We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night. It's obvious this is an older hotel but they've done a good job of keeping it in shape. The location on the river is wonderful. My family used both pools (the indoor one was awfully warm). An average buffet breakfast came with the room. The restaurant was great for dinner (though pricey).

Room Tip: I think the extra cost for a river view room was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for your review! We agree that our river view rooms are stunning. We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again, and hope that you'll be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 930 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just got back from 2 nights at the Riverhouse hotel. Our room was spacious and clean. I am an early riser and love the fact that I can sit by the rushing river in the morning and have my coffee while the whole world still asleep. We walked along the scenic river trail behind the hotel to downtown. I think it was about a mile. Downtown was lovely with many boutique shops.
Staff at the hotel was fantastic. Everyone there was very helpful and friendly, especially breakfast staff. It would have been a perfect experience if I didn't leave my cellephone charger in the room and the front desk is going to charge me $15 to mail it back to me by UPS where they can stick it in the US mail for a couple of bucks. I recommend this hotel for family and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us! We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and were able to take advantage of the proximity to downtown. We apologize for the inconvenience over your phone charger, and hope that we may resolve this issue. Please join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel is older but very will kept and updated. The room was very large with enough room for all four of us to sit and enjoy the river right outside our door. The bathroom was very nice and clean with two sinks and counters and the closet was hugh! Breakfast buffet was a true buffet and included a nice selection of fruits, cereals and hot entrees...several to choose from.
I would choose an upper floor unit to enjoy the view of the river and it would also allow you to leave your sliding door open. The lower unit we had did have a bit of traffic outside our door as people were walking the river path. Overall a great value for your dollar!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasLady1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Riverhouse in Oregon. Please be sure to remind us of your room requests when arriving; we want to try as best as possible to accommodate all requests. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and look forward to having you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We decided on a quick escape for some sun & found a very comfortable and welcoming stay at the Riverhouse. We were lucky enough to get one of only two rooms that they had left and had plenty of space in the executive suite for a terrific price. It was also a nice bonus that they did not charge us a pet fee! We had also toured the Sunriver Resort earlier & although the accommodations were attractive, they clearly prefer to Not have pets stay there since they charge a pet fee of $75 - Ridiculous.

Room Tip: For a return visit, I would try to reserve a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneOlympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are happy that we were able to accommodate your family and your pet. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at the Riverhouse for two nights over the Fourth of July. My wife and I were traveling with a friend, and we booked a room with a separate bedroom and a Murphy bed in the main room. This choice proved to be very comfortable and cost effective. The bathroom was clean and nicely appointed and big enough to dress in after a shower. The breakfast buffet was hot and included eggs and hashbrowns and other well prepared hot dishes, as well as juice and coffee, fruit and bread and cereal. A lot of hotels have complimentary breakfast these days and I've been happy with most, but this one was the best. Our second morning was sunny and warm, and we had breakfast on the deck overlooking the river.

Now about the pool: there is an indoor pool and an outdoor pool. The indoor pool is smaller, but it has a single lane that I paced off and figured to be 25 yards long. I don't know of another indoor hotel pool in which one can easily get a good workout. There's also a hot tub, and a well equipped fitness room.

The Riverhouse is about a mile and a half from the main drag in Bend. It's not a hard walk, but it's not particularly pleasant. Plan to drive wherever you're going. The Riverhouse is the perfect base from which to explore central Oregon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for this excellent review! We truly love hearing when guests have such wonderful stays like you. Our pool is a gem, and we are pleased to know you were able to take advantage of it. We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback, and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights while our daughter competed in the Pacific Crest Triathlon in Sunriver.
The breakfast buffet is superb, with good selection of fruits, cereals, and hot entrees. Had some of the best french toast I have had in awhile. The rooms are very comfy and back up to the beautiful Deschutes River. We had a mini frig and microwave as well. The water pressure in the shower was great, and they replaced our shampoos every morning. About the only drawback was the 2 steps from the entryway to the living area. I will definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: request a room backing up to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windycitytraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We appreciate the time you took to provide us with you comments and feedback. We hope your daughter did well during her triathlon, and that you will choose us again for future events and/or relaxation trips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were here two nights, separated by several days as we traveled around southeastern Oregon. When we got back the second time I was telling the lady at the front desk about the trip and how tired we were carrying luggage (including multiple cameras and about a dozen lenses), and she put us in a room that had a door right next to the parking -- it was the easiest unload/load of the trip! Others have talked about the river view rooms, and I concur they are the ones to get. The complementary breakfast was amazing. Room was quiet and well laid out, reasonably large. Next time we are in Bend we'll have to stay here and try the restaurant for dinner. Only real downside is the place seems dark (not much lighting in the rooms, hallways, or restaurant.)

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay while in Oregon. We are looking into the lighting issue you encountered. Please join us again soon, we would love to have you again at The Riverhouse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,230 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tetherow Lodging
Tetherow Lodging
#4 of 44 in Bend
575 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#12 of 44 in Bend
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse on the Deschutes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse on the Deschutes

Address: 3075 N. Business 97, Bend, OR 97703-7511 (Formerly The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bend
Price Range: $127 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverhouse on the Deschutes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Deschutes River runs through the property and has recently completed $10 million dollar renovation in 2016. Our spacious guest rooms and suites have river or property views. A great location with just minutes from downtown Bend. Relax in our indoor and outdoor pools and hot tub or stroll along our scenic river trail. You can even fish for trout right outside your room. At night, cozy up in your spacious accommodation and order room service. Indulge at Currents, our restaurant featuring unique Pacific Northwest cuisine and outdoor patio overlooking the Deschutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riverhouse on the Deschutes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Resort Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing