We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Rocklin, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique Place!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at McMenamins! We were there for two nights of our honeymoon. We were able to check in a few hours early and get settled into the Father McKenna Room. The hotel has a great restaurant and good beer! We did not go to the movie theater, but loved the Soaking Pools!

The hotel is within walking distance of many breweries. We even took the Bend Brew Bus Tour one afternoon and had a fabulous time!

I loved the fresh ground coffee delivered each morning. Nice touch! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetnlow217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    104
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
55
187
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Excellent food, excellent beer, excellent staff!

This is one of the best places to eat in bend--they have excellent beer and excellent food!

We ate dinner at the main restaurant this weekend, and the food was excellent, as usual. We then went to O'Kanes for a supplementary beer. The atmosphere was, again, excellent. Standing around one of the several fire pits, the other patrons were talkative and friendly--we went back the second night after eating at the Bend Brewing Company.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was my first McMenamins hotel, but being familiar with their pubs and restaurants, I was looking forward to the Old St. Francis School and Bend in particular. I would now highly recommend both.

Any one familiar with Mc's properties knows that each is highly stylized in something of a Northwest meets Craftsman, meets Harry Houdini advertising poster, so I won't waste time describing it further, except to say it is extremely cool.

Just on block off Wall St.(the main street) this location is perfect. The rooms are spacious, parking convenient, staff wonderfully helpful, and the front desk is manned 24 hours. There are also cottages for larger groups

The 'campus' contains a brewery, 3 drinking establishments, a full service restaurant, a movie theatre, a very interesting and highly decorated Turkish bath, and wonderful indoor and outdoor communal areas at which to meet fellow guests.

One Tripadvisor reviewer suggested that one might be tempted never to leave the campus. This is true. But don't let it cause you to miss a spin around Bend. It is an infinitely charming and livable city full of fun restaurants, microbreweries, shops, great neighborhoods, and a riverside park that is the town's serene centerpiece.

Can't imagine you won't love this hotel. I would stay here again in a second and would proudly recommend it to fellow travelers.

Tip: if you visit one of the communal areas, your stay will be further enhanced by easy conversation with other guests who are just as charmed by the McMenamin's style.

Room Tip: Because of McMenamin's 'woodsy' decor, the rooms are a bit dark, even with the lights on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portofcaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a wonderful evening here, loved the incredible soaking tub (yes, it is essentially a huge hot tub - so relaxing) and the hotel is a block from all the restaurants and bars of downtown, as well as the pretty park along the river. We had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXtraveller707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I camp for one week every year with some friends who have children. We bookend this event by having an adult centered evening before and after. This was fantastically romantic. We took two long soaks; one the night we got there, and one in the morning. Very good way to start the week. The movie theatre is free if you are staying the night, although we didn't make it that far, that sounds like a pretty good deal.

Room Tip: It is not really a swimming pool it is a soaking tub and I don't think that they have a fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guineapigsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We found this place by accident, boy did we get lucky. This Hotel is by far the best place we've ever stayed. The atmosphere is absolutely fantastic. The rooms are cozy. There are three different bars on site. They brew their own beer, and it's good. Oh yeah, they have a Movie theater and a soaking pool/hot tub. The staff is really attentive and helpful. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dblhaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was one of my most favorite vacations. My bf and I stayed in the Father Dominic O'Connor King suite and it was great. We had a comfy bed...the friendliest staff...and amazing freebies. The food was great at the pub and the beer is yummy. I would definitely stay here again and in the same room with the same package. The Outdoor package was amazing! =)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZombieDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Bend
0.9 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Old St. Francis School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Old St. Francis School

Property: McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Address: 700 NW Bond St, Bend, OR 97703-2702
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#9 Family Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Old St. Francis School 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your McMenamins Old St. Francis School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Old St. Francis School Hotel Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing