlooking a wooded canyon, life gets renewed here!

Room Tip: You have a choice on either Ocean View or Creekside. Some cabins are bigger than others. To check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank candy99z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 144 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed 3 nights in OV-11.. not sure if i will be returning. Not sure why this place is called a resort? I'll start with the best part which is the BEACH! Beautiful and scenic, LOVED the beach here! Tunnel was not what we expected.. this thing is long, i mean really long. and DARK!! you cannot see your feet in front of you, wouldnt go in without a flashlight. We were dissapointed to get to the end of the tunnel to find a pond in front of us, at least a few feet deep, that starts IN the tunnel so it was hard getting out, had to hand my husband our 3 and 7 year old so he could swing them around the outside of the tunnel to get out. DO NOT go in the tunnel if you dont like getting wet! Much easier to get in the car and drive across the road to the public beach access area and takes MUCH less time. never tried the restaraunt, it was closed the whole time we were there and we usually grocery shop to save $ anyways. The cabin... hmmm.. of course i knew that choosing the cheapest cabin with a hot tub might have its draw backs. It was big enough, had all the necessities, the veiw was pretty good, but dang who is in charge of cleaning that thing!?! first thing i noticed when i walked in: the smell. gross. was really stuffy smelled of old soap and just gross, hard to explain. so the first thing we did was open ALL the windows to try to air it out. wished I wouldlve brought some candles. luckily there was some wild rosemary growing outside so we brought some in and that helped a lot. The bed in the bedroom is advertised as a queen, well its a double. We didnt sleep in the bed though, i checked the sheets when i got there, they did not smell fresh or clean and found a couple of hairs. Instead rolled out the sleepingbags we brought from home and had a slumber party in the living room with the kids. there was hair stuck on the kitchen table, looked like it hadnt been dusted in months, the rugs on the floor had pet hair and had obviously not been vacuumed for a while. This place has real potential and would have been a great vacation if it had only been CLEAN. Thats my biggest pet peeve. made the best of our stay and thank god the weather was beautiful the whole time and we visited some great beaches and had a good time there. Went to Arch Rock a few miles up the road which was gorgeous!! there's a national park sign to let you know where it is. Also went to Harris Beach which we loved. There's an unbeleivable lookout point just a couple miles south of whaleshead, i forget what it was named but its named after a man, it had incredible veiws of the entire coastline we stopped there and ate our sandwiches. Im sure that if you can afford to pay a little extra for one of the nicer cabins, you might feel better about the place than i did. But then again i guess that would depend on if the same housekeeper cleans all the cabins? I would consider coming back to a different cabin but would definately check on the housekeeper situation first. If you're going to pay well over $100 a night to stay somewhere, you should at least feel comfortable and not like everything you touch is gross.

Room Tip: although we loved our ocean veiw we decided if we ever returned we would choose a creek side cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank rookiegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for two nights, as part of a 17 day, 6000 miles journey around the country. This was the highlight of our stay. We stayed in a two bedroom unit. The condo itself was very nice, clean, with a huge deck, grill, hot tub, dining table, and a view of the ocean. It had a dishwasher and well equipped kitchen. We considered it a great deal with the ocean proximity, amenities, size, and quality of the units. Although near the top of the resort, we could still hear the waves crashing. Whaleshead Beach itself is awesome, with lots of sea stack formations near and far, as well as some nice boulders and rock formations on the beach, some suitable for bouldering. The beach was deserted most of the time, with only a handful of people on it at a time. There is a nice walking path with a 700 foot "tunnel" (one of three large drainage pipes underneath the highway) - a flashlight would be quite helpful but not absolutely necessary. The location is hard to beat, and we had a good experience with the facilities - we tried to stay longer, but they were booked up.

Room Tip: Just ask if you want an ocean view, as some units don't - but are located in a lush forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johnofark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is a group of single wide mobile home type of dwellings. The zoning laws didn't allow condos or a motel, so the enterprising owner just put a bunch of mobile home type of dwellings on this property. Most have ocean views.
Ours was DIRTY! Most of the time we do without shoes in the house, but the carpet in this place (T-13) was so dirty we had to wear shoes to protect our feed. It's really gross to drop something on the floor and find dried egg, hair and raisins. SURPRISE!
These places are so small it wouldn't take much at all to shampoo the carpet once a decade! However, they are privately owned and it's all about keeping the expenses down.
For the price the value is DEFINITELY not there. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Ask the reservations clerk about the cleanliness of the carpet and unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jsdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

On a family trip to Brookings, Oregon....we happened across this great beach by accident. We were exploring the gorgeous Oregon Coast and decided to try going down the steep access road to take a peek. The road down to the beach left something to be desired. We fell in love with the beach and ended up staying for several hours....exploring and relaxing. When we were leaving we went to the resort across the highway and really explored what it had to offer. We plan on going back and staying in one of the cabins. I can't wait to jump in one of the hot tubs!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Barbe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed there before on "date weekends" and it was nice. But when we tried to get a cabin with our kids we were told that there were only 2 cabins left and we would have to reserve both and that would be too inconvenient for them. And they will have no problem reserving them to 2 couples.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hismineours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our family stayed at this nasty dirty place for 3 days and close to $600.00 later the place had food in the dishes ants and they have never seen a dust cloth at this resort. We emailed whales head directly and no response we are guessing they are used to this type of response and just plug along it is such a shame and very sad as for today everyone works so hard for their money to take a nice vacation that is so disappointing I can't even imagine if you ate in their resturaunt. Don't go there. On a good note they do have another resort we have stayed at near ashland and it is great and clean. Maybe managment needs to head to the Whale and ship things up. As the management at brookings will not respond who would in this situation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, Manager at Whaleshead Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Guess what!!! Management from the 'other resort' at Ashland is now on site and have tackled the big chore of cleaning up and fixing up what has been let go for so long. The old management team is gone, never to return.

Come see what we are doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
15.1 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
18.3 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
369 reviews
18.2 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
708 reviews
18.2 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whaleshead Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whaleshead Beach Resort

Address: 19921 Whaleshead Rd, Brookings, OR 97415-8188
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Brookings
Price Range: $150 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whaleshead Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful and majestic Southern Oregon Coast, Whaleshead Beach Resort is the perfect venue for a romantic getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Whaleshead Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whaleshead Beach Hotel Brookings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing