We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whaleshead Beach Resort
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for two nights, as part of a 17 day, 6000 miles journey around the country. This was the highlight of our stay. We stayed in a two bedroom unit. The condo itself was very nice, clean, with a huge deck, grill, hot tub, dining table, and a view of the ocean. It had a dishwasher and well equipped kitchen. We considered it a great deal with the ocean proximity, amenities, size, and quality of the units. Although near the top of the resort, we could still hear the waves crashing. Whaleshead Beach itself is awesome, with lots of sea stack formations near and far, as well as some nice boulders and rock formations on the beach, some suitable for bouldering. The beach was deserted most of the time, with only a handful of people on it at a time. There is a nice walking path with a 700 foot "tunnel" (one of three large drainage pipes underneath the highway) - a flashlight would be quite helpful but not absolutely necessary. The location is hard to beat, and we had a good experience with the facilities - we tried to stay longer, but they were booked up.

Room Tip: Just ask if you want an ocean view, as some units don't - but are located in a lush forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johnofark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 144 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is a group of single wide mobile home type of dwellings. The zoning laws didn't allow condos or a motel, so the enterprising owner just put a bunch of mobile home type of dwellings on this property. Most have ocean views.
Ours was DIRTY! Most of the time we do without shoes in the house, but the carpet in this place (T-13) was so dirty we had to wear shoes to protect our feed. It's really gross to drop something on the floor and find dried egg, hair and raisins. SURPRISE!
These places are so small it wouldn't take much at all to shampoo the carpet once a decade! However, they are privately owned and it's all about keeping the expenses down.
For the price the value is DEFINITELY not there. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Ask the reservations clerk about the cleanliness of the carpet and unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jsdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

On a family trip to Brookings, Oregon....we happened across this great beach by accident. We were exploring the gorgeous Oregon Coast and decided to try going down the steep access road to take a peek. The road down to the beach left something to be desired. We fell in love with the beach and ended up staying for several hours....exploring and relaxing. When we were leaving we went to the resort across the highway and really explored what it had to offer. We plan on going back and staying in one of the cabins. I can't wait to jump in one of the hot tubs!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Barbe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed there before on "date weekends" and it was nice. But when we tried to get a cabin with our kids we were told that there were only 2 cabins left and we would have to reserve both and that would be too inconvenient for them. And they will have no problem reserving them to 2 couples.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hismineours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our family stayed at this nasty dirty place for 3 days and close to $600.00 later the place had food in the dishes ants and they have never seen a dust cloth at this resort. We emailed whales head directly and no response we are guessing they are used to this type of response and just plug along it is such a shame and very sad as for today everyone works so hard for their money to take a nice vacation that is so disappointing I can't even imagine if you ate in their resturaunt. Don't go there. On a good note they do have another resort we have stayed at near ashland and it is great and clean. Maybe managment needs to head to the Whale and ship things up. As the management at brookings will not respond who would in this situation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, Manager at Whaleshead Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Guess what!!! Management from the 'other resort' at Ashland is now on site and have tackled the big chore of cleaning up and fixing up what has been let go for so long. The old management team is gone, never to return.

Come see what we are doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I chose the ocean view cabin I wanted online by the photos they provided on their website, and made the reservation. A week later I called to confirm the reservation and they tell me that I have reserved a creekside cabin ! I told them I did not want a creekside cabin , I wanted the ocean view cabin that I reserved already. They had given that one away. So they put me in another ocean view cabin, but there were no photos of it online so I wasn't able to see it in advance. When we checked in there was a sign over the front desk that said "SORRY, NO REFUNDS" ....Should have known then that it wasn't going to be good !! The smell when we walked into the cabin was overwhelming and disgusting !!! It smelled like they poured an entire box of perfumed powder all over the carpet . So the first thing we did was to open all the doors and windows to air the place out and even by the time we left the smell was still overwhelming but had faded a tiny bit and then there was some underlying smell which I assume is what they were trying to cover up ( no idea what it was ) . There was spackling on the walls in the bathroom and in the living room that hadn't been painted over. The BBQ out back was so greasy and had old food all over it and had obviously never been cleaned, I wouldn't feed my dog from that thing ! The patio chairs out back by the BBQ were filthy dirty and greasy and dusty and also had never been washed off, you would ruin your clothes if you were to sit there . I went to get a spoon, fork and plate out of the cupboards, they all were greasy and the plate had food on it ! a tomato or something ..... There was a beautiful view out front and on the front deck was a patio table where it would have been nice to sit and have breakfast but it was SO rusted that sitting there would have been dangerous !!! I understand that things rust on the coast but this was ridiculous ! Why even have it out there is no one can sit in it ??? There was a lamp by the couch that had NEVER been dusted, I wrote "HI" in the dust on the top of it, and not a thin layer of new dust, it was old and thick ..... On a positive note, the white haired maintenance man was very friendly. We made a point to stay out of the cabin as much as possible . We will NEVER stay there again .

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jeriburker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We have stayed at Whaleshead Resort 6-7 times in the past 10 years and have always had a good time. We have stayed in the lower cabins, which are built right into the Redwood forest, but have no view of the ocean. The upper cabins have a fantastic view of the ocean, but very few trees. So depending on which is more important to you keep that in mind when selecting your cabin. Also some of the cabins have a very small water heater (5 Gals) and some have a tankless water heater which provides endless hot water. Great to know unless you like cold showers. Now for the negative aspects. All of the cabins we have stayed in had cheap, hard, uncomfortable mattresses which made it nearly impossible to get a good nights sleep. The linens and towels looked like they had been borrowed for the donation bin at Goodwill. However, having said that, I would not let those problems detour you from checking this place out. Bring a mattress pad of some kind and some real blankets and sheets.

Room Tip: make your reservations early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabfsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
18.2 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
930 reviews
18.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
539 reviews
15.2 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
9.5 mi away
Mt. Emily Ranch
Mt. Emily Ranch
#1 of 4 in Brookings
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whaleshead Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whaleshead Beach Resort

Address: 19921 Whaleshead Rd, Brookings, OR 97415-8188
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Brookings
Price Range: $131 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whaleshead Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful and majestic Southern Oregon Coast, Whaleshead Beach Resort is the perfect venue for a romantic getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Whaleshead Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whaleshead Beach Hotel Brookings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing