We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a clean quiet stop between Portland and Boise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Lodge and Grill
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boardman
Certificate of Excellence
Sun Valley
1 review
“a clean quiet stop between Portland and Boise”
Reviewed October 7, 2009

This is a perfectly acceptable hotel but the rooms are pretty basic. Hardy portions of greasy food for breakfast but most probably find it OK. Could have some healthier options. Nice views of river. Staff was very friendly. AAA rate $89 for a non view king.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    56
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
47
51
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medical Lake, WA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

From the freeway, Boardman looks like a poor working town with older lodgings. The newest and nicest lodging is the River Lodge and Grill --out of sight on the shore of the Columbia River.

This property is only a few years old and is built in 'lodge style'. It has 49 rooms ( a couple are suites), has outdoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, small business center and meeting rooms. It is 2 story with elevator; we got an upper floor room to avoid possible overhead noise. Rooms that face the river cost an extra $10; other rooms face the parking lot. If possible, get the river view -- it is amazing.

Our 2 bed room was very large with both a table with 2 chairs and a desk and chair. Furnishings were in very good condition. Towels were large and soft. The sink outside of the bathroom was stainless steel (bar style) and there was a microwave, fridge, iron and hair dryer.

Restaurants are limited in Boardman; we ate meals at the Lodge and food was very good. Prices were slightly high, portions were nice sized, service was excellent and the restaurant is spacious with a wall of windows for viewing the river.

There is a small sand beach in front of the lodge and it is equipped with fire pit and wood, swings and volleyball net. There is also a paved walking path that goes along the river and passes between the lodge and the beach.

I beleive the riverview rooms rent for about $115; I got the government employee rate of $70 plus $10 for view so my cost was $80. I gave it a 4 out of 5 for value simply because the full price is pushing my budget but it's worth a splurge!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLM990022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

River Lodge & Grill in Boardman, OR was a wonderful surprise. Located right on the edge of the fantastic Columbia River, our room with a view on the second floor was delightful. The room was comfortable, with two beds, table and desk. It overlooked the river, separated from it by only a small stretch of beach. We placed the round table right next to the glass doors, ordered room service from the Grill and enjoyed! The food from the grill was fresh and delicious and served with a smile. I highly recommend people try to make the hotel a stop on the way to Portland. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bk1LongIslandNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

We stayed in this hotel in August 2008 after a very long drive from Jackson Hole. As other reviewers have said when you leave the interstate to head to the hotel you think you have taken a wrong turning as the surrounding area is quite industrial and uninviting! But the hotel has a beautiful riverside location with the restaurant area providing excellent views across Columbia River.

Throughout the hotel everything is modern and clean inline with our expectations and we had a spacious double bed room. We ate in the hotel that evening and although the food was OK the service was terrible. We thought this might be a one off so had breakfast in the restaurant the next day but the service was equally bad! It's such a shame as it is a beautiful setting! Perhaps we were unlucky as the restaurant was reasonably busy both times and predominantly with locals.

  • Liked — Stunning riverside views
  • Disliked — Poor service in the restaurant
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GingerTravellingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We found this little gem using Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Great food, friendly staff, lovely location and rooms. If we lived closer this would be a regular destination for us. If you're traveling along this route you must stop in and see for yourself. Don't miss it.

  • Liked — Beautiful location hidden in an unsuspecting little town.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheHappieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

We had considered several Trip Advisor reviews when looking for a stop between Orofino, Idaho and Portland, Oregon - and decided to try this hotel. We realised that there appeared to be few other choices in the local area and were a bit concerned about what we might find, despite the appealing photos on the TA website. The last reviews had been 2007 but positive. Pendleton looked a better gamble in terms of location but we decided to take the apparent risk.
We were far from disappointed. Although the approach road to the hotel is uninviting, this is soon dispelled on arrival. The Reception staff were pleasant and the Reception area was very light, bright, comfortably fitted out and, given the outside heat, nice and cool. The river views from the hotel were stunning.
The bedroom had a lovely river view - we had asked for this when booking and was worth the little extra I think we paid - and the room facilities, including air conditioning, were fine. My wife used the fitness room and was pleased with the limited but modern equipment. We didn't use the outside pool but it was being used by people of all ages. There are pleasant walks or bike trails around the hotel but apart from the riverside it is not very appealing inland in the local area. We were surprised how good the beach was in front of the hotel and in the immediate area - ideal for those with small children who want more than just the pool.
We used the restaurant in the evening and found the food and wine to be good value - we noted several locals coming for dinner but weren't sure whether this was due to the quality of the restaurant or the lack of other places to eat in the local area. At the end of the meal we asked to sit on the patio area immediately outsdide the restaurant and we spent a couple of hours just sitting watching the river and boats passing, then the sun setting across the river - and being served regularly with coffee by the waitresses - nice touch!!
We can see that not many people stop in Boardman, and the owners of the hotel must be taking a gamble continuing in this area but we hope it continues to be successful as we were surprised how good a package we received in terms of price and quality. We recommend it for those looking for accommodation in the area.

  • Liked — Stunning location beside Columbia River
  • Disliked — Area inland from hotel - industrial scrubland
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise idaho
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Have stayed in Boardman before I must say that this is the nicest place to stay in the area. The rooms are large, check in is easy, a nice place to dine on site and a view of the Columbia river is unsurpassed. Very comfortable with computer access down the hall. I would recommend Riverfront Lodge to anyone. I was a great stay and will be back again!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kestrelway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boardman
19.5 mi away
Oxford Suites Hermiston
Oxford Suites Hermiston
#1 of 7 in Hermiston
599 reviews
18.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Hermiston
19.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hermiston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Best Western Hermiston Inn
17.9 mi away
Tillicum Inn
Tillicum Inn
#1 of 3 in Umatilla
41 reviews
19.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn - Hermiston
Oak Tree Inn - Hermiston
#4 of 7 in Hermiston
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Lodge and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Lodge and Grill

Property: River Lodge and Grill
Address: 6 Marine Dr. NE, Boardman, OR 97818 (Formerly Riverfront Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Boardman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boardman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Lodge and Grill 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As our name implies, the River Lodge and Grill has an on-site restaurant where you can enjoy incomparable cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Windows and an open lodge style dining room provide an incredible view of the flowing Columbia River and Washington State to the north. Enjoy breakfast as you watch barges and river cruise sternwheelers silently float by, or dinner and refreshments lit by a fiery sunset over the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your River Lodge and Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Lodge And Grill Hotel Boardman
River Hotel And Grill
River Hotel Boardman
River Lodge And Grill Boardman, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing