We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillside Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Inn B&B
Ranked #3 of 7 Bend B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Being from Portland, we were familiar with the Bend area and its amenities, but had freinds in from out of town and wanted to spend a couple of days showing them the lure of Central Oregon. Not necessaily wanting to stay in a hotel, we opted for the Hillside Inn after searching online for available properties. I called and spoke to Annie, the proprietor, ahead of making a booking, and she was very responsive and open to answering all of my questions. I booked both rooms for the four of us immediately.

Upon our arrival, we were met by Annie and given the tour of the propery and were quite pleased with the presentation. The spaciousness of the rooms, amenities provided and overall first-class quality of the property as well as manicured grounds made us feel instantly at home. Annie's hospitality was warm but not invasive and it was obvious that she genuinely cared about our needs and wants. The food was phenomenal - not your typical B&B bagels and fruit. And the service was superb.

All of the furnishings in the rooms are top-line . . . no cutting corners here! Everything you would want in a five-star hotel is at the Hillside Inn, but with much more in ambience and personal touch service. This is a great place for a weekend (or more) getaway if you're looking for an out of the way spot that is very accessible to downtown Bend and offers all the comforts of home.

You will not find a better, more comfortable location. Annie's personal attention to detail is second to none. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: We loved both rooms - only difference was king versus queen beds and built-in kitchen in the studio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
74
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clovelly, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

A beautifully presented B&B with a most gracious hostess in Annie. Bend is a very pretty town and the Hillside Inn fitted in perfectly.
There are two self-contained units in the B&B. Every conceivable requirement had been anticipated and we had a most relaxing and enjoyable time there.
Wi-Fi was fully available as well as cable television.
If we ever return to Bend this would be the place that we would like to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

What an unexpected surprise staying at one of the best B and B's we've ever stayed in . My husband and I took a trip to see one of the places on our "bucket list" recently, and were so happy that we chose to stay at the Hillside Inn B and B.
Upon our arrival, Annie met us at the door, with a smile, and a " what can I help you with while you are staying here in Bend?". She is well educated about the area, certainly knows how to cook up a great breakfast, invites you into one of the most comfortable "homes away from home" we've ever been to, and last but least, leaves you to relax in her home which is cozy, comfortable and has every amenity one would need. ( hot tub, nice comfortable beds, nice snacks in room, great decorating and CLEAN ) The location of the B and B is ideal.... you can walk to restaurants, to renting bikes, to the best grocery store around or just walk out the door to take a great walk up to view the snow covered mountains... in the middle of June. The heart of downtown Bend is also very close by, and is not to be missed. Many fine restaurants and shops.
We will definitely be back to Bend, and will most definitely stay with Annie at the Hillside Inn B and B.

Room Tip: Book early if possible. There are two great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chico1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

Our balcony room at Hillside B&B was spotless,private, extremely comfortable and included a lovely assortment of amenities and snacks to make our stay very relaxing and just what we were hoping for. Annie was a great host, very helpful and she prepared a wonderful breakfast We highly recomend Hillside for a stay in Bend and will come back ourselves on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredbuthappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

Our experience at the Hillside Inn could not have been better. We were in Bend to Ski and the Inn proved to be the perfect place to relax. The studio suite felt more like being at home than being in a B&B. The difference being that the owner has invested a huge amount of thought and indeed love into making every detail right. My wife and I like to be active during the day and at night relax with a movie, a beer, a soak in the hot-tub. We just did not want to leave the Inn! When we did it is a short walk to the downtown area and an even shorter walk to the exceptional Newport Market [Voted in top 50 markets in the US].
As for the owner Annie. She could not have been more helpful and accommodating. It sound cheesy but it was like staying with a friend, with zero uncomfortable formality. Her breakfast was exceptional, especially if you like to eat healthily. The coffee was great too.
We left wanting to come back again as soon as possible. Bend offers a multitude of attractions for the outdoor enthusiast and we feel like the Hillside Inn is like a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52024John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We recently stayed at the Hillside Inn to be with our daughter, her husband and five-year-old daughter while we played in the snow and checked out possibilities for their relocation in the Bend area. Annie was a most gracious host, taught our granddaughter Holland how to use the orange juice squeezer, helped us with directions and suggestions for sightseeing in Bend and vicinity. We were exquisitely pampered with grand breakfasts, comfortable room/suites and appreciated greatly her efficiency and warm manner. We highly recommend The Hillside Inn.

Liz Vesecky
Ashland, OR

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvesecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

Just returned from our second visit to Bend and Hillside Inn. Annie, the innkeeper, is the perfect host. This is not your typical old-fashioned Bed and Breakfast. Hillside Inn is just lovely with contemporary furnishings, brightly colored rooms and all the luxurious touches you would find in a 5 star hotel - flat screen TV's, duvets, slippers, complimentary drinks and treats in your room. Annie thinks of everything! The breakfasts she serves every morning are amazing! We will never stay anywhere else in Bend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpmurphyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
1.0 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
1.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Bend
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn B&B

Property: Hillside Inn B&B
Address: 1744 NW 12th Street, Bend, OR 97703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pampered modern lodging in a cozy B&B, walk to downtown, restaurants and shops. Located in an urban neighborhood, 3 blocks from restaurants, bakery, gourmet grocery, cafe and shopping. Exit to the outside from each Suite. Private bath and luxury amenities. Walkable to downtown and the Old Mill. Close to hiking, bike rental, shopping and dining. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing