We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track....”
Review of Mt. Emily Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mt. Emily Ranch
Ranked #1 of 4 Brookings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

As previous reviewer has said, you are treated like family. Carol and her family were great fun, interesting and very informative. Had a delicious evening meal with them when we arrived quite late after long drive from previous stop off. Facilities for guests are fantastic. Stayed in the green room which was spacious and spotlessly clean. Sadly just stayed one night. Nothing was too much trouble.

Very lovely location with huge views of the surrounding countryside visible from room and all over house.

Room Tip: Green room with adjoining room would be good for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deeb1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H, Owner at Mt. Emily Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you for staying with us - we had such a good time visiting and would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 95 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Mt. Emily Ranch on Memorial Day weekend (2014). We were delighted with every aspect of our stay. Carol and her family made us feel at home, with their warmth and graciousness. Carol took great care to prepare gluten-free breakfasts and dinners that were delicious! The room was incredibly spacious, beautiful and had views of the surrounding (spectacular) countryside. The town of Brookings celebrated Memorial Day weekend with their "Azalea Festival", which included a delightful parade and events all weekend. I would highly recommend a stay here! Bonus for dog lovers: Zeena (the most adorable 3 yr old Golden Retriever ever) lives here! She has her own lodgings outside, but is ready to play, or be petted when you go out to greet her. Definitely safe for children. When I got my camera out to take a picture, Zeena ran to get her prized "stick" and posed on her bed. :-)

Room Tip: The green room has an attached room with 2 twin beds, perfect for parents traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndigoMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H, Owner at Mt. Emily Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

We had such a lovely getting to know you and it was fun hearing about your travels. Come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We spent one night there, it was simply amazing. The ranch is lost in the country, there is nearly nothing next to it, except wild animals. The room is huge, you can stay 2 to 4 people in it. The breakfast was exactly like everything else: simple, homemade (even jam) and perfect.
Will come back there definitely!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, the one on the left was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here last night with my 3 teens as a stopover on a trip up the coast.
The property and the house are incredibly beautiful!
The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated.

The innkeeper is super friendly and makes an amazing breakfast. Plus she is knowledgeable about the coastal towns. She gave us a few tips on places to stop in the next few towns up the coast and we stopped at each one and they were fantastic!

My GPS was incorrect about the location, definitely check the instructions on their website.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sillymeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H, Owner at Mt. Emily Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you, so glad you found us!
I hope the rest of your trip goes well; come back and visit soon:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

While on motorcycle trip along the coast we stopped at Mt. Emily Ranch B & B in September 2013. It substantially exceeded our expectations and in reality it is even more gorgeous than website photos. Looking back on our two week trip it was definitely our best dining and lodging experience. Carol (the owner) treated us with amazing Elk Stew dinner and we tested some home made fruit wines in warm home environment. In the morning we were leaving early and Carol kindly prepared early breakfast for us. Rooms (we occupied both) are huge and perfectly clean and furnished. Common area provides kitchenette and plenty of rest and play beautifully furnished space. There were plenty of other small and excellent details like handcrafted soap gift which we aren't mentioning but which made experience even more enjoyable. We would love to stop again, we believe this is perfect place for a couple get-away or as a stop on your trip. Feel free to contact me with questions.
Note that there is a bit of drive uphill to get to the ranch house but that should not be a problem - even on rainy day motorcycles treated it ok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in the blue room at Mt. Emily Ranch for 2 nights at the end of September. It was such a nice experience, from Carol's hospitality with delicious breakfast, Xena the super friendly golden retriever accompanying us on a walk through the property to a friendly "mooo" from the cows in the morning. It was such a nice contrast to living in the city and the peace and tranquility were only "disturbed" by wild turkeys meandering along.
If you have breakfast with Carol, ask about the self-made syrups and pancakes and/or waffles!
The room we stayed in was clean and plenty big for 2 people; the bathroom was very clean as well. Absolutely no complaints and we would definitely stay here again.
If I have to find anything negative at all, it has to be the road out of the city leading up to the property. I don't know who paved/constructed that street but it seemed a little "shoddy" with the black top having a big dip in the road.. Oh well :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogo_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was looking for an authentic “Oregon” experience on a short bucket list trip with my dad. We spent his birthday here and it was the perfect choice. If you want to feel truly off the beaten path while enjoying a beautiful home this is the place to stay. The workmanship and furnishings were top notch, the spacious family area upstairs with a kitchenette and big screen television was great for a little down time from our hectic pace. Carol was graciously accommodating with our dietary needs, yet still made a terrific breakfast, and we enjoyed sitting around the table hearing stories from lifelong residents of the state.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank paulsen02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H, Owner at Mt. Emily Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for including our B&B in your Oregon trip for your dad; it was such fun comparing our surroundings with your corn field remembrances :) Best wishes to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
8.6 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
22.8 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
470 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
367 reviews
22.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Emily Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Emily Ranch

Address: 99847 S Bank Chetco River Rd, Brookings, OR 97415-8229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brookings
Price Range: $171 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Emily Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Emily Ranch Bed & Breakfast is a fabulous Custom Log Home on 135 acres overlooking the beautiful Chetco River Valley. Our acreage includes gorgeous woodlands, creeks and a small pond. Situated 5 1/2 miles up the South Bank of the Chetco, it affords wonderful views of the river valley, Mt. Emily, and better weather away from the fog of the ocean. The spacious Log Home provides comfortable living spaces and fun activities for all our guests. Staying on a working ranch offers some unique advantages - organic produce is readily available in season; apples, plums, berries and peaches from the orchard, vegetables from the garden, and fresh farm raised beef and fresh eggs from our chickens. Imagine waking up to birds singing, wildlife wandering through the pasture, the smell of fresh bread baking, and the amazing view of the Chetco River Valley just outside your window. Two very large rooms with electric fireplace and private baths. Upstairs loft sitting area with large screen TV and electric fireplace; reading nook with well supplied bookcases. Kitchenette which includes sink, microwave, mini-frig,coffee maker and small table and chairs looking out over pastures teaming with wildlife - binoculars are always handy for a closer view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mt. Emily Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing