We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't go by the looks”

Sporthaven Marina Bar And Grill
Ranked #10 of 61 Restaurants in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
so cal
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“don't go by the looks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

ok, this place has zero atmosphere, but i have to say, it was probably the best clam chowder and crab cakes i had on our whole trip down the oregon and nocal coast. we really wanted a beer with our chowder and originally stopped at the hungry clam and realized they didn't serve alcohol. stopped here just because we were tired of looking and getting cranky from our long drive. the servers were really, really nice. at the end of our meal a women came over to the table and asked how our meal was, not what you'd expect in a place with fluorescent lighting. apparently she was the very new ower (i think a week) and really wanted to make sure we were happy with everything. just for that, i'll give her a two thumbs up.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ob23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    77
    37
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We ate at quite a few places while visiting in Brookings. We would say that this place had the best clam chowder. I was also pleasantly surprised that they had sweet potato fries and they could be substituted for regular fries. They were wonderful! I ordered a captain's plater and couldnt eat it all. Will definately come back here!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovemyDux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Loved the chowder & Baja fish tacos. Only one girl running the whole show weekdays besides the cook but she handled it all with ease.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank kalenanokaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gift shop with a restaurant as an afterthought.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Long wait burned fish and chips. Noisy and a bar with a loud tv. No desert menu but they have sundaes and shakes. But the coffees hot!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oklahomasyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Award Winning Clam Chowder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Based on a locals recommendation, I went here solely for the clam chowder which was the winner of the 2009 Oregon Coast Professional Chowder Cook-Off.  The Sporthaven Marina's chowder has also won numerous Oregon Coast Peoples Choice Awards.  I ordered the made from scratch clam chowder in a sourdough bread bowl for lunch.  The bread bowl was toasted with the top covered in garlic butter.  The chowder was exceptional creamy, with fresh sweet clams and a hint of bacon.  I concur, it's a top notch clam chowder.  Friendly service at the bar.  If your ever on the beautiful Oregon Coast, near Brookings, I highly recommend you try the award winning clam chowder at Sporthaven Marina.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sporthaven Marina Bar And Grill also viewed

 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sporthaven Marina Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing