We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Surprisingly great! Wonderful front desk help!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverhouse on the Deschutes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Bend
USA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great! Wonderful front desk help!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is not a luxury place, but surprisingly lovely. It is on the Deschutes river, with some nice views. We had a room that we didn't like, and the woman who helped us at the front desk was super nice and moved us to a very nice room with a hot tub inside the bedroom, which was cool. Also, the balcony overlooked the river, which was super. The breakfast and other meals we had in the restaurant were great. The weather cooperated, and we sat outside, again, overlooking the nice sound and sight of the river. We would definitely stay there again. Ask for a room overlooking a quiet part of the river with a balcony, and with a hot tub inside your bedroom. If the fireplace is important to you, make sure it works. Ours didn't.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking a quiet part of the river with a balcony, and with a hot tub inside your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cachirulatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Many thanks for being a guest of our Riverhouse property and for taking the opportunity to lend such kind feedback of your visit. While we're sorry to hear that your first room fell short of the mark, we're happy that the team was able to relocate you to a more suitable space. As noted in your review, our water view rooms are a truly wonderful way to immerse yourself in the beauty of our surroundings, and there's no better way to wind down a relaxing day than in one of our in-room hot tubs. It's a true pleasure to have had you as our guest, and we look forward to hosting you again soon. In the meantime, we'll certainly explore any glitches with the fireplace to ensure all our amenities operate with flawless ease. Many thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    238
    94
    64
    37
See reviews for
194
297
19
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seal Rock, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I love staying at the Riverhouse whenever I come to Bend for business or for pleasure. Everyone is always so nice and accommodating. The rooms are clean and spacious and the bedding is very comfortable. The buffet breakfast is consistently delicious.

Room Tip: They are pet friendly and don't charge and there are great places to walk your dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hoagan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Whether you're traveling for work or leisure, we pride ourselves on creating an exceptional guest experience, and we're so happy to hear that yours have been reliable and welcoming. We're continuing evolving to meet the needs and ideals of our guests, and we hope that you'll reach out in the future to experience more of our continued growth. Thanks again for being our guest and for sharing your voice; we look forward to seeing more of you in your travels to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My river view room was lovely and the service at the hotel was great. The staff was very helpful and the bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean. Having a fridge and microwave is nice. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
It's a pleasure to have hosted your visit, Lyn, and we thank your for taking the time to share your Riverhouse experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that all aspects of your stay exceeded the mark, and we look forward to your return and to the opportunity of sharing much more of our site and hospitality with you. Many thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for a work related event but I did take my husband and we LOVED the room, the king room was spacious and the bed was so cozy!! The room sat right on the river!! The room was clean, the amenities were delightful and the staff was excellent! We can't wait to return and bring the kids!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AddieCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
It's our extreme pleasure to be able to share the comforts of The Riverhouse with you, and we're so happy to hear that your stay was a relaxing and enjoyable one. The natural environment of our property lends an added element that's nearly impossible to come by, and we're happy that it and our services lent to your exceptional stay. We'd love to host you again, and we look forward to the return of your and your family. Many thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

From the moment you arrive until the time you depart you're surrounded by a beautiful and calm scenery. I had the river view from my back deck and it was unbelievable. The staff is knowledgeable, helpful and goes above and beyond. The room was comfortable and very clean. I highly recommend staying here and I know I'll be back!

Thank you for a wonderful stay Riverhouse Hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travler_503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We're so happy to have provided you with an all-around exceptional visit to our property. It's a pleasure to be able to share the serenity of our environment and the attentive hospitality of our team with you, and we're happy to hear that these came together for an inviting and comfortable stay. We look forward to your return and to sharing even more of our services with you, and we hope that you'll reach out again in the near future. Thanks again for your visit and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a riverview room with fireplace which costs a little more but from reading some other reviews was definitely worth it. Nice private balcony to relax and watch or listen to the river. We left the sliding door open at night and fell asleep to the sound of the river. The room had a couch and large TV, microwave and frig. There were sinks and vanities both in the bathroom and outside. Always a plus for us. The bed was very large and very comfortable. The room was tastefuly decorated and spacious. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. They changed some of the dishes each morning so it wasn't the same breakfast every day. It was not all cereals and pastries but a full hot breakfast with great variety. We received coupons for the bar upon check-in so enjoyed a glass of wine alongside the river after a day of driving. There is a shopping area across the street and other restaurants within walking distance. We were only there three days but would have liked to stay longer. We'll be back next time we are up that way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bogeysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Riverhouse Hotel and for taking the time to share such exceptional feedback with us. We're so happy to have shared the natural beauty of our property with you, and we're delighted that our services exceeded the mark. We aim to provide a relaxing escape for each of our guests, made better by an incomparable breakfast to start you on your way, and we're happy to have accomplished this during your visit. Thanks again for your time and review; we hope to see more of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

A good and clean motel five minuets from downtown Bend. Some shopping nearby. The restaurant is very good located just by the riverside. I think they have the best complimentary breakfast we've ever had in the US (being from Sweden and used to sturdy breakfasts). Nice pool. Calm neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We're thrilled to have been able to host your stay in Bend, and we're glad to have won you over with our site and services. We're hugely proud of our offerings and the beauty of our environment, and it's a pleasure to have shared these with you. We'll certainly pass your praises along to our restaurant team, and we hope that you'll think of us if you return to the area. Many thanks for your stay and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
4.9 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Bend
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
2.6 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse on the Deschutes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse on the Deschutes

Property: Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Address: 3075 North Business 97, Bend, OR 97703-7511 (Formerly The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverhouse on the Deschutes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Deschutes River runs through the property and has recently completed $10 million dollar renovation in 2016. Come rediscover the new Riverhouse! Our spacious guest and suites have river or property views. A great location with just minutes from downtown Bend. Relax in our indoor and outdoor pools and hot tub or stroll along our scenic river trail. You can even fish for trout right outside your room. At night, cozy up in your spacious accommodation and order room service. Indulge in one of the most memorable meals you'll ever have at Currents, our new restaurant featuring unique Pacific Northwest cuisine and outdoor patio overlooking the Deschutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Riverhouse on the Deschutes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Resort Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing