We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, authentic, really impressed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baltazar's

Baltazar's
Ranked #130 of 446 Restaurants in Bend
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: SW Century Drive
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious, authentic, really impressed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Just enjoyed a really delicious, flavorful meal. The salsas were fresh, unique and very tasty. You could tell that the salsa was prepared fresh daily, maybe even just moments before dinner. Our meals were really outstanding. Huge portions of fresh seafood, delicious adornments of unique sauces and delicious rice and black beans. We were waited on by the owner himself, who was friendly and accommodating despite our not having reservations for their special Valentines day event. Really enjoyed our evening here, everything was great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KirchKrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    8
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great first time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I decided to try a new restaurant tonight. It was a very nice environment. Service was great. We both ordered the seafood chimichanga and were pleased. I asked the waiter for some hot salsa to go with the normal chips and salsa. He brought out some good stuff. It was a little expensive, but I have no problem paying for good food and service. We will go back again for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor food, owner out of control”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was a most disappointing experience. I will never go back. The owner used fowl language and cursed at someone on the phone, then threw the phone at the wall. He is intimidating and rude.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caryn y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning decor and wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

From the main road, you'd never expect to step into this lovely dining room. Glassware, table settings, wall art....it just amazed us. I ordered the chicken mole enchiladas. The sauce is made fresh each time, and have never had a mole sauce so good. Host is charming. I'll return anytime I visit Bend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leodis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding Seafood, Upscale Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were so very blessed by good friends who took us to Baltazar's before our relocation out of state. It's probably a good thing we discovered the restaurant on our way out of town, or else a good chunk of our "eatertainment" budget would have been captured here. The atmosphere and decor is inviting and relaxing. The only thing missing would perhaps be the sound of a water fountain (and I don't recall hearing any music? perhaps because it was tastefully in the background). In any case, the food and the portions were both delicious and plentiful. Even for non-seafood lovers, the array of entrees is impressive and descriptions tantalizing. We were a bit surprised at the white rice served with black refried beans; perhaps it was simply to be distinctive. For most wallets (at least ours) this would be an ideal place to split a plate and still be satisfied with the experience. (One reviewer complained about the $5 charge for this, but for this type of a restaurant, such a service fee is "usual and customary." They are serving two people, after all, with twice the dishes and place settings.) We'll miss making Baltazar's a go-to for special occasions, but next time we're in town it will be hard to pass up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DinzFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baltazar's also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Baltazar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing