We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, but a few issues.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of McMenamins Old St. Francis School

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Rickreall, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun, but a few issues.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Really fun place. Great for younger people who are there just for the good time. Maybe not the best place if you want a good nights sleep or privacy.

The room was really pretty. I can't complain about that at all. But it was chilly and our heater was really noisy.

We tried to use the soaking pool, but there were some younger people that weren't guest that stayed really late and were having a little too much fun in there. ;)

The food was very standard McMenamins. Good, but nothing to write home about.

We did enjoy watching a movie in the theater. It was nice to sit on the couches and eat

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cabr1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    92
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
47
176
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

If you're looking for an out-of-the-ordinary hotel experience in Bend it's hard to beat McMenamins Old St. Francis School -- where the former classrooms have been turned into quaint bedrooms for guests. Also on the premises are a restaurant, brew pub, theater, and a delightful soaking pool with tile work you have to see to believe. We held my wife's 50th birthday party in one of the meeting rooms, and McMenamins catering was top-notch. When friends visit Bend and ask for a hotel recommendation, McMenamins is at the top of my list.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hubby surprised me with a weekend getaway to Bend and a night at Old St. Francis I loved the room and the indoor pool, except for all of the drunk hook ups going on in the pool-ew... I love the location and the diffrrent facilites in the building. Gal at the front desk was super helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RangerHannieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hubby and I stayed here two nights, Friday, January 17 thru Sunday, January 19, 2014. The weekend we chose just happened to include a Brewfestival - so it was a bonus for us. The check in staff was very courteous and helpful, one of our nicest McMenamin's experiences. The rooms were small, cozy, lots of wood paneling, quaint small bathrooms with neat tiling but not a lot of counter space. Our room was facing the street, which helped keep things quiet since the Brewfestival went till 10pm, which is not that late. This hotel has a beautiful soaking pool that features outstanding tile work. There is also 3 bars and a theater. Now, about the theater. We watched the movie "Thor" at 2pm Saturday. Half the way through the movie a live band started playing within the same building. This was not good. We could barely hear the dialogue and it hurt the "moment". But in short, there isn't much to criticize about this particular McMenamin's, it was one of our best experiences. It would have been nice to have a tub in our bathroom not only a shower, but all of other amenities made up for it: docking system for our ipod, wifi throughout the venue, coffee delivered to our door in the mornings. I would definitely recommend staying here..:)

Room Tip: Ask staff if there are any events going on the night you chose to aid in selecting a room for quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonProud7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My sister and I stayed for two nights. It was a welcome place to stay in amongst our activities. We loved the unique rooms, the closeness to downtown, and the soaking pool which was most welcome after a snow shoe adventure at Mt Bachelor. It was also nice to sit outside around a fire or go see a movie on couches.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hays70TLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This unique hotel is a converted school house. Each of the 19 rooms is named after someone who has a history with the school's past. The rooms are quite comfortable and have all the necessities. There is an indoor mosaic tiled "soaking pool" on site which looks as if it was modeled after one of the old European hotel spa pools we've seen overseas. It was unavailable at the time we were there, but our rooms had robes for use when visiting. There is also an on site small movie theater for guests. The restaurant and pub are connected to the hotel part so you don't have to drive to find a good meal. Breakfast is not included in room rates, but parking is free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is located in downtown Bend very close to a number of excellent restaurants, although we found that the best place for breakfast was right in the restaurant adjacent to the hotel. Our room was very comfortable. If I were making a reservation again, I would request a room on the side of the hotel that did not have as much foot traffic outside the room window. In the summertime when the weather is warmer, people sit outside and it could be quite noisy. Otherwise, it was a great place with very friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.6 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
3.3 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Old St. Francis School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Old St. Francis School

Property: McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Address: 700 NW Bond St, Bend, OR 97703-2702
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#9 Family Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Old St. Francis School 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your McMenamins Old St. Francis School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Old St. Francis School Hotel Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing