We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gluten INTOLERANT”
Review of WestSide Bakery & Cafe - CLOSED

WestSide Bakery & Cafe
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Best place for Breakfast and Lunch!!This Highly recommended Cafe & Bakery has been voted Bend's Best Breakfast & Lunch! We guarantee that you will never leave hungry! Our scrumptious biscuits and gravy or the always satisfying hobo scramble are very popular with our customers. We have an experienced and friendly staff, our menu is extensive and the pastry is superb!! Come in to our cafe for full service breakfast or lunch and see what all the buzz is about!
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gluten INTOLERANT”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We used to eat breakfast at Westside nearly every Sunday after church - it was a great family place and besides plenty of food, the service was great.

Since then, one of us was diagnosed as gluten intolerant and so we automatically stopped going there, due to their bakery full of wheat and lots of gluten-filled goodies. We know that many restaurants now have Gluten-Free menus available to those who find themselves to have gluten intolerance or Celiac Disease. We decided, after about five years, to stop by and see if we would be blessed with the Westside we remembered but with the added blessing of having a G-F menu.

We were sorely disappointed. When we asked if they had a G-F menu we got a very curt "NO!". Asked if we could substitute fruit or something for hash browns and bread, the curt "NO!!" was the reply. No discussion - just... "NO!"

I did notice that the prices for their breakfasts had increased and are not competitive.

So, we won't be going back to Westside. It is the owner's right to not serve G-F, and we do not hold any animosity toward them. We just are sorely disappointed. We do suggest that they have some remedial training to their wait staff in how to diplomatically tell customers the sad news.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
207Local, Manager at WestSide Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you had such disappointing experience. In response we are going to start offering gluten free bread. I also have instructed my servers to be more courteous in letting people down if we do not carry something requested.

Please give us another try and thank you for your business throughout the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    10
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food!, Big breakfast!, Excellent service! Will be back! Visiting from Boise.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Don't know what happened with the previous folks, but our meal was fabulous! Great service! Large portions. We are here for a week, and will be visiting this place again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderLustBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average at best”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This used to be the place to go for breakfast but now it is the place to forget. Frozen fruit in August is inexcusable. Service was average. We were in and out before one table got their food. There are too many great places in Bend for breakfast, so Westside will not be on my list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
207Local, Manager at WestSide Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that your experience was not satisfactory. Since you were in we have hired a new chef as well as 3 new servers and have been working hard to improve the quality of our service and food please give us another try and thank you for coming in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Used to be a favorite”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Once upon a time this was the best place to eat in Bend, hands down. Ate there today for the first time in a couple years. Made me sad. Food was mediocre at best, and it was extremely overpriced. Our waitress was very nice, but we saw one of the other waitresses doing things that were not appropriate, or sanitary. Don't think we will go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurieLeeFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
207Local, Manager at WestSide Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that your experience was not satisfactory. Since you were in we have hired a new chef as well as 3 new servers and have been working hard to improve the quality of our service and food please give us another try and thank you for coming in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
229 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Huge cinnamon rolls!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Coffee is rather expensive and it's just coffee. Potatoes a bit greasy. Large servings. Cinnamon rolls are huge and very good. They usually run out of bagels. Kids may be entertained by the electronic train that travels around the room on a rail that's near the ceiling.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AmberA777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WestSide Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing