We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place to stay with so much to do!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An amazing place to stay with so much to do!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was one of my most favorite vacations. My bf and I stayed in the Father Dominic O'Connor King suite and it was great. We had a comfy bed...the friendliest staff...and amazing freebies. The food was great at the pub and the beer is yummy. I would definitely stay here again and in the same room with the same package. The Outdoor package was amazing! =)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZombieDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    94
    26
    10
    5
See reviews for
49
179
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I am writing this review from my very comfortable bed in the Nunnery Cottage at the St Francis hotel. This is our "down day" on a 12-day road trip around central Oregon, and I am so pleased we decided to stay here. We checked in last night after a long day of driving, hiking and site-seeing, and found a spacious, lovely place to sleep, a happy hour with reasonably priced, delicious food, a movie for the kids, free wi-fi, and every amenity we could ask for within walking distance . . . mostly right on the property. The staff is super friendly and helpful and seem to like their jobs so much that after work, they hang out in the bar (which is right behind our cottage--we were able to send the kids "home" to bed while we stayed on for a drink). A very nice place and a really good value for families.

Room Tip: We are staying in the Nunnery cottage, which has 4 very nice bedrooms, although only one bath. I do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is very special and Bend is such a great city to visit. I'm not much of a history buff, but the concept of restoring old properties headed for destruction into something with so much charm and character is really something to see. I would love to meet the leaders of this company b/c it is quite an intriguing hospitality model they have developed. The rooms are all named after students who attended the St. Francis School, there are pictures, art, and historic explanations everywhere. The warming pool is so nice after a long day of travel and the custom ground black rabbit coffee was to die for. They make their own coffee, wine, spirits, incredible baked goods, you can't miss here. I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We just came for a beer and a bite and I loves the atmosphere, the helpful staff and the aforementioned beer and bites. I enjoyed the IPA and a veggie burger.
Sitting outside around the fireplaces with a good beer and a smoke surrounded by friendly, chatty people is what life is all about.
I like the M.C. Escher-ness about the school too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0besP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Beautiful room, comfortable bed, nice bar & and LOVED the soaking pool. Nice to be able to walk to dining and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel (Friday, Memorial Day weekend).

We checked in just after 3pm and were given the 'Delores Friberg' room (far end of the hall). It was perfectly cozy, paneled in wood and spacious enough with a TV and phone, broad windows and a bigger bathroom with a large shower.

Despite one minor incident with some people yelling on the sidewalk outside, we never heard a peep, inside or out. We attended a concert (The Shins @ nearby Les Schwab Amphitheater, a 1 mile walk) and dined beforehand in the main restaurant (decent ~ happy hour burger and over-salted/seasoned 'Cajun' tots); afterward we had a couple pints and a drams of Jameson in the wonderful Fireside Bar, along with a tasty (not on the menu, but ask for it) Mac & Cheese.

The bed was a little sub-par (lumpy), but otherwise the experience was very good and we'd gladly stay here again. The freshly roasted coffee left at our doorstep in the morning was a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msubulldog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for three days this past weekwhile we enjoyed the Bend Ale Trail. Overall the hotel experience was great. You can find cheaper hotels in town, BUT you can't beat the location. The hotel has everything, even a soaking pool. Everyone who worked at the hotel was friendly. Our room was good size and comfortable. We had our dogs, which wasn't a problem.

The food and beer were both quite good. We had breakfast, dinner and happy hour. I love that you can buy a beer in the bar, then take it anywhere on the property you want to. After 10pm happy hour prices are only $3.25 a beer. I enjoyed a few late night IPA's.

You are right downtown and on the Bend Ale Trail. Including the hotel, you have five breweries within a short walk. McMenamin beers are sometime hit or miss, but all the ones I had here were very good. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevandstac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.6 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
3.3 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Old St. Francis School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Old St. Francis School

Property: McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Address: 700 NW Bond St, Bend, OR 97703-2702
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#9 Family Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Old St. Francis School 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your McMenamins Old St. Francis School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Old St. Francis School Hotel Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing