We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Lodge and Grill
Nearby Hotels
Rodeway Inn(Boardman)
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oxford Suites Hermiston(Hermiston)
$131
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Hermiston(Hermiston)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tillicum Inn(Umatilla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
95
58
16
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
58
16
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolumbia riverbeautiful river viewnice walking paththe outdoor hot tubriverside roomdesk and chairplace to stayeastern oregondouble queenindustrial areaordered room serviceprime riblonger staywe loved our stayfire pitroom was largemarina park
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 178 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Clean, well appointed rooms and public areas, right on the Columbia river. Not sure why it's in Boardman, which doesn't offer much town wise. Nice marina and park and that's about it. Thank goodness the lodge has it's own grill. Dinner was good and moderately priced. Breakfast is NOT included in the Lodge's nightly-rate. Good basic breakfast menu is offered in the Grill at average prices. They advertise a Business Center, but they do not have a computer or printer for guests to use.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room with a river view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retired-ready-to-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Spent four nights here on a business trip. What is this place doing in Boardman? Great getaway lodge feel. I don't quite understand the negative reviews of this hotel. The restaurant was open late when we arrived, and had a good number of people in it. The food was very good, and priced about the same as a full-service hotel ($12 to $17 generally). Good selection on the menu; we're not talking burgers and burritos... salmon, summer salad, ribs, steak. Very reasonable and good quality. The room is large. Probably 25% larger than your typical Holiday Inn Express (my favorite convenience chain). A desk, round table, sofa, and king bed with room to spare. Bed was very conformable. Toiletries were upper class int he restroom. room looks brand new. Clean, painted; bathroom looks like is have recently been remodeled. Nice sink, shower, etc. Our River View room looks out over the Columbia River. There is a pepper sand beach behind the hotel and a long walking/running trail that gives great views of the river. The front of the hotel looks like an Oregon mountain lodge. Very good appeal. Large fireplace in the lobby and sofas/chairs for lounging. Wifi was very good. Cell phone reception on AT%T and Verizon were both spotty. 3G service is available on both networks in my room, but AT&T was painfully slow.

Breakfast buffet was a little light on good stuff for $8.95; but again, no different than most Marriott-level hotels. You won't get the free Holiday Inn Express breakfast. I agree with one reviewer that parts of the the restaurant's service was painfully slow. But we enjoyed our seat at a window overlooking the river.

Room Tip: Go for the river view room! Save some time for a walk on the trail or watching the sun set over the river/reservoir.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The lodge is billed as upscale. The room was very nice and well appointed. Good view of the Columbia River. The restaurant was a major disappointment, however. And there are not many other options in the immediate area. The breakfast menu provided a continental breakfast for $8.95. Guests received a $2.00 coupon, if they thought to ask for it. We had not but went to the front desk and got them. Thus the continental breakfast was $6.95. Most motels provide a breakfast at least as good as this as part of the room cost. Not here. The selection of pasties was limited to a few pieces of stale bread, a sad looking english muffin, and several bagels that looked like they had seen better days. There was a waffle maker, so we each had a waffle. My wife had a yogurt which didn't taste very good and she looked at the container and it had expired nine days before. The coffee was okay. In short, this was the worst continental breakfast we have ever had. Basically a waffle and a cup of coffee for $6.95. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The resturant has VERY slow service. The food is over priced for the quality. The view is great and you get plenty of time to enjoy it as you wait on your food! The staff is slow to take drink orders and bring drinks. The menu is limited. Drink refills or extra bread would have been nice but didn't happen.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRdesonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Exhausted from a l-o-o-o-n-g drive, my husband and I pulled into Boardman, and worked our way to the River Lodge and Grill, grateful just to get out of the car. Boy, were we surprised when we saw a clean, attractive lodge, and even more so when the friendly front-desk clerk assured us that yes, they did have a vacancy at a very reasonable price.
Our room was spacious, spotlessly cleaned, and the mattress luxurious; the pool, spa, and workout room handy and clean; the dining room was well tended with a limited-but-adequate menu, and the view of the Columbia River and vineyards across was fabulous.
We were very happy to return in a few days to repeat the process!

Room Tip: Just ask for it.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora Lacie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews