We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and drink!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deschutes Brewery

Deschutes Brewery
Ranked #7 of 444 Restaurants in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On February 1st 2012, nearly 25 years after our Bond Street Public House opened as the original home of Deschutes Brewery, we tapped the keg on a new era. Our newly expanded Pub offers more space, more seats, more service and one long-awaited less: wait times. As always, our talented team of chefs use only the finest ingredients, with an emphasis on fresh and handcrafted products. Everything possible, including sausage, breads and mustard is made on premise. Even your burger will come from local beef partially raised on feed recycled from our brewing process. And Bond Street remains your ringside seat on limited batch and experimental brews as well as year-round classic brews.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
142 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food and drink!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were seated quickly on what looked like a busy Thursday night at this family-friendly brewery (lots of babies in strollers). The beer was good, so was the shrimp & polenta special. Wait staff was attentive, even as the crowds become larger.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    477
    123
    29
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent beer and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We only came in for the beer (and we can certainly recommend that!), but the food coming out of the kitchen looked very good.
We highly recommend the Sage Fight and Fresh Squeezed if you like big, hoppy IPAs

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It's not just the beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was excited to go the the Deschutes Brewery because they make my favorite beer - Black Butte Porter. My husband and I went there two nights in a row and we tried a different beer each night. I expected great beer but I did not expect such good food. Evidently, they make most to everything they serve in house. The rosemary bread rolls were superb. I was very impressed with the salad dressing on the garden salad. The reuben sandwich was the best I ever had. It was very large and I was able to pack up half of it for the next day's hike. I also tried the chocolate cake dessert. Yummy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AprilFool27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lazy Sunday afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was working at our church downtown and my husband was at the gym. He texted me to meet at Deschutes Brewery because he was in the mood for French Onion Soup. I still had a bit more work to do so I told him I'd meet him there. He texted that he'd meet me in the bar. When I arrived it was eerily quiet, which I liked. As a local, Deschutes can be noisy and packed with tourists in the summer. Now that we're in to fall, it's more locals. We sat at a high table in the bar area so we could watch some football while eating. We each had a bowl of French Onion Soup and they make a great one served with a warm roll and butter. Hubby had a couple fresh hop beers and I had a diet pop.

We feel that their menu has gone too upscale for us. We love the bar area, the specials they have and the soup is our favorite. It was a nice way to spend a little time in the afternoon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bendcoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
181 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Its the Beer!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

It is all about the beer and the second floor balcony where we watched the sunset on a beautiful September evening. TRY, try, try the beer sampler and order the special beers only made at the brewpub. Their standard beers are very good though the special beers are amazing. Food choices are limited but our dinners were well cooked and tasty. Claim local ingredients are used. Pricing is standard. I love this place and their brewpub in Portland.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ski&brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deschutes Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Deschutes Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing