We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small town--wonderful restaurant”

Black Trumpet Bistro
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Medford, OR
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Small town--wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

For a small town on the southern Oregon Coast, the Black Trumpet Bistro rivals any of the fine place we've eaten in larger cities around the country. Husband and wife team with years of restaurant experience, opened up this cozy Bistro just over a year ago and have been serving up delicious food ever since. We were there on a Saturday night and it was almost full with some patrons sitting at the bar. Nightly specials, each with thoughtful creativity and superb tastes begged the question--"why can't this kind of a place open where we live?" My wife had the bone in Veal Chop that was the best she had ever eaten. The accompanying parmesan potatoes and asparagus were wonderful as well. I opted for the pasta with clams. This came with the usual steamer type, shells and clams on the inside, but also included additional chopped clams in the pasta. No such thing as running out of clams on this dish. Would recommend a little caution by the chef when plating this dish, since I ended up with several bites containing broken shells. No harm--was able to avoid trouble by being extra careful from that point on. Nice wine choices and interesting desserts. If you get to Brookings, be sure to have dinner here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lie2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    57
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We loved the food. Classic gourmet cooking technique with Italian inspiration. Low-key, no-frills atmosphere is comfortable. The obvious focus is on the food and wine. Often busy, so you might have to wait and they don't take reservations.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank OregonCoastFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookings, oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Finally a Bistro in Brookings!! Quality preparation. Not your run of the mill restaurant. Excellent food, excellent service. We eat here at least once a month.....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ybull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
1 review
“Spinach salad w chicken TDF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We come back again and again for this salad which is not only very good and made w fresh ingredients, it is a terrific value. The owners are lovely people, the atmosphere is chic.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mocarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
125 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Charming Place Good People Delish Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Walked in on a dark night and found a satisfying meal and good company. The couple who run this care about their guests. Chicken Marsala very good. Mussels in a rich broth very good, and oh that rosemary bread! The chef and owner is not afraid of flavor.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1goodcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Trumpet Bistro also viewed

 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Black Trumpet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing