We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverhouse on the Deschutes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Bastrop, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here on our way through town. It was very easy to find and the front desk people were helpful. Our room was clean with a very large bathroom....the room was a bit outdated, however it was clean. The best part of this hotel is the breakfast....they had a huge selection of hot/cold food items. I would stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bastrop_TexasMairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Many thanks for being our guest and for the kindness of your review. We certainly love to showcase our hospitality with newcomers, and we're so glad that you and your daughter enjoyed the comfort of our offerings. We'd love the chance to showcase our continued evolution with you, and we encourage you to reach out to the team the next time travels return you this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    215
    87
    57
    34
See reviews for
163
247
17
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The bed was very comfortable! Our room looked out to the river. It was nice leaving the sliding door open during the night to hear the river rushing by. We didn't take advantage of the amenities (including breakfast). I would stay here again without a doubt. We travel frequently with our dog, so it is always great finding a place that will take her too.

Room Tip: I would pick a room on the first floor looking out to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trizzabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We love our guests and their four-legged family members, and we're so glad to have made this a memorable experience for all of you. As you've noted, our river views lend an incomparable tranquility to a visit, and we hope to be able to share this and so much more with you in your travels to come. Please be sure to reach out again the next time you're in Bend; we'd love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice, comfortable room. Wonderful breakast buffet. Staff was great. Two swimming pools that were well taken care of. We had a balcony room which overlooked the river . It was an overall wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We certainly love creating memorable experiences for our guests, and we're so glad to have accomplished this for you. Please be sure to reach out to our team if there's anything we can do to make your return visits even more enjoyable; it would be a pleasure to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very clean. Friendly service. Reasonably priced (stayed in the family kitchen suite). Pleasant location along Deschutes River. Dog friendly - a plus! Quiet. A bit dated but everything was in working condition.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Many thanks for being our guest and for sharing this feedback with us, Maria; we're so happy to hear that the experience was an overall enjoyable one for you. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back the next time you're in Bend, and we hope that you'll reach out for a return visit to rival this first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Decent hotel, just be sure to pick a hotel that does not face the parking lot!
We did not want to pay for the Riverview so we opted for a regular room. We got a first floor room with no privacy. Cars parked 2 feet from your room. Exhaust fumes came in if cars backed up. So we were very disappointed. Just be careful which room you get. We were in the 100's . Not good.

Room Tip: Do not pick a room that faces parking lot. See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryw2013220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks for the business and feedback. Certainly, the river is an invaluable attraction; we often hear that is the best place to have a room, and we understand how the parking lot is less desirable. We cater to many clients, and many of our guests truly enjoy having there "toys": motorcycles, restored cars, etc., right outside their rooms, and these guests prefer our non-view rooms. Our goal and hope is that all customers find the room type that exceeds their expectations, and we're sorry to have missed the mark during your recent stay. Again, we thank you for your business, and I encourage you to contact me directly so I can upgrade you at no charge during your next visit.

Kindly,
Rocky Adrianson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was our second year staying at the River House and the wonderful service and warmth of the staff hadn't changed. Our room was as we remembered - spacious, clean, comfortable and a very special place to retreat from the stress of work. We always stay in one of the rooms facing the river and it is heavenly to leave the sliding door open all night and sleep to the sounds of a rushing river. As we come to Bend mainly to canoe and hike, the location is perfect and the rustic elegance of the hotel provides us with a great place to come back to.

The restaurant was excellent and the wait staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Kudos also to the chef.

We are definitely returning next year.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Deschutes River if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We're so glad to have a loyal fan in you, Sandy, and we're humbled by the kindness of your words. We certainly take great pride in the natural beauty of our setting, and we work hard to mirror this in our services. Thank you for taking note of this and for sharing this experience with us; we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Although the downtown area of Bend wasn't what we expected, this hotel was wonderful. I could only give this opinion if you upgrade to a river view room. The view of the parking lot would lack the ambiance. Our room was beautiful, bed and pillows very comfortable and the access to the view of the river out the back sliding door, was amazing! The restaurant is great. Truly an enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: Spend the money for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
It's such a pleasure to have shared this experience with you, Sharon, and to hear that you enjoyed it so thoroughly. We pride ourselves on offering our guests an incomparable experience, and we're so glad to have accomplished this for you. Please be sure to reach out again the next time you're in Bend, and let our team know if there's anything we can do to make your return visits more enjoyable; anything we can offer would be a complete pleasure! All our best until then, and thanks again for your visit and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
4.9 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
1.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse on the Deschutes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse on the Deschutes

Property: Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Address: 3075 North Business 97, Bend, OR 97703 (Formerly The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center)
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverhouse on the Deschutes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Deschutes River runs through the property and has recently completed $10 million dollar renovation in 2016. Come rediscover the new Riverhouse! Our spacious guest and suites have river or property views. A great location with just minutes from downtown Bend. Relax in our indoor and outdoor pools and hot tub or stroll along our scenic river trail. You can even fish for trout right outside your room. At night, cozy up in your spacious accommodation and order room service. Indulge in one of the most memorable meals you'll ever have at Currents, our new restaurant featuring unique Pacific Northwest cuisine and outdoor patio overlooking the Deschutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Riverhouse on the Deschutes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Resort Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing