We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OK Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spindrift Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was an OK place. Nothing to write home about. Manager was very curt. not the most friendly type. No problem when we asked for extra pillows, and had recommendations for restaurants. Get an upstairs room if you can, sounds like elephants overhead when it is time to sleep. Nice view. We had to walk across the field to see. It was so foggy all along the coast our entire trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgmautiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    62
    22
    10
    20
See reviews for
46
70
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We read the reviews before we booked our room and were very pleased. The location is great, room was clean, and the beds comfortable. The weather was hot but the air conditioner worked great and the room was cool. Michael was friendly, helpful, and gave us two great restaurant recommendations. The only suggestion we might make for the future is to upgrade the towels a bit - they were a little rough. Otherwise, couldn't beat the price.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, which meant carrying luggage upstairs, but also meant noise was limited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBabe8662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Thought manager was nice guy until we did'nt follow all his rules perfectly. Suddenly became aggressive and threatening over very minor incident. His wife wanted to kick us out. Scary people. Don't complain about anything or else! Every sound in building very loud. Could'nt get any sleep there. Will never stay there again. Even Motel 6 is better. Also told them we did not want anyone in our room, we had a lot of stuff laying around. They disregarded our wishes and went through our room anyway. Overall, a creepy experience. Would never stay there again. Ruined our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvacycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

So im not saying to not stay there or anything bad it was a great place until come night time.
we paid almost 100 bucks for a room just me and my husband, we got a knock at our door word by word " can you please just sit on you bed and not moved im getting a complaint from the person down stairs and i cant afford to loose her" i found it very rude knowing i paid so much to be told not move or make a sound i will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: pay attention to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacinda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My sister and I went to Brookings for a girls weekend getaway. We decided to stay at the Spindrift Motor Inn based on the reviews we had read on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased with our stay. Like most reviews I agree the furnishings/decor were old but the motel was cared for, clean and had everything you would need. The price seemed fair as well. But the best part was the excellent customer service from the owners. Michael was so friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. We had a great stay and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoastCAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We staid a night here on our way to San Francisco. The guy at the front desk was very pleasant, the parking was great, and the view beautiful. The room wasn't anything fancy, but it was mostly clean and quite spacious! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fallenangel2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a great little inn! Michael & Myrtle were very hospitable! Our room was clean, comfortable and beyond reasonably priced. We were on the 2nd floor and had a great view of the ocean and easy beach access was just up the road. If we ever make it back down the coast we will definitely be booking our stay with Michael & Myrtle!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckimcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
1.9 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
24.9 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Motor Inn

Property: Spindrift Motor Inn
Address: 1215 Chetco Ave, Brookings, OR 97415-8106
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Spindrift Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Spindrift Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Motor Hotel Brookings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing