We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
west coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good time.”
Reviewed April 7, 2009

it wasnt quite what i expected when we got there. it was just off the highway and from our room you could see the sears in the mall across the highway. so it wasnt as resortish as i had hoped in that respect. but the river was right outside our room, and it cut out any noise from freeway cars, except for the occasional police car. The room was nice. very hotelish, instead of luxury type that i had hoped. but it was clean, our hot tub was nice and worked well. they provided enough fire logs for us so that we could light it as much as we wanted. and the hot breakfast was fantastic. we were very late to it the time that we went and there was still a ton of food. and it was very good and a good selection. it was a full breakfast, not just a continental. the resteraunt there was pretty good too. a bit on the overpriced side. but the food and service was good. things i wished were better would be having the mall and the city right there, the wall paper and curtains and some other things have an outdated hotel feel, but that really is it. oh and the staff is awsome. we called the reservation line to see if they had any deals that werent on there website and we got a better deal. which was what put this place above the other that we were considering.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoast_mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_riverhousehotel, General Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, April 23, 2009
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your thoughtful comments regarding the Riverhouse Resort and Convention Center. We appreciate the effort to tell us that you were pleased with our service and accommodations.

Positive comments such as yours are especially appreciated when they allow us to give credit to our dedicated staff. I have shared your feedback with our staff and they were very pleased with your review. We are very proud of our entire Riverhouse team.

Again, thank you, and we look forward to serving you in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Rocky Adrianson
Hotel Manager
Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    258
    111
    71
    43
See reviews for
225
335
27
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2009

I LOVED THE RIVERHOUSE! We stayed there several times a year.The last three times I stayed there I had requested a certain room, assured we would be booked there we went expecting it to be perfect. Now...management matters! They had a manager named Michael and he moved heaven and earth to get us into the right room(the first time) and a comp room the second time. The third time he was not there anymore and the day before we left I called specifically to make sure of our room request. "Oh yes, absolutely, you are going to be in room blah blah". Guess what? After a nine hour drive...we had been given another room because of "maintenance". Under normal circumstances I would understand that BUT THEY KNEW WE WERE COMING AND THAT THAT ROOM WOULD BE OCCUPIED.....do the freaking maint before we get there!!! I vowed I would never go back and I haven't. I would love to because it is peaceful and lovely but customer service needs to come first and that left when Michael left. Sorry, but I have even discouraged friends from staying there.

  • Liked — rooms/ views/ management when michael was there
  • Disliked — nobody cared that we had been disappointed yet a third time with our room.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

I can't believe some of these negative reviews. My wife and I had a very pleasant stay. The room was well-appointed and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very nice. We really enjoyed having the sound of the river just outside our door, and the two pools and spas. Dinner was good; we enjoyed eating on the patio, and the chef came by to see if our meal was all right. We enjoyed our complimentary drinks on the patio later that night (the credit actually would not have covered the entire cost, but we were given the drinks free because we had to wait a bit), and the continental breakfast the next morning was great. The lobby was under construction, but the only real negative we saw was the rather dim lighting in the room, the halls, and the dining room. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Liked — location on river
  • Disliked — dim lighting
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KYProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_riverhousehotel, Hotel Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, December 17, 2008
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Riverhouse Resort. I was especially pleased to read of the superb service you received from our staff and was equally pleased to know you found your accommodations comfortable.

It pleases me to know that when you were making your decision of where to stay in Bend, Oregon, you took all the comments posted here into consideration and in the end decided to judge for yourself, Thank you.

Once again your comments are always welcomed, thank you for taking the time to share them with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Riverhouse Resort and Convention Center in the near future

Sincerely,

Rocky Adrianson
Hotel Manager
Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, OR
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

This hotel is located on busy Hwy 97 but most of the rooms are down a small hill and face away from the highway overlooking the river. Thus they are quite quit. Our room was good size, the bed comfortable and was very clean. We had a balcony which looked out on to the river. At night we left the slider open and listened to river sounds. The free breakfast the next morning was quite adequate and everything seemed fresh and staff were friendly and helpful. Would we stay again? Probably, really can't think of a reason not to.

  • Liked — The peace and quiet of overlooking the river.
  • Disliked — No free USA Today at the door or in the breakfast room in the morning.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ortravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_riverhousehotel, Hotel Management at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, September 29, 2008
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your thoughtful comments regarding the Riverhouse Resort and Convention Center. We appreciate the effort to tell us that you were pleased with our service and accommodations.

Positive comments such as yours are especially appreciated when they allow us to give credit to our dedicated staff. I have shared your feedback with our staff and they were very pleased with your review. We are very proud of our entire Riverhouse team.

Again, thank you, and we look forward to serving you in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Rocky Adrianson
Hotel Manager
Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

I came to this property not expecting much based on some of the reviews on this site. I was just hoping it was passable for 3 nights. I chose the property mainly because it seemed like the best value in the Bend area. Many hotels in this area seem to be on the higher end of the rate scale.

We checked in with Kayla around 4:30 p.m. She was extemely pleasant and accomodating. She even provided us with a great map of the area. We received a first floor room, which I would highly recommend. There are no elevators on the property. Our room was a "drive up to the door setup," so it was convenient for hauling in luggage and other belongings. When we entered the room, we were so pleasantly surprised. The room as HUGE! It had 2 queen beds, a large balcony, and very large bathroom. A micro/fridge was included. There were 2 sinks, both good size; one was inside the bathroom, and the other was outside the room, so getting ready in the mornings was convenient. You could tell the room had been renovated recently. Everything was nicely appointed, including granite countertops in the bathroom. The entire property is undergoing renovations, as we found the hotel lobby a "construction" zone. It will be really nice when it's finished.

Some have commented about the rooms being dark. Granted, you might have to put most of the lights on, but we felt our room had more than enough light.

The hotel is a resort and offers an indoor and outdoor pool, restaurant and lounge and nice views of the Deschutes River.

Continental breakfast is served in the lounge for hotel guests, and it was very impressive. It included delicious fresh fruit, huge pastries, cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, bagels, muffins, etc. It was one of the nicest breakfasts we had on our trip. The view of the river was nice while eating also.

Upon check-in, we received a coupon for a free welcome drink in the lounge, and also $2 off any breakfast in the restaurant in case we didn't want to do just the conintental breakfast. The continental was more then enough for us.

The beds were pretty comfortable, and the rooms had plenty of pillows.

We really had a great stay here. I would tell everyone to not be discouraged by some of the bad reviews. We really enjoyed this hotel!

  • Liked — Large Rooms; Continental Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank slrtravelplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_riverhousehotel, Hotel Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, September 5, 2008
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I was especially pleased to read of the superb service you received from our staff. Yes, our hotel is currently undergoing renovations and we understand it can be a bit cumbersome, however I am happy to hear it did not hinder your overall view of the property and it’s staff..

I have taken the liberty of sharing your kind comments with our staff, and they were thrilled by your recognition. We take great pride in our service, and it is through comments, such as yours, that we are encouraged to continue in our efforts. We are very proud to have team members who enjoy their job and take pride in helping others.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your comments. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Riverhouse Resort and Convention Center in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rocky Adrianson
Hotel Manager
Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

The Riverhouse has a bit of a tired look when you drive into it - but this is definitely misleading. Inside, the rooms are in great shape and the proximity of the Siskyou River is a real plus.

I would recommend getting, as we did, a room that fronts onto the river - ideally on the upper floor. We spent a fair amount of time just on the balcony, reading and looking at the river.

The staff was very friendly and helpful - especially in the dining room. Breakfast is included and it's pretty good - though not great. The breakfast room is rather dark and I'd recommend eating outside if weather permits. The restaurant is pretty good, but there are better choices in downtown Bend.

The facilities are excellent - a nice pool and a challenging golf course.

  • Liked — Room location and layout
  • Disliked — Dark breakfast room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_riverhousehotel, Hotel Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, September 5, 2008
Thank you for your thoughtful comments regarding the Riverhouse Resort and Convention Center. We appreciate the effort to tell us that you were pleased with our service and accommodations.

Positive comments such as yours are especially appreciated when they allow us to give credit to our dedicated staff. We are very proud of our entire Riverhouse team.

Again, thank you, and we look forward to serving you in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Rocky Adrianson
Hotel Manager
Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silicon valley ca
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Yikes this was bad. so bad that we were only checked in 15 minutes before we left and went somewhere else. The problems with our executive suite: Pull down bed... okay a hole in the wall place has a hole in the wall bed. Complete with springs poking thru. Bathroom light with a bad ground short.. little shock therapy... Worse, when we tried to reach the manager... sorry she is busy... and in the background we can hear laughter over the TV program they are watching... They still haven't refunded our money. It was such a bad experience that we cut our trip short and came home.... Oh by the way in a non smoking place you shouldn't smell the stale smell of cigarettes, nor the fresh smell of your neighbors... And I am being kind in this review.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank ric_kb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_riverhousehotel, General Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, August 25, 2008
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Riverhouse Hotel. We value feedback from our guests, as it is vital to our effort to provide the very best in guest services and accommodations.

The issues you mention are certainly of concern to us, and we appreciate you bringing them to our attention. We have a high approval rating from the majority of our guests, so when we hear of a stay such as yours we are surprised and very concerned.

Our Rustic Hotel features over 22 different guestroom types. Indeed, we do have Executive Suites that feature a queen-sized Murphy bed. Past guests have enjoyed being able to store the bed and have additional space. These top-of-the-line beds feature both a mattress and box springs, so other than being retractable, they are the same as a traditional guest bed.

Guests checking into our hotel are asked to secure their guestroom with a form of payment. However, we do not charge a guest’s credit card in advance for their stay, so we do not understand how you could have been charged prior to your departure. Your credit card is assigned a “holding” amount only, not charged. Could you have been using a Debit Card? In which case a hold would have been applied on the card that would only have been drawn against as per charges agreed by you and our Front Desk.

You commented that when you phoned to speak with the Manager, there was laughter in the background from a television that employees were watching. I can assure you that we do not have televisions in any of our offices areas, so we find this perplexing.

Lastly, there was mention of the smell of smoke in your guestroom. Although we do have a few guestrooms that are designated as smoking rooms, none of these guestrooms are near our Executive Suites.

I truly hope you get a chance to experience our property in the future, and if this visit were truly at the Riverhouse in Bend Oregon, we would welcome an opportunity to make a future experience an enjoyable one. There are other resorts with similar names, even one here in Bend.

Very truly,


Rocky Adrianson
Hotel Manager
Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
4.8 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#4 of 44 in Bend
551 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#15 of 44 in Bend
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,169 reviews
2.5 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
1.1 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse on the Deschutes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse on the Deschutes

Property: Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Address: 3075 N. Business 97, Bend, OR 97703-7511 (Formerly The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverhouse on the Deschutes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Deschutes River runs through the property and has recently completed $10 million dollar renovation in 2016. Our spacious guest rooms and suites have river or property views. A great location with just minutes from downtown Bend. Relax in our indoor and outdoor pools and hot tub or stroll along our scenic river trail. You can even fish for trout right outside your room. At night, cozy up in your spacious accommodation and order room service. Indulge at Currents, our restaurant featuring unique Pacific Northwest cuisine and outdoor patio overlooking the Deschutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverhouse on the Deschutes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Resort Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing