We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Trumpet Bistro

Black Trumpet Bistro
Ranked #2 of 59 Restaurants in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
northern california
Level Contributor
159 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

What a great restaurant! I had the braised short ribs, delicious. The interior was fun and artful. Service was excellent and friendly. Some great local brew on tap, and wine, and full bar. From what we could find in this town, this would be hands down best for food and atmosphere and right on the Main Street. This would be a great find in any town, even San Francisco.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecanoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    51
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
304 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A New Best find in Brookings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife's sister found this place sometime ago and raved about the food. So when we were in Brookings for our annual vacation from the heat of TX, we stopped in for dinner. The place is small but about the size of most in the area. The menu has excellent and there are specials. I had the rack of lamb for $24 and it was a steal at that price. My wife had chicken marsala and it was very good. the party of 4 had martinis, wine, appetizers and entrees and 1 desert and it was only $155, which is a very good price, especially when everything was so very, very good.
we have finally found a good and reasonably priced restaurant in brookings....not a small task.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTravler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service is great, fabulous bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar dip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything I've eaten here is great. Their portions are good, have a wonderful wine and beer menu and their food is excellent. Simple menu and have never been disappointed. Will definitely return. Fair prices for great dinner/lunch options.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome place to eat!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The staff is very friendly, the food is amazing, and the tight lines beer they have on tap is awesome!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewnaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern oregon
Level Contributor
174 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good Food, Reasonble Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We ate there in late July and were pleased with our food choices. I had the short ribs and my friend had the eggplant Parmesan, both of which were tasty. The menu is somewhat limited in entree choices and the ambiance is a little plain, All in all, a good place to try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank benddragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Trumpet Bistro also viewed

 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Black Trumpet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing