We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Came here for drinks - really awesome environment - we toured the old school and spent several hours outside on the patio - awesome beer on tap! Would love to visit again to experience the rest of what this place has to offer. Especially recommend the IPA they have on tap, one of the best I've had (and that's a lot)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank BuenosNachos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 383 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

McMenamins are always interesting, quaint hotels. This one did not disappoint. There is a movie theatre where you can order food/drinks at a table. There is also a very good restaurant/pub with nice outdoor or indoor seating. The hotel is located a short distance from the main drag in a quieter area, which makes it more serene. They also have a great large spa for those interested. Some of the rooms do have their own bathrooms, others share. Note that we have been in rooms before that share bathrooms/showers. The bathrooms are kept so clean that you would hardly know anyone else uses them. It appears they have people assigned to clean them after every use.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDLVKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

A group of 9 of us stayed in the Parrish house this past weekend and we couldn't have asked for a better set up. We were right downtown with bars, parks and places to eat within walking distance. The Mcmennamins facility was amazing. We sat outside our house the first night which happens to be an outdoor bar with fire pits and Grateful dead music playing in the background. It was perfect. We only had one meal at mcmennamins and it was very good other than we waited forever for our food but we just had more beers while we waited which worked out well. Whenever I am in Bend, I will only stay at Mcmennamins.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beavs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This propery is difficult to explain- unique and impressive are two words that come to mind, and I was surprised how much our family enjoyed our stay. Prior to arriving, I thought the property might be too gimmicky, but I was pleasantly surprised! The hotel itself is a great property- the rooms are spacious, and the hotel staff were warm and friendly each time we went to the desk to ask questions. The rooms are all named instead of being numbered, and the hotel has unique art throughout the property as well as old photos of the school, including random class/school photos and other pictures of the nearby St. Francis Church. The rooms were clean, and the property was quiet at night despite outdoor eating/drinking being located near our room. The hotel provided coffee and a newspaper in the morning- the coffee was delicious, and the baked goods sold at the front desk were tasty! We enjoyed our visit to the soak tub, which was very relaxing! We ate dinner at the property, which we found to be kid friendly with good foodwhile also offering a great beer selection. The hotel is located in downtown Bend with easy access to shopping, dining, and other activities. I was able to do a long run by following the Deschutes River, which was very peaceful and enjoyable. I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Really enjoyed our one night stay here and wished we could have stayed for longer. We liked the way that slight quirkiness was combined with high standards. The room had everything we needed, the soaking pool was a magical surprise and the food was great, especially breakfast. Hope to return one day.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jandj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed one night wished it could have been more! We stayed here on the way to Crater Lake. What a fun place. We had dinner and took in a movie right there! The day we were there it was 100 degrees so we skipped trying out the soaking pool. The food is good and the atmosphere is fun! One thing they could have in the rooms is a small refrigerator and it was a bit dark, other than that we really liked this place. If we are ever in Bend again this will be the place to stay. In fact we would go to Bend just to stay at McMenamins!

Room Tip: Maybe get a room not on the street side. It wasn't noisy but we did hear street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biccabons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at McMenamins! We were there for two nights of our honeymoon. We were able to check in a few hours early and get settled into the Father McKenna Room. The hotel has a great restaurant and good beer! We did not go to the movie theater, but loved the Soaking Pools!

The hotel is within walking distance of many breweries. We even took the Bend Brew Bus Tour one afternoon and had a fabulous time!

I loved the fresh ground coffee delivered each morning. Nice touch! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweetnlow217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.6 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 45 in Bend
506 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#4 of 45 in Bend
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 45 in Bend
1,257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pine Ridge Inn
Pine Ridge Inn
#5 of 45 in Bend
494 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Old St. Francis School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Old St. Francis School

Address: 700 NW Bond St, Bend, OR 97703-2702
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#9 Family Hotel in Bend
Price Range: $150 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Old St. Francis School 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your McMenamins Old St. Francis School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Old St. Francis School Hotel Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing