We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Providence, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Must say that in general Bend was pricey. Too much traffic and poor parking. This hotel was no exception. Large property that was well maintained but dated. Quiet, clean room. Stairs to multi floors. Would probably have felt better if we weren't paying premium prices.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProvidenceGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to hare your Riverhouse experience with us. While we're sorry to hear that the prices of our region and resort were a bit beyond your expectation, we do hope that you enjoyed the attentive services of our dedicated team. With continual upgrades and updates across our facility, we also hope that you'll consider reaching out the next time you return to the area. We'd love to share our evolution with you, and we think you'll enjoy our changing face. Many thanks again for your time and review; we'd love to see more of you down the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    245
    100
    65
    41
See reviews for
205
311
22
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was a beautiful room with a spa, fireplace and view . Slept extremely well, was very quiet and serene. In the morning I opened the sliding glass door to hear the river running outside my room. Could not have been a better atmosphere and great getaway..a must stay if you are coming to Bend.

Room Tip: As for a King room with a Fireplace and spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Many thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to espouse the beauty of our facility and natural environment. We're truly grateful to inhabit such a beautiful setting, and it's our pleasure to share its serenity with you. We'd love to host you again, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan future travels to our region. Many thanks again for your time and review; we hope to see more of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

this is a rather large motel but very nicely maintained. The rooms are very large in nicely appointed. We had a very nice day here. Staff was friendly. rooms include a very very good hot breakfast buffet. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenbrae150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of The Riverhouse and for taking the time to share such kind praises with us. We're happy to hear that you've enjoyed our location, as well as the friendly hospitality of our dedicated team, and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Please be sure to reach out the next time you return to the region. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Property was fine, but attitude of night desk clerk and Manager when informed left me with a bad taste. Guest do not expect or deserve this treatment. Find another hotel. Nice view if you get on second floor looking over river. Breakfast was free, but after first day I went to McDonalds.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick2629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We're happy to hear that our property met your expectation, and we appreciate your comments on our staff. We pride ourselves on customer service, and we apologies for the experience you encountered; it is certainly not our standard. We do offer fruit, cereals, eggs, and rotating meats for our guests' enjoyment, as your mentioned, free of charge. Our goal is to be a consistently good value for our customers. Again, thanks for your patronage and business, and I hope we get an opportunity to re-establish our value proposition with you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The rooms are nice, the property needs some updating but they seem to be maintaining what they have well, good pools, fantastic convention center, helpful staff, cool experience if you have the river side, and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your Riverhouse experience with us, Russ. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the offerings and hospitality of our one of a kind property. With updates occurring across the facility, we think you'll love our changing face, and we hope that you'll reach out in the near future to experience more of our continued evolution. Many thanks again for your stay and review; we hope to see more of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I loved this hotel in terms of location/price and accommodations.

Location-wise the Riverhouse Hotel is located near the heart of Bend, OR on the Deschutes River. You could take a long walk or a short drive and be in the center of town. There is a shopping center as well as many restaurants nearby and on the hotel campus. I loved that the hotel is situated just a short walk from gorgeous Sawyer Park. Sawyer parks crosses the Deschutes and has a beautiful walking/jogging/mountain biking trail.

The Riverhouse Hotel seems quite modestly priced for what you get. I believed we paid $137 for a summer weekend evening. I think that is a value for a pretty, spacious room with pets welcome. We had a view of the river and balcony seating. We enjoyed a room with two queen beds, comfy furnishings, great tv and free wifi and parking. The room was really pleasant and nicely appointed. The bathroom was spacious with double sink located in and out of the shower area. The room had decent coffee and a mini fridge. I adored our stay! The hotel featured two big swimming pools indoor and out, a spa and a gorgeous buffet breakfast, complimentary.

All the staff was friendly and helpful. And, we were able to book our stay just before we arrived. It was great. We are definitely planning on coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view. It would be a travesty to stay here without one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of The Riverhouse and for taking the time to share such exceptional words of praise with us. We're so happy to hear that your experience was a memorable one, and I will most certainly pass your praises along to the team. With continual upgrades across our facility, we hope that you'll return again to experience more of our growth and evolution. Thanks again for your stay and review; we'd love to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We returned to the Riverhouse Hotel for a wonderful 4th of July weekend. My 14 year old daughter and 11 year old son really enjoy this property. They love the indoor pool! And I love the outdoor one! The water is crisp and refreshing and non chlorine. There is a poolside cafe and the service was great! Bonnie and Gina were very busy on the fourth but managed to accommodate everyone. One of the reasons I like to stay in the Riverhouse is because of the poolside service.

We had a newly appointed room whic was very nice, right on the river. Very clean and the housekeeping service is excellent. The only thing missing was a screen door so I could leave my door open to hear the river.

We had a fabulous dinner at the restaurant Crossings. The patio is my favorite spot in Bend! The patio is right over the Deschutes River!!! This time of year the water is running low, but it's still awesome. Our server was John and he was excellent. Definitely someone to keep. Bogdan another server was also very friendly. He is also an excellent server. I would recommend you ask to be sat in their service areas. The food was delish and I recommend the prawn cocktail and risotto. The prime rib sandwich is excellent. It was a wonderful dining experience.

Another reason I enjoy this property is the full breakfast buffet that is included with our room rate. The quality of the food is always excellent. We did however miss the salsa and cheese for the scrambled eggs they have had before. We loved having breakfast out on the patio and watching the chipmunks scamper amongst the rocks along the river.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Many thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share such kind words with us, Wendy. We're immensely proud of our special property, and we're happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed our many amenities and services. I will certainly pass your praises along to our team, and we hope that you'll reach out to us again soon to experience more of The Riverhouse. Thanks again for your stay and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
4.8 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Bend
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse on the Deschutes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse on the Deschutes

Property: Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Address: 3075 N. Business 97, Bend, OR 97703-7511 (Formerly The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverhouse on the Deschutes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Deschutes River runs through the property and has recently completed $10 million dollar renovation in 2016. Our spacious guest rooms and suites have river or property views. A great location with just minutes from downtown Bend. Relax in our indoor and outdoor pools and hot tub or stroll along our scenic river trail. You can even fish for trout right outside your room. At night, cozy up in your spacious accommodation and order room service. Indulge at Currents, our restaurant featuring unique Pacific Northwest cuisine and outdoor patio overlooking the Deschutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverhouse on the Deschutes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Resort Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing