We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good chowder and service”

Sporthaven Marina Bar And Grill
Ranked #9 of 64 Restaurants in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
St. George, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“good chowder and service”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

wanted chowder for lunch and read reviews in trip advisor and decided to try this place. Chowder is mid-atlantic style (thicker than New England and thinner than southern Atlantic). Like all good chowders they start with either bacon or salt pork. It had lots of clams and I feel, too many potatoes but a very good chowder. I also had fish tacos and was less impressed with them. For the price, they needed about 50% more fish, 75% less lettuce ( I prefer shredded cabbage) and 100% more sauce. Never had a fish taco in Mexico that didn't have cilantro with it but there was none that I could discern here. The chowder is worth whatever they charge but the fish tacos are tourist priced and tourist quality. Service was very good and place clean and organized. I would go back for chowder and another fish dish but not tacos.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eremitic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    83
    39
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb fish”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I'm puzzled by the negative reviews I see of this place, because I ate there a week ago and found it outstanding. Best fish and chips I've ever had; great oysters; delicious clam chowder; friendly and attentive service; right on the water. We loved it and highly recommend it if you're in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unspectacular”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Fish and chips were very ordinary, service slow and they really missed out on the deck planning, beautiful sunny day and we were all freezing on the deck, there was an abandoned table on the gravel down below which was the best place to sit. Clam chowder just OK, beer is great. Go here only if you're really hungry and you like lots of french fries

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a lovely watering hole!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Happy Hour starts at 3.30pm and lasts to 6 pm. Very friendly staff, good atmosphere. Food ok as well as cold beer!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pete503828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK if you like fried food and lots of ranch dressing.”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I am still on the hunt for a really good restaurant in Brookings, Oregon. Sporthaven was recommended so we tried it. It is on the harbor and charming as far as staff and touristy ambience is concerned. The staff was helpful, if occasionally not paying too much attention. Good draft beer and a selection of wines available. The starters were all offered with ranch dressing to dip something fried into. I ordered the fish tacos. Good fish with lots of cabbage, but the flour-corn tortillas were bland and not worth the effort. We split a bowl of the clam chowder..creamy but needed more zing of some sort. Randy had fried fish with chips..which was good..but again if you are looking for less fried, this isn't it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sporthaven Marina Bar And Grill also viewed

 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sporthaven Marina Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing