We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite hotel in Bend Oregon,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Now that the McMenamins Old St. Francis School is pet friendly, they will be getting more of our business.So will the businesses in the surrounding area. The rooms there are already great and now, not to need a puppy sitter, the hotel is now our go-to stay spot. With the food, beer, theater and shopping so close its a great place for us. We also were able to watch the Ducks beat USC and the Beavers beat Arizona State on a theater screen for an overall great weekend stay. We look forward to summer time when we can get out and enjoy the fire pits too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skluger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for McMenamins Old St. Francis School
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 365 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the reviews here, but remained sceptical - no need for that.
What a great place to stay!
The rooms are dark, but this perfectly fits to this building and concept. The whole building ist made over in a perfect way and everything harmonizes. The staff is friendly an helpful. A bar, a restaurant, a theatre, a turkish bath are on the grounds - use it!. There is so much to see, if you stay only one night, you won't have enough time (because you want to see something of bend too).
Reserve well ahead, because they are booked early.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamia1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Fantastic hotel - history all around you and always something new to look at. We had a spotlessly clean, large room with an attached bath. Robes are provided. There is a soaking tub, an outdoor fireplace, a movie theater and often live entertainment. There are several wonderful restaurant/ bars to eat at-- all good fun.

Room Tip: Rooms with attached baths are great but even the ones with bath down the hall are good and shared ba...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofiegsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great Great property in Bend . We have stayed almost every Mcmenamins hotel in the area . We loved the St Francis school, greta bar with super wood burning fire pits .

Its very small . you will need to book FAR AHEAD !!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Old St. Francis School. Our room was large and had everything we needed - comfortable bed, real cups for coffee, glasses, robes, bath products, ceiling fan, very nice new bathroom, great wireless, information about the other parts of the hotel, etc. Everything was spotless. Front desk staff were always friendly and helpful. The whole place has a good vibe. The soaking pool is a very nice place to spend part of the day, and we also visited the outdoor whiskey bar for a drink - what a great idea. My only regret is that we only stayed one night - the hotel offers so many varied services (restaurants, bars, movies, music), that it would have been preferable to have more time to sample them, to say nothing of Bend itself, which has a great little downtown, excellent pubs, a beautiful park and probably lots of other lovely options to explore. Next time!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank seaward14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff. A lot of small quality touches i. e.premium coffee packet delivered to room in the morning, bartender was very warm and fun to talk to, bathrobes supplied for soaking tub. The grounds are flower filled and there are many places to sit in the gardens and relax. Can't wait to return.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MarthaAshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This place was right up my alley (we didn't stay here, we just went to the bar). It's literally the coolest bar I've ever seen. They had many huge fire pits going outside, and the little bar in the back was like stepping into another time. In the front building they had this side hallway that lead to a beautiful (and creepy) Turkish bath. The place is rumored to be haunted and I wouldn't be surprised if some cool ghost stories came out of there. I can't even explain how awesome this place is. You just have to see it yourself.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
0.6 mi away
Bend Three Sisters Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Old St. Francis School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Old St. Francis School

Address: 700 NW Bond St, Bend, OR 97703-2702
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#9 Family Hotel in Bend
Price Range: $195 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Old St. Francis School 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your McMenamins Old St. Francis School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Old St. Francis School Hotel Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing