We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good”

Black Trumpet Bistro
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
NY
Level Contributor
189 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I ate here based on reviews. Of course coming from New York, I shouldn't have expected great Italian food, but based on reviews thought it would be good. We ordered a caprese salad to start.
The tomatoes were hard and ice cold. Any chef knows you don't refrigerate tomatoes, you ruin the flavor. The marinara sauce had a strange sweet taste. I'm wondering if it was cooked with carrots?? no idea, but my husband is Italian, and I've grown up on Italian food. It wasn't like any sauce I've ever had. To give credit, my husband said the sausage was very good.Very good flavor. The staff was pleasant and friendly, but this is not quality Italian.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mittmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    57
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good Italian fare!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

After a long day of hiking, this restaurant offered such welcome comfort food. The warm rosemary focaccia dipped in olive oil and balsamic vinegar would have been good enough with a glass of Chianti but the rest of our dinner was outstanding as well. The chicken orzo soup and the green salad were both excellent as were the main entrees.
Bravo Black Trumpet Bistro!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great food, try the steamed clams or braised pork belly appetizers. The Chicken Marsala was really good. The service was good, very attentive, the chef came out to check with us a couple of times. The brew selection was all over the Northwest including a Brookings and Gold Beach pub. Well done!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Itailian food”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great service great food starting with bread with oil and vinegar Then a salad and then the meat balls Italian sausage with the best marinara sauce I have had

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Black Trumpet Bistro ROCKS!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Start with great service, warm bread, great local brews, totally awesome salad, and the entree hasn't even arrived yet!

Helpful?
1 Thank Brriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Trumpet Bistro also viewed

 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Black Trumpet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing