We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great special occasion restaurant in Bend”
Review of Ariana Restaurant

Ariana Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ariana Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 455 Restaurants in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 13th
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great special occasion restaurant in Bend”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a mostly wonderful experience here. It's in an old house and feels chic and cozy at the same time. The service is excellent (we were directed to one table at first and then moved to another more comfortable one without asking). The food is inventive and delicious! (and we're a bit picky - from San Francisco). They have a fascinating cocktail list and a nice (though not large) list of wines by the glass. Our server was more than happy to provide tastes prior to our ordering. The menu is fantastic and follows the farm to table concept with fresh, seasonal ingredients - asparagus was the star on our visit.
The only downside was that we think the butter had sat out for too long on an exceptionally hot day (we both had stomach problems shortly after dinner).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aml888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    43
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“High quality - great place to celebrate!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Best high-end restaurant in Bend. Excellent food, great service, steep prices but you get what you pay for! Will be here for special occassions.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidanddianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Failed to Live Up to Its Reputation”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We got to Bend a lot, and have struck out on getting reservations here every time (planning ahead is not a strong suit). When we finally got organized and got reservations, we were hyped to learn the staff had just returned from a week at the James Beard House. So, perhaps our expectations were a little out of line with what's realistic for the community. So, here goes: The Sicilian calamari appetizer had perfectly, elegantly cooked squid, in a cloying tomato sauce, with brined (not salted) capers. Supposedly there was lemon in there somewhere, for acid, but it was well hidden. Pass on that one. The other appetizer, gnudi, again showed off the kitchen's masterful technique--perfectly, non-gooey balls of delicate gnudi. The sauce, however, had no flavor. It was a white mess of fat. The sage garnish was nice, however. The shrimp in "grits" (polenta, actually, or so said the menu) had a fabulous, delicate, complex blend of spices, but (you knew that was coming, right) it was all sauce and the sauce was all fat. The shrimp was slightly undercooked, and if there were grits or polenta in there somewhere I could not find them, which was too bad because that sauce really needed something with it. The duck-and-potatoes entree, with jerked duck in cabernet sauce, was the best dish of the evening. It isn't pretty, and it's important to eat duck, potatoes AND shallot in every bite, but the flavors are subtle, traditional and inventive at the same time. The dessert menu did not even tempt. The cocktail menu is impressive, with a Bond martini at the top (martini dressed up with Lillet) that is good. The Vie en Rose is an insipid blend of Hendrick's gin, club soda and seltzer. It is okay, but needs something to wake it up. The wine list is solid, with a nice selection at different price ranges. You can get a good bottle for $40, and a good bottle for $250 if that's your thing. There wasn't anything on it not worth drinking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Leighsscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Standard fare”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Thought that the meal was fine but nothing over the top in terms of creativity or presentation. We had a nice waitress and the room is well laid out in terms of being able to hear your dining mate.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KenyalionNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly a gem!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Bend is an amazing and delightful city to visit for many reasons...culinary delights being the exception. The local food scene primarily consists of really great coffee shops and bakeries and, chain restaurants and drive throughs. A visit to Ariana changes all of that.
Located in a charming older home, their food and ambiance is fantastic. Add to that an excellent level of service and you have one of my favorite places to eat anywhere. Enjoy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtq_quist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ariana Restaurant also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Ariana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing