We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swim in a clean little river”

Alfred A Loeb State Park
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Swim in a clean little river”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My daughter and I found this state park a few years ago but didn't have the time to swim in the river. Make the time. No current, clean and refreshing (but not too cold in summer) water, and a friendly spot to relax. Sun dipped about 6:45 p.m., and after a couple of hours enjoying the water, we left.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBabe8662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    27
    2
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing place!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

it is an amazing place that is right on the river and only 8 miles from town. it has a great rocky beach that your kids can play at while you are relaxing and enjoying yourself in the warm sun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayden P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“River Swimming”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We did not camp, we were staying on the coast but it was misty and cool so we came a little way inland for some sunshine. Drove onto the pebble beach and swam in the river. Beautiful setting. Diving off rocks into the clear river. You can also just paddle. Other families catching small fish and salamanders. There are some long drop toilets and an ice cream van did visit but no other facilities so bring a picnic. A very pleasant way to spend an afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PAWPeteWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“1ST AND LAST TIME”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

1st would like to say that this park is Gorgeous. Great setting on the chetco river . BUT this will be the 1st and LAST time I or anyone else I know will ever come to this park. Some people have had great Experiences here I dont doubt. If you are looking for a Family Friendly Campground this is NOT the Campgroud for you !! If you like to be in Bed at 10pm then this is the place. Quiet time is from 10pm-7am and they are Very strict with this policy Now. If being outside enjoying your friends and family making s'mores and laughing ...DONT DO IT !!! After being harrassed by the very Rude Camp Host/Park Rangers and State troopers . I will not be returning to this campsite again. After reading the last few reviews it looks like others had the same experience our group had. Looks like they might have new people running this location since in the past others have had great times at this park prior . Also looks like some people back in 2011 had a similar experience. I would understand if our group was being inconsiderate of other campers but with For NO REASON is ridiculous.

Sadly I Say this will be last time we stay at this campground even though it is an Amazing looking place just POORLY managed

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank kaisdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The beauty of the park doesn't justify the poor treatment”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This park is beautiful and that is the only reason I am rating it "Poor" rather than "Terrible". After being told we were too loud after quiet time on night #1 of our stay, we felt absolutely stalked by the park ranger and her state trooper friend the remainder of our stay. Apparently laughing and talking quietly around the campfire after 10 p.m. is strictly FORBIDDEN. This is not a park for families, this is a park for retired folks who turn in early. We were with friends who had a young baby and by the second night of our stay, they were afraid they would be scrutinized every time the baby cried in the night. Two different families in our party received tickets on the road at the entrance of the campground for various irrelevant reasons,(i.e. no front license plate) on day #2 of our stay. Following the two traffic tickets, the same state trooper then cruised the campground both on foot and in his car several times during the evening and into the night. The amount of anxiety and monetary loss that these events brought our group nearly spoiled our entire weekend. We felt that we were needlessly harsh with our children than we usually would have been; not allowing them to laugh and giggle at the campfire as 10 p.m. was approaching. After moving our group into our RV at 9:50 we were still on edge that we would be visited by a person of authority for whispering too loudly. This was absolutely ridiculous and we will never return again. If you prefer an extremely quiet campground this is your place. If you have children and want to enjoy a fun time together that may or may not continue after 10 p.m. don't waste your vacation here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank maliahsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfred A Loeb State Park also viewed

 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Alfred A Loeb State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing