We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxation”
Review of Mt. Emily Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mt. Emily Ranch
Ranked #1 of 4 Brookings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a great treat/retreat a few miles from Brookings up the Chetco river valley. Carol and her family share their beautiful milled log home via their two very private upstairs suites. This is a new home and the rooms are huge, clean, comfortable and have a great view down the river valley. Do dinner with them if you can and sample some of the fresh meats, fruits and veggies they raise on this 100+ acre property. Plenty of room to roam with lots of wildlife all around, including friendly cats and a golden retriever that are happy to play if you want -- they won't bug you if you don't.

We had the Elk roast (yum) for dinner, fresh peaches and ice cream and some fresh-picked blackberries with our hearty breakfast.

You know those places that you don't want to leave? This is one of those places. You'll be treated like family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 99 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had the blessing of staying with our family in this Bed and Breakfast, what an awesome and amazing experience that will not be forgotten. To Carol and her family, thank you for making us feel so welcomed and at home. The ranch is amazing and serene. The rooms are great and spacious. The Elk stew with biscuits was amazing and the apple pie was just divine, and sharing it with her family was the perfect touch. Breakfast was outstanding and those waffles were delicious! If you are looking for an amazing and hospitable experience in a ranch, this is the place to stay. Our grandchildren did not want to leave and neither did we.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H, Owner at Mt. Emily Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

We're so glad you found us and brought your family to stay - they are wonderful!
It was a pleasure to have you, please come again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Amazing experience, one my family will never forget. Thank you to Carol and the family for taking time to make us feel at home. The food and company was wonderful! Special thanks to Clark & his wife for the wine tasting! Fresh berries, the stew was mouthwatering and of course the apple pie was heavenly! Breakfast was another treat and the surroundings are beautiful. My kids have not stopped talking about the trip and miss "Zena"

Room Tip: Room with attached room for the kids is great, so cozy! Kids loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H, Owner at Mt. Emily Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

We enjoyed having your family stay with us and it was such fun watching the boys playing with Zena :) Keep in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great hospitality. Great family owned B & B. Beautiful drive off St Rt 101 to this hidden ranch. We stayed in the room for two. Plenty of room. Great views from the upstairs bedroom and family room. Very large windows to see both mountain ridge views. if you are looking for out of the ordinary and don't mind spending a few extra dollars for a great experience then this is the place for you. Always a possibility of seeing and hearing native wildlife. During my lodging search, their ad had me at "breakfast." The best. And apple juice and peaches were out of this world. Opened in February.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowbird847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H, Owner at Mt. Emily Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay - and thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We are still enjoying the peaches :) I made a pie last week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. Thank you Carol and family for making us feel most welcome. A beautiful home, delicious food, memorable meals around the table, a very comfortable bed and a spectacular property. We felt so peaceful here. We loved everything about the Mt. Emily Ranch and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aurorac4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H, Owner at Mt. Emily Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, we enjoyed the evening and getting to know you. Bring the boys with you next time - maybe we'll have the Clubhouse built by then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We want to thank the owner, Carol, and her family for such a wonderful time during our overnight stay at Mt. Emily Ranch! We felt so very welcome in this exceptionally lovely and spacious home. The food was scrumptious! We had the best elk steak (marinated and fresh off the grill) that we have ever had. The tasty apple cider was made from their own trees and the homemade English muffins made the Eggs Benedict a special treat. The conversation was delightful and it was a truly inspiring experience to be there!

Room Tip: One of the bed is very firm and the other more soft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a wonderful experience. The house is just amazing. Huge and so beautifully decorated. The views are unbelievable. You get to look out at the wandering river below and the beautiful green mountains. The bed was very comfortable. Carol and Lisa go out of their way to make your visit memorable. Carol makes the most fantastic Belgian waffles on her antique waffle iron. You are on a working ranch so lots going on to keep you interested. It was very fun! Thanks for everything! We can't wait to come again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynStrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
4.5 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
370 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
5.5 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#4 of 8 in Brookings
79 reviews
23.1 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Emily Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Emily Ranch

Address: 99847 S Bank Chetco River Rd, Brookings, OR 97415-8229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brookings
Price Range: $145 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Emily Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Emily Ranch Bed & Breakfast is a fabulous Custom Log Home on 135 acres overlooking the beautiful Chetco River Valley. Our acreage includes gorgeous woodlands, creeks and a small pond. Situated 5 1/2 miles up the South Bank of the Chetco, it affords wonderful views of the river valley, Mt. Emily, and better weather away from the fog of the ocean. The spacious Log Home provides comfortable living spaces and fun activities for all our guests. Staying on a working ranch offers some unique advantages - organic produce is readily available in season; apples, plums, berries and peaches from the orchard, vegetables from the garden, and fresh farm raised beef and fresh eggs from our chickens. Imagine waking up to birds singing, wildlife wandering through the pasture, the smell of fresh bread baking, and the amazing view of the Chetco River Valley just outside your window. Two very large rooms with electric fireplace and private baths. Upstairs loft sitting area with large screen TV and electric fireplace; reading nook with well supplied bookcases. Kitchenette which includes sink, microwave, mini-frig,coffee maker and small table and chairs looking out over pastures teaming with wildlife - binoculars are always handy for a closer view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Mt. Emily Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing