We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Follow the locals to this great breakfast house...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mattie's Pancake House

Mattie's Pancake House
Ranked #3 of 59 Restaurants in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
207 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Follow the locals to this great breakfast house...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

You know it had to be good when you saw crowds lined up at the brunch hour willing to wait whatever time necessary to get served inside. Our mouths were salivating as we were ushered past the fluffy pancakes and waffles slathered with fruit and whipped cream and the generous omelettes piled high with perfectly cooked hash browns. Though breakfast had been on our minds when we entered, it was the Angus hamburger dripping with cheesy BBQ toppings and highly stacked tuna melt that caught our eyes. All this with the full intention of returning another day for the anticipated breakfast... Moderate prices, unbelievably fast service with a smile, and food that didn't disappoint. A great find!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    79
    24
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
138 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average Pancake Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We usually stop at a small casino on the way up the highway but the last couple of visits there for breakfast have not been that good. Thus we travelled further north to see what else might be available. Thus this little place. Tight seating inside and there was a good crowd at about 10:30 on this Monday morning. Seemed clean but nothing special in the décor. The windows all around on two walls of the seating areas had model cars in them with an occasional plane model. Sort of fun!

Food was just average, nothing special. Wife had eggs and pancakes and I just did pancakes. The flavor became a little sickening toward the end of the meal. Price was really cheap. Our next trip on the coast we will move into Brookings further to see what else there might be. We would only eat here again if there were no other places to get breakfast and actually I think we would go do subway before stopping here again. Don't get me wrong, food was not terrible but not what we desired. Worth a try with the cheap prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank INEEDAGOODNIGHTSREST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“HARD TO FIND SWEDISH CREPES”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

One of the best places ever for Swedish crepes with tons of lingonberry butter. You get 3 large crepes. Service is excellent and the place is cute and clean. Other people in our party got omelets, and they were also good. Highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great team.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had breakfast here this am. waitress was great took our order and was very friendly. I work at a restaurant so I am a bit of a service snob. everyone who works there had a smile they all seemed happy to be at work. our coffee was never empty nor was our water. food came out fast and hot. my husband had an italian sausage omlet and said it was the best omelet he has ever had. what a great place. we will be back on our next trip. love love love. oh and super kid friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dunnsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great spot for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for breakfast before heading to the redwoods to hike. No wait ti be seated. lots of vintage car models line the window sills with please do not touch signs.Great selection of items on the menu. My husband was also excited to hear they had boysenberry syrup for his waffle as that is his absolute favorite and getting harder to find. Our Waitress was very helpful In narrowing down our selections. They also have the option to order just a two eggs omelette instead of three. Nice touch for those of us with smaller appetites! Overall a wonderful breakfast for a Tuesday morning!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DurhamMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mattie's Pancake House also viewed

 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Mattie's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing