We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great local place for a beer and more.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ken's Tavern - CLOSED

Ken's Tavern
Cuisines: American, Pub
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Great local place for a beer and more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was a 70 year old local bar we had the fortune of walking into for a beer after work. The mean bartender has departed and the nice one has stayed. Great local beers on tap! The only drawback is they won't win health awards for the food, but the wings, fried zuchini and onion rings were tasty.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kmiller_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    0
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not sure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went in about 10:30pm on a Friday night and the place was empty. Had a beer and left - cant say much else but apparently that was an odd occurrence to be empty like that.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BWPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unpleasant bartender”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

I was holed up in Brookings for a few days during a cross-country motorcycle ride because my buddy's bike broke down. Ken's seems to be a locals-only joint, as evidenced by the bartender's rather unpleasant attitude toward me and her reluctance to acknowledge or serve me. It was surprising, because I'd just had such a great experience next door at the Pinecone (PC) Tavern, where the bartender/owner indeed wanted my business, and was interesting to talk to. Avoid the redneck Ken's. Check out the Pinecone, Superfly a few blocks off the main drag (for delicious martinis and food), and, to the north on the main drag, the Vista Pub.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomoconn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best burgers on the coast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

If your looking for a great place to unwind and have a delicious burger and fries, then look no further. Ken's tavern is the best place in Brookings to go and get warm friendly service at an incredible price.

Went here with some coworkers, and have been hooked. We had a wonderful time playing pool, darts, slots, eating, drinking and just watching sports while dancing to the music on the jukebox. Did I mention I didn't spend an arm and leg for my food or drinks, this place is the working man's hang out.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dons496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's Tavern also viewed

 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing