We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Food, Great Service and Reasonable Prices!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khun Thai

Khun Thai
925 Chetco Avenue, Brookings, OR
1 (541) 412-0555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 58 Restaurants in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
southern oregon
Level Contributor
156 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service and Reasonable Prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ate at Khun Thai Restaurant in September and were quite pleased with the food served. The food was very good and the presentation was also very nice! Our server was very professional and didn't bother us or want to chat about her kids, etc!
The decor leaves a little bit to be desired, but don't let it fool you, as this is a great restaurant.
Try it, you'll like it

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank benddragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    34
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hiouchi, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you love Thai, give it a try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We are so lucky that this restaurant opened in Brookings. I have had many meals there and many entrees (we share family-style), and every one was good, very good, or excellent. The service is always fast, friendly and fun. If you love Thai, give it a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
146 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai food - zero atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

As described in many reviews, the food is superb and the atmosphere is nil. The food we tried is as good as anywhere with minor complaints (Thai ice tea could have been slightly stronger and fried tofu appetizer was a bit strange). But these are really minor complaints for a truly outstanding dinner. Enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AK_Steve_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Went with a friend who recommended the food and service. It was busy when we got there so I expected to wait a little bit. The server did not take our drink order when we sat down and didn't come to take our dinner order for about another 10 minutes. Our food came more quickly than I thought it would, but the server again, dropped the plates and ran. I wanted chili sauce and caught the eye of a different server to get it for me. My friend's food, pad thai, was not right, it was REALLY sweet tasting and when she asked the second server about it, she was offered something different, and when she asked why the food was different than she had been served at previous 2-3 visits, the server got an attitude with us. My dinner was just okay, nothing special. Our drinks were not refilled until just before we left.
All in all, this is not a place I plan to return to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank minesbigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent quality thai in an unexpected town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great quality thai food, something I wasn't expecting in Brookings. Prices are good, service is very friendly and accommodating. The building doesn't scream quality, but look past that and you'll be happy. If you like spice at all, upgrade your request to at least medium or more - they season to American palates (I like mild spiciness, and the "medium" was mild anywhere else). I would definitely go again when we're back in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khun Thai also viewed

 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Khun Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing