We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent RV camping” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Farm Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Farm Resort
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent RV camping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed up and down the river for 25 years and since we bought a new travel trailer we decided to stay here for the hook-ups. Great decision. The grounds & sites are well maintained. The laundry and bathrooms were spotless. The manager was pleasant and the location was excellent. PS: The restaurant here burned down a few years ago. There is a good one 1/4 mile away though.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was way beyond what we had hoped for. Our cabin "water wheel" had beautiful views, great amenities, bed and pillows great. We didn't want to go out so we got our dinner both nights from the Takodas restaurant and ate while watching the river. If you bring food to prepare you could cook in. There was nothing that could make this experience any better.

A do not miss

Room Tip: All cabins are great just choose one that accommodates the number in your party
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank PennyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Holiday Farm Resort cottages and once again we were not disappointed. This time we stayed in the River House cottage which had all the comforts of home including rocking chairs in front of the wood burning fireplace. The covered deck overlooking the McKenzie River even had a heater for those crisp early mornings/evenings. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We booked 3 nights at Herbs retreat and what a nightmare but never fear Robin the manager pulled through for us. Herbs retreat has the potential to be awesome but the owners never moved it out of 1970s. We were welcomed by an open door next to the main house. The door was open to this guest house that actually serves as a cat house. The owner had a 50 pound bag of cat food tore open so the cats can come and eat as they please as well as the rats,raccoons,or any other varmint. The. Inside of Herbs nightmare smelled like cat and dog urine. The place was filthy and the carpet throughout the place was stained and putrid. The toilet seat was stained and filthy as well as the kitchen. If the house was revamped with wood floors and updated it would be a dream place. We did walk down to the chairs by the river only to look down and see cigarette butts everywhere.oh and then to top it off video cameras are set up in the house to watch what's going on?..How Creepy!
After seeing my kids scared to stay here I called Robin who was prompt and apologetic and with in minutes had found another place for us. We then stayed at the Main house which was perfect and made for a great trip.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank satverous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

My husband and I rented Herb's Retreat for 3 days. Upon arrivial we were told after we checked in and paid in advance for the 3 nights that we were planning to stay that we had to drive back down the road 17 miles. When we got there we were not quite sure that we were at the right place as it looked like someone lived in the home. Unloaded the car and went out on the deck. The view was spectacular from the deck. The windows from the living room were dirty and moldy. The windows in the kitchen were also moldy and dirty. The knobs for the burners on the stove were so greasy that my fingers slipped off of them while trying to turn them on. The advertisement stated that there was Satelitte TV, grill and wifi. The home had none of them amentities. The grill was in pieces and both the Satelitte TV and wifi were non existant. The home also is advertised as being pet free. But the sickening sweet smell of dogs was permeated throughout the house. The commode in the master bathroom had either a moldy or urine smell. The counter tops in all of the bathrooms had not been cleaned in along time. In addition the owner lives in a small apartment right next door with two very large, loud barking dogs. We have barking dogs in the city and did not want to listen to barking dogs on our vacation. The topper though was the mouse droppings in the silverware drawer! The smoke alarm was in pieces on the kitchen counter top. Owner did bring us a new Habachi which we had to put together and his wifi from his own home which we could not get to work at all. Since it was late we had to stay there, went to the office the next day to get our money back and was told that she could not do a credit on our VISA and that they would have to mail us a check! The place has so much potential but it has been ran into the ground.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank parkdwellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

My husband and I ate at the restaurant for our anniversary when we were in town. The restaurant had great food and a beautful outdoor seating area. The staff were very attentive and very nice. We shared an appetizer, each had one alcoholic drink, 2 entrees and one dessert = $65. I thought the pricing was fair for what we got. I would definitely come here again. Supposedly they have music on the weekends, but there wasn't any the night we were there for some reason...which was ok by me.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Just returned from 2 nights in the Water Wheel Cottage at Holiday Farm Resort. It was one of the most relaxing places we've ever stayed. The cottage had all the comforts of home and a deck overlooking the McKenzie River. We were blessed with perfect weather and spent most of our time relaxing on the deck watching and listening to the river. Already trying to plan a trip back!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melsteens3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue River
5.5 mi away
McKenzie River Mountain Resort
11.0 mi away
McKenzie River Inn B&B and Cabins
11.0 mi away
Eagle Rock Lodge
Eagle Rock Lodge
#1 of 3 in Vida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Wayfarer Resort
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Farm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Farm Resort

Property: Holiday Farm Resort
Address: 54791 McKenzie Hwy, Blue River, OR 97413-9707
Location: United States > Oregon > Blue River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Blue River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have cabins and houses for 2 up to 12. Each is charming with its own unique name and personality. All are located on or near the banks of the McKenzie River. Most have fireplaces, decks on the river and many are pet friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing