We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vacation rental in Southern Oregon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lowden's Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Brookings B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 6, 2014

While this is titled as a B*B, it is not your typical one. Only 2 units that are like efficiency apartments. Bed, Bath & livingroom/kitchenette with microwave, coffee, tea, plates & utensils available.
Barbara, the owner, is a wonder lady, who walks you through everything upon arrival.
Access to beach is a quick flight of stairs, a gravel path & then a driftwood makeshift stairs (actual building of stairs on public beach is prohibitied so the owners use the driftwood to finish the last few steps). Not accessible for those that are not steady on their feet or who require assistance with stairs so be warned!
Views from deck are AMAZING! Situated right on cliff with views of the ocen & the river outlet, would be perfect for those that want to rent or bring kayaks. Beach is wonderfully sandy.
Bed is comfortable, bathroom has deep tub. Appliances all servicable.
Barbara provides an in room breakfast if you choose (croissants, scones, fresh organic fruit, cream/milk, OJ and water.

All in all, this would be a wonderful place to come for a few days of solitude on the beach or as a get away. If you are looking for high end luxury or typical B&B with hot breakfast, this is not the place. But if you enjoy a simple continental breakfast at your leisure and don't want to have to sit at a communal table and make small talk, then this is perfect.

Large decks to take advantage of sunset, sunrise. Large sliders to get ocean breezes or listen to the waves crashing to the shore. There is a fireplace in bedroom, but its for ambience only (no heat, electric flames only.

Nice little find for our quick overnight trip down the coast.

Room Tip: Ask for the Blue room, you have windows on three views (bedroom, sideview (river) & living area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tatmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 52 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Hard to decide which was the best part of this location - but the view has it! Absolutely STUNNING vista over Pelican Bay. We were actually fortunate enough to see wildlife in the ocean!! (seal or whale-couldn't tell-not enough experience)
The room was quiet, clean and well stocked with everything we needed. Hosts Barbara and Gary were able to tell us lots of info about the area, i.e. restaurants, attractions, wildlife, redwood forests and things to find on the beach. Easy walk to the ever changing ocean. Accommodations were clean and well maintained. Continental breakfast was perfect to enjoy while watching the waves from our room. The privacy was much enjoyed. (I don't like eating breakfast with strangers in my bathrobe) We will definitely stay in this place again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retired T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Beautiful setting with a fantastic ocean view. You are very close to the beach....just out your door and down the deck stairs and then down the beach path (bit precarious if you are not steady on your feet) and beach staircase. Barbara showed us everything we needed to know about our little studio (living room with fridge and microwave, etc., bedroom and bath). We were very cozy and comfy, and it was clean. The decor is not the latest and we could hear a bit of noise from the next studio but nothing much and we were not bothered by it. The view and location overrides all. We were even invited to join in on a beach campfire. Wonderful sunset and sunrise. We saw an otter too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plain1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We keep coming back because of easy access to the mouth of the Winchuck River and Pacific Ocean. Then there are the gracious hosts who do whatever they can to make us comfortable. The rooms are fresh and clean with excellent bedding. We like to bird and have views of kingfishers, cormorants, osprey, hummingbirds etc.. We have seen otters playing close by in the river. There are many adventures, restaurants, and wonderful beaches near by. Lowden's is a great place to unwind and enjoy nature.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the up river end of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nubsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Wow, I couldn't disagree more with the last reviewer, who found it "smelly." We loved this B&B from top to bottom and in between, and didn't find it at all smelly! It was very clean and fresh-smelling, actually. We also had a night of our honeymoon here, and we wanted to stay a week, we loved it so much. The views of the river AND the ocean were amazing, our unit was spacious, complete with a bathroom with two sinks and a deep tub for soaking, a fireplace in the huge bedroom, a comfy bed, a deck, storage places, games, movies on a bazillion disks, and every convenience we could dream up and poke around looking for. Our host and hostess were the friendliest and most accommodating couple imaginable. We found them delightful to talk to, and could easily imagine being friends with them if we lived in the area. Our walk to the beach was a great adventure; we actually enjoyed the challenge of the downward climb (on stairs that were not at all rickety) and the driftwood scramble. In lieu of breakfast being served (Our hosts needed to be up and out early the following day, and we arrived late without a reservation), we were given a break on the nightly cost, which we thought was very fair. We hated to leave this wonderful location, and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Because there are only two apartments, reservations are a must; we were lucky that they had had a cancellation that evening and had our unit available. It was "meant to be."

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I wanted to like this place-- especially since the couple who runs it are clearly so nice. But this place was just not up to par. First of all, our room smelled. Like dog, probably, maybe cat. You'd think since its only doors are big sliders that it could easily be aired out (the owners have a couple dogs-- not sure if they are where the smell came from). When we stayed it was pretty cold and foggy, so we couldn't air it out.

And the furnishings are VERY dated. Surprisingly so. It felt like staying in a great aunt's basement. Complete with flies and very spotty TV/cable reception. We ended up watching something on our computer, because the wifi was more reliable than the tv.

It was right on the beach, but you had to climb down some pretty dilapidated steps, through an overgrown path (that seems like it would be pretty simple to trim back, if they took the time), and then across some huge pieces of driftwood. We also had hoped for a little more privacy. Since two rooms share the same deck, even though we had a nice view, we had to keep the curtains closed for privacy. Not as romantic on our honeymoon as we had hoped.

Upside- free wifi.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank 9elephants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My and I wife stayed here on our honeymoon up the coast. It was very quiet and peaceful. The lodging is apartment style with your own bathroom, bedroom and living room. The house is on the beach with a great view. The host is very nice and helpful. There really isn't a breakfast, scones and fruit, but it is good and we knew that going in so we were not upset. I recommend this place for a clean and relaxing get away.

If you are heading north, ask the host about the petting Zoo!!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
3.6 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
369 reviews
17.6 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
5.2 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#4 of 8 in Brookings
78 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mt. Emily Ranch
Mt. Emily Ranch
#1 of 4 in Brookings
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowden's Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowden's Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Address: 14626 Wollam Rd, Brookings, OR 97415-9365
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brookings
Price Range: $99 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing