We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bite of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bakery By The Sea

Bakery By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
659 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
“A Bite of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This little family owned hole in the wall bakery has the best scones I have ever tasted. The aroma when you open the door will take you back to your grandma's kitchen on baking day and you end up buying more than you planned just because it smells so amazing. It is not a restaurant, just a tiny spot with a table in the hall and mouth watering goodies at extremely reasonable prices. Only open a few days a week around the weekend but they do sell at the seasonal local outdoor market on Wednesday and it is worth the trip just to buy their pastries.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebekajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    8
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, OK USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Not a sit down restaurant Has one table in the hallway. Difficult to find but worth it for their sweet and savory pastries. Look for the yellow bakery sign and go inside down the hall. Takes cash only.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cbm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homemade goodness!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My sister and I had a girls getaway weekend in Brookings and before we left I made sure to look at Trip Advisor for some of the restaurant's to check out while we were there. I read the reviews for Bakery By The Sea and decided to make that a "must go" before we headed to the beach for the day on the Saturday that we were there. I was really surprised at how small the bakery was and admittedly my sister and I were both a little overwhelmed by all the racks of pastries and numerous goodies. As first time visitors we were a little lost without a menu or list of items available. And when we asked the young lady about items she really didn't provide much help or offer suggestions as to what might be their "best sellers". So my sister and I chose something quickly and it happened to be the ham and cheese croissants. They were fabulous! It was obviously fresh, great flavor, and baked perfectly! I'd like to go back the next time I'm in Brookings and hopefully check out some of their other homemade goodies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastCAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Man oh man....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

"These are the best croissants I've ever had!" - quote from my fiancee, and I'd have to agree. I've traveled France and Italy and always made the local boulangerie a stop for morning croissant and cappuccino. This place rivals them all. Flaky pastry, lots of butter, with a focus on quality ingredients - the young baker has an obvious passion for his craft. Almond and chocolate croissants are a highlight, the fresh sourdough loaves are hearty with a wonderful tang. The location isn't immediately obvious (see other reviews) but it's well worth hunting down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“worth getting up early for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Thank you, Tripadvisor, for alerting us to this tasty gem. It still had both chocolate and ham and cheese croissants at 8:00 which we took for a picnic at Vulcan Lake. They were as good as the other reviewers say. They have Allman brothers coffee which was excellent also. Take out only, standing room only, and it won't hold more than three or four customers, but you can wait in the mall hallway if it's crowded. Service is fast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OregonPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakery By The Sea also viewed

 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Bakery By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing