We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual albeit expensive stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unusual albeit expensive stay”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We arrived at Mcmenamins St. Francis School to the smell of great food, and found out way to our King Room. The room was large with 2 soaking tubs, two showers, but not the greatest light for a bathroom (hard for woman to do make-up). Food in the restaurant was great, tasty, although service a bit slow. We moved to a second queen room the second night and although not as palatial, it was also very comfortable and more than adequate - comfy beds, pillows, etc. Great bartender who made awesome drinks.

Overall ambience was great, rooms clean, comfortable, and good size. Restaurant good, wonderful Turkish Bath great for soaking with gorgeous Italian tile frescos of St. Francis and various colorful settings (i.e. grape making, wheat harvesting etc.)...McMenamins is a destination and should be experienced. Be aware it's expensive, but worth it...

What would have made it 5 stars? Better parking availability (lot often full); more light in the bathrooms and magnifying mirror; bit more creative food preparation; include breakfast in the cost.

Room Tip: Great "destination" hotel - spent two days!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    96
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
49
183
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

A group of friends and I stayed here in The Friary. It's a house on the property. Great little place. Full kitchen. Nice porch. The soaking pool on the property is awesome. The whiskey and cigar bar were also great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifergiles77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We knew we would love it or hate it, and we loved it. The small size was great! Loved the movie and the soaking tub. The location is within walking distance of the river and a lot of fun restaurants and bars.
The one drawback I can see what it was very difficult to find the check in desk. But once we found it everything was great from there on out. I would definitely recommend this one for couple of days getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darshanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owndul, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I wish we could have stayed here for a week rather than just the one night. McMenamins is a destination in its own right; we felt like we were still discovering things right up until we left. We had a great room; the whole place is oozing with character. Staff were friendly and welcoming. In-house restaurant was great - good food, superb beers (McMenamins own) and great service. Salt water baths were a delight. We didn't have a chance to visit the cinema although we did get to enjoy the live music. I hope it's not too long before we can get back to Bend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed at the Old St Francis School the first week of July and would do it again. After taking some time figuring out how to reach the reception desk, I was greeted by a couple of very friendly, helpful staff members, given a map (actually kinda necessary though there aren't that many rooms) and the card key, and checked in to the Katie O'Rourke (did I get that right? maybe Kate, maybe a different last name - though her portrait was in the room, kinda space specifics) room.

The decor is pretty woody, ski lodgy. Would've felt very cosy and warm during snow season, but a bit dark for the summer. The decor throughout the hotel/pub/etc is very consistent with the theme, delighting my aesthetic senses. All rooms (I think - all the ones I passed were) are on the ground floor, so kept my clothes on when the curtains were open. One suggestion - better lighting for the full-length mirror.

Given that the Deschutes River and Drake Park are just a few blocks away, actually didn't spend much time in the room when not gallivanting about the Bend countryside . Following suggestions from the front desk guy, took advantage of the running routes along the river. After running in the 90+ degree heat, was very happy to come back to the air-conditioned room.

Room service is prompt and courteous, the Reuben was yummy and filling, and the beer was tasty. Stay in for a meal in the courtyard, or head out to one of the many restaurants just blocks away. Oh, and did I mention that there is a fro-yo joint connected to the building?

Though my dog is not road trip friendly, the Old St Francis does allow dogs. Met a very nice yellow Lab when checking out, and he seemed quite satisfied with his stay.

I definitely recommend the Old St Francis for anyone interested in enjoying downtown Bend while taking advantage of the many outdoor offerings in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edith_Ann1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Lovely place to stay. Rooms are very comfortable. Service at the hotel is great. Grounds are wonderful place just to be in and enjoy. Went to the theatre to watch a movie, which is complementary with a hotel room. Had breakfast in the restaurant and had a lovely breakfast of Eggs Benedict. Bend is a lovely place to wonder around. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa,ca
Level Contributor
219 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This Mcmenamin's property is first rate. More than a hotel, there is a whole world to be had here! Restaurants, bars, a cushy soaking pool, a movie theater (free for guests). Our room Klondike Kate was wonderful. Large, well appointed, huge windows a great bathroom, friendly and responsive staff. Located in the center of town this converted catholic school is hip, beautifully restored and a fun place to stay. Priced at about a bill and a half and worth every cent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.6 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
3.3 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Old St. Francis School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Old St. Francis School

Property: McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Address: 700 NW Bond St, Bend, OR 97703-2702
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#9 Family Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Old St. Francis School 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your McMenamins Old St. Francis School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Old St. Francis School Hotel Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing