We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“89 out of 89 - does that tell you something?”
Review of Hillside Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Inn B&B
Ranked #3 of 7 Bend B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“89 out of 89 - does that tell you something?”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Check the record, folks - 89 reviews, and of them 89 have rated the Hillside Inn "excellent." Not even a single "downgrade" to "very good." Joe DiMaggio would have admired that level of consistent performance.
We just stayed at the Hillside Inn for a long weekend, and it may have been our best visit yet. How do you improve on excellent? Breakfast with Annie is the perfect set-up for a great day, in a fun city in a beautiful part of the country. Everything that other reviewers have said about the accommodations, the amenities, the food etc. are all true. For me, this is the best part - we've come to regard Annie as a friend, so every time we're there is nourishment for the soul.

Room Tip: they're both great. studio (where we stayed this time) is perhaps slightly preferable for a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsidebend, Owner at Hillside Inn B&B, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
What a nice review. I have been the lucky innkeeper to have kind guests who take the time to write reviews and contribute to the 89 exceptional reviews. Thank you for being one those special guests. Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
76
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Charming accommodations: tasteful decor, generous amenities including any toiletries you might need to healthy snacks, and the breakfasts were to die for. Really, Annie is an exceptional cook and clearly loves to do it.
We stayed in the balcony suite with its nice deck, great bathroom (shower was great) and plenty of room for us and our stuff. The B&B is within walking distance of much of what you might want to see or do in the city of Bend, and of course the mountains are short drive away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jogan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsidebend, Owner at Hillside Inn B&B, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your kind comments. I liked that you mentioned the location, :within walking distance of what you want" as that is of value to many of my guests. Come back soon! Real soon :)! Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Annie has created a haven in Bend, and her thoughtfulness is beyond expectations. We stayed in the upstairs suite for 3 nights and days for our first trip to Oregon. We were lucky to have had her amazing Portobello Mushroom suffle for our second gourmet breakfast (see picture).... I have never had such an exquisite egg dish. Annie's place should be yours when you come!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin_TexasNewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsidebend, Owner at Hillside Inn B&B, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hillside Inn and taking the time to write a review. The photos are so helpful to those who read the reviews. Look forwardward to seeing you both in the future. Come back soon!
Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

First of all, Annie the owner and innkeeper was a welcoming guide to the local area. Her home and inn was beautiful, quiet, and well cared for. Her breakfasts were yummy, and her suggestions for dinner were spot on. We stayed 2 nights in Bend to explore the geology of the area. Volcano flows, caldrons, and the Lava National Park. By the time we got back to Bend we were tired of the car. Annie suggested a walk down the hill to Spork. What a wonderful place to eat! The point is there are many restaurants within walking distance to the inn. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabsfromPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsidebend, Owner at Hillside Inn B&B, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of the inn. I'm happy that you enjoyed my suggestions for dining at one of the informal restaurants in our Riverwest Neighborhood. Hi to Philly. sometimes I do miss living on the east coast where the trees are lush and green. Don't miss the humidity though! Regards, Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

recently returned from my 1st trip to bend and it couldn't have been better - annie and hillside inn b&b were the primary reason why! everything from her communication before our trip, to the lovely accommodations (we stayed in the cheery balcony suite) and gardens, to the fantastic meals she prepared for us every morning, and to the leave-no-stone-unturned touches to make sure we were well looked after still have us beaming from our trip. we will definitely return to bend and can't wait to stay at hillside inn b&b while we're there!

Room Tip: the balcony suite was bright, cheery & fantastic on every level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outofmylmnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsidebend, Owner at Hillside Inn B&B, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you both! It was MY pleasure to host your stay at the B&B. I will look forward to your next visit. It's so easy to get attached to Bend and all the activities it offers. Thank you for your kind review. Much appreciated. Good luck with your pastry chef training!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Hillside Inn is a hidden gem in Bend. The rooms were exactly as advertised and immaculately clean. Annie is a terrific hostess and her thoughtful touches are everywhere. I stayed in the Studio Suite and found it extremely comfortable. The room had everything I needed and more. This is the perfect place for single travelers or couples. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when I visit Bend. I loved the fact that I could keep my car parked and walk to town. There are also some exceptional restaurants within walking distance. The Hillside Inn B&B could be Bend’s best kept secret!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seagal98198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsidebend, Owner at Hillside Inn B&B, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you Sea Gal, for taking time to share your comments. Also, thanks for offering the extra ticket to see the band Blue Sky Riders with Kenny Loggins at the Tower Theater. Very kind of you. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We try to have a trip to Bend in the winter, to ski and just have a romantic weekend. It's been a few years since we stayed at the Hillside, but the memories are still strong. We stayed in the balcony room, and loved the decor, the comfort, the feel of understated luxury, and, most of all, the privacy. There were nice treats for us in the room and bathroom, and the breakfast was delicious and nutritious, with wonderful company. We really loved the outdoor hot tub, and, again, it felt very private. Right in town, so it is convenient to places to eat, sip and shop. Easy access to Mt. Bachelor too.

Room Tip: The balcony room has the great French doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsidebend, Owner at Hillside Inn B&B, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Very nice comments about the Balcony Suite...thank you and please do return pronto as the snow is starting to melt on Mt. Bachelor! Thank you, Cynthia. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
1.0 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
421 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,154 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 44 in Bend
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
2.3 mi away
Mount Bachelor Village Resort
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bend Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn B&B

Property: Hillside Inn B&B
Address: 1744 NW 12th St, Bend, OR 97703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pampered modern lodging in a cozy B&B, walk to downtown, restaurants and shops. Located in an urban neighborhood, 3 blocks from restaurants, bakery, gourmet grocery, cafe and shopping. Exit to the outside from each Suite. Private bath and luxury amenities. Walkable to downtown and the Old Mill. Close to hiking, bike rental, shopping and dining. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing