We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Nearby Hotels
Cascade Lodge(Bend)(Great Value!)
$79
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend(Bend)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend(Bend)(Great Value!)
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bend Downtown(Bend)(Great Value!)
$139
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$179
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wall Street Suites(Bend)
$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oxford Hotel(Bend)
$199
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (970)
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveler rating
447
277
122
75
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
447
277
122
75
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centerthe rivera river view roomsliding doorindoor poolbreakfast buffettwo sinksnice roompotatoesnice place to staybed was comfortableshort drivecentral oregondowntown bendgolf courseroad tripcurrents
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
798 - 803 of 970 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Went their for a convention for 2012. The room was small and dark even though it was nice and sunny outside. Was to get a room with a queen bed and a murphy bed originally but had none when I had to add a day. Price was the same for a single queen as for a queen and a murphy. Convention center was across a very busy street, if you took the under the street way you had to go down a hill up the stairs down a hill up a hill then under the street and back up a hill. Not good if you have a bad back. The breakfast that was included was great plenty of hot food, but nobody to check to see if you were a guest of the hotel and had a breakfast included in your room cost. I had paid the extra $10 to have the breakfast included but I could of just as of not had and ate anyway nobody would have known. Stayed there for four night and one of the days the room did not get maid up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us. We apologize if we did not live up to your expectations. We can assure you that the service you received is not typical of the Riverhouse. We hope that you'll give us another chance, and we look forward to your return. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've stayed here several times (all for work) in the past 2 years. The setting on the river is very peaceful and the water "noise" from the river helps you forget that you are in town! The price includes a full hot breakfast. Some rooms have exterior doors and some have interior doors, but there is enough space from the door to the bed that you don't hear vehicles leaving (and car doors) early in the morning. The rooms tend to be very large. the price also includes a complementary drink in the bar. There are many restaurants within walking distance in a variety of price ranges - every things from Shari's (24 hour) and Izzys (pizza and grill buffet) to McGrath's Fish House, A sports grill (open only for Breakfast and lunch), Applebees, IHOP, and probably more. I am 5'5" and in some rooms the beds are so tall that I have difficulty getting in them (!). I also have a cpap machine, and in some rooms I cannot sleep in the regular bed and have to sleep in the murphy bed to have access to an electrical outlet for my cpap machine.
The check-in process has been interminably slow several times that I have been there - long waits without enough staff to fully staff the front desk during busy checkin times.
The restaurant has excellent food (check out the half-price appetizers in the bar each day!), and so does room service. I highly recommend the ghirardelli chocolate-mint cake!

Room Tip: I recommend a room on the opposite side of the river from the front office.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and the ambiance at our hotel. We apologize if the check-in process was slow, and we are looking into that issue. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a dip in the pool or even some golf! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just stayed one night on September 21 on our way home to Lumby, BC. We had a beautiful room with a balcony that overlooked the pool areas. Awesome breakfast and excellent coffee. We never checked the restaurant out as we had already had something eat earlier. The cards would not work for the door lock but was taken care of quickly by the staff to reprogram them. We certainly would stay there again without hesitiation perhaps arriving a bit earlier to check out the restaurant and pool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for a fantastic review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Riverhouse. We look forward to your return, and would love to see you in our Crossings restaurant. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is becoming an annual trip for us. With 2 swimming pools, it is easy to entertain the grandchildren, easy access to the river trail makes it a great place to go for a walk or run. I We have found the staff to be helpful, friendly, and the included breakfast is one of the better I have had. Most of the time we have a pet with us and my experience seems to be that the pet rooms are not as nicely maintained as the non-pet rooms. This was the first time we had a kitchen unit and when we checked in there were fingerprints on the front of the dishwasher and refridgerator. (However, the cleaning staff did notice them on the second day and wipe them up.)

Room Tip: I think it is worth it to pay extra for a river view room. If you desire a less busy location, ask for a room across the river where they have additional units.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay. We love hearing how much your grandchildren enjoyed their swim in our pool. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The end of a long day of cycling brought us to this hotel. Clean, comfortable, quite upscale with an excellent restaurant and right on the river with a nice quiet patio. one could listen to the river from one's room. Coffee available early and a great espresso place a block away. Nice staff and a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: definitely be on the river.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan35614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for a great review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon for another adventure at the Riverhouse. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews