We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun overnight in Bend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fun overnight in Bend”
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Making a pit stop in Bend on a road trip took us to this fun and quirky place. We stayed in the Art House, which was perfect for us with a baby. Loved the theme of the place and everyone was very friendly. They even brought our food to our house! Loved the turkish bath and vibrant feel of the facility. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a non-traditional experience.

  • Liked — Vibe
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank scoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    102
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
54
185
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

This hotel is amazing: historic, fun, cool, homey, family friendly, etc. We loved it. The concept is to take old buildings and give them new life by turning them into pubs, breweries, theaters, hotels, concert venues, basically meccas of fun and community centers. We booked the Parish House, a 3 plus bedroom home near the actual hotel with a lovely front yard, kitchen, sleeping porch, fireplace, and on and on. The home was originally the home of the priests from the nearby church and school. There were murals and histories painted onto all of the walls. The house was ideal because it was very near the 'beer garden' and hotel with pool (unbelievably cool Roman grottos style indoor pool) and movie house, but far enough away that we didn't hear the noise. The house was very cozy and beyond perfect for a family of 4; we could have fit another 4 people easily. The hotel rooms we peeked at were great too and I think the kids would have loved staying in old classrooms, but they were fully booked. The restaurant was amazing; breakfast was the best we'd had on our 8 day trip around Oregon. Can't wait to try other McMenamins properties.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing, actually the house was a little pricey
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NVRam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Just returned to Portland (we live here now) after a terrific weekend at McMenamins Old St. Francis school. The reviews posted here pretty much capture the spirit of the property, which is probably the most comphensive and inclusive hotel experience available to travelers who want to stay in historic downtown Bend.

We stayed in the Art House, which is at the back of the property off of the McKane's restaurant. Two bedrooms, one bath with shower, a kitchen and a living room. Kitchen door opens to the pub and living room door is facing the street. We were concerned about noise since McKanes was hosting a high school reunion -- not a sound came through those 1900's constructed walls. Amazing. The house itself was clean, a bit musty, air conditioned and really fun. The beds were comfortable for our bad backs and the location of the hotel is unparalleled. You can walk everywhere in downtown Bend. Cable TV provided us with weather forcasts for our hiking and biking around Mt. Bachelor (20 minute drive).

Hotel amenities are numerous. Coffee and newspaper delivered to your door daily. Several pubs for all sorts of experiences (pool hall, cigar patio, indoor breakfast, room service all possible). We took in a movie on Friday night -- really fun! The soaking pool, to me, was a bit scary, but whatever works. :) The staff was so friendly. Nothing to complain about -- maybe the church bells at the St. Francis church (across the street) on Sunday morning, but McMenamin's doesn't own the church -- yet. There was a fun rum tasting available for adults the weekend we were there as well.

Plusses: Location! Staff. Unique decor. Reasonably priced menus. Accommodating attitude.

Minuses: Musty smelling house (we opened windows to solve this). Lighting a bit dark.

Excellent overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohiofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Great place to stay, 20 plus Large rooms , each named after someone that taught at or went to the school back when. Decent food in the pub, great beer. Cool Decor, a bit dark in the hallways. Pool tables in one bar. Large Soaking tub,like a hot tub without the jets, is available for free for hotel guests. They have a small movie theater right on the premises, and it shows movies released earlier in the year. Sit on mini loveseats and order wine or beer from the little bar , We got a bottle of inexpensive pinot noir and sipped while watching our movie which was free for guests. Coffee maker in the room and they provide as much ground coffee as you want , left outside your door before you wake in the morning. nice touch for us coffee drinkers. There were nice robes in the closet, another nice touch. Very comfortable bed and large shower. Walkable to many shops and restaurants. They have a great website and we booked the reservation on line. We would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — its just cool and convenient
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darcyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at McMenamins Old St. Francis school - what a disappointment. I had chosen the hotel based on reviews from this site but found the experience nothing like we had hoped. To say they have over-paneled ever conceivable surface with cheap wood is an understatement (even the ceiling!). The room was tiny and had horrible lighting. Our room unfortunately faced the pub which was expectantly loud until late. We ate at the attached pub twice, but the service at breakfast was terrible. We had a simple order- coffee, tea and two cinnamon rolls. Twenty minutes later the waitress finally comes back out to tell us they were out of the rolls and would something else do? We asked twice for cream for the tea which never arrived. We finally had to go up to the hostess to pay our bill since it was taking far too long to get the waitress back to take the money.

Overall, a very expensive and disappointing experience. Definitely would not recommend.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dungeon like rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank booktraveler039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

The hotel is a one-time Catholic school decorated by post-hippie capitalists in an attractive if somewhat disconcerting matter. Each room is unique in the way it combines decorative motifs (curly cues, faces) with photographs and paintings of nuns, school kids, priests, and the Holy Family. For example, I stayed in the king suite, a room with a large bathroom that had two showers and two deep bathtubs. The room was named "Altar Boys" and had quotes from former altar boys on the walls of the bathroom. It was a bit odd. In the hallways the pictures from the catholic past share space with old rock posters (usually with a slightly 70s style psychedelic flavor). All this in a place with lots of boozing and carousing.

There's a small house in the back with a bar that features cigars and whiskey. In this house they play nothing but the Grateful Dead. Here is more irony -- the band that celebrated a low-money lifestyle being background to cigars and whiskey, signs of high capitalism. But the lives of us Boomers are permeated by this kind of irony.

The large bed was very comfortable. The room was huge and quiet. There were lots of towels, soap, bath salts, and shampoos. The towels were very fluffy, unlike the bathrobes which were rough and obviously overused. The couch was comfortable. The window looked out onto a small garden. The lighting in the room was low (hard to be a reader in this room). I called for room service and the cheeseburgers were delicious but arrived without napkins or condiments.

The soaking pool is beautiful but when I went it was filled with people talking loudly, including young women with cell phones and men making deals. Not restful but very pretty, especially the fountain in the middle.

So. I would recommend it for the curious traveler, but not for the person seeking quiet nor for the person easily disturbed by postmodern blenderization of the sacred and profane.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank EpicureSlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

This place is quirky and a must see. Nothing can prepare you for the novelty of this place. There is a turkish style bath (pool) like those found in Eastern Europe (never been to Turkey). I could not believe my eyes. Take a look <http://www.mcmenamins.com/index.php?loc=98&id=795> There are also 2nd run movies every evening in a fantastic old theater. These are included with your stay. For breakfast, we ate in the restaurant and had black bean cakes with poached eggs ($7.95 I think). It was so good and convenient that we couldn't try any other place for breakfast. The mojitos (fresh limes squeezed by the bartender) and local beers were also great. There was also a fire in the courtyard every evening that smelled absolutely fantastic. I highly recommend this unusual experience. By the way, the mattresses and pillows were as comfortable as home and the place was kept perfectly clean. The rooms are dark but the lamps are 3-way. You might not realize that until you turn them off the first night. Location is edge of downtown and perfectly convenient to everything.

  • Liked — Pool, Fire in Courtyard, Ambiance
  • Disliked — High Speed Internet worked but could be slow to connect.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SavannahGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bend Three Sisters Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Old St. Francis School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Old St. Francis School

Property: McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Address: 700 NW Bond St, Bend, OR 97703-2702
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#9 Family Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Old St. Francis School 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your McMenamins Old St. Francis School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Old St. Francis School Hotel Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing